Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

make the most of Lovereading book price comparison debuts of the month
Search our site
A Long Way from Home by Cathy Glass Read the opening extract of the brand new Cathy Glass book before its publication on 22/02/2018

Reader Reviewed
Captive by A.J. Grainger
  

Captive

NewGen - YA Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Captive starts with a bang and keeps the tension high. Robyn, the prime minister’s daughter, is kidnapped by eco-terrorists, the same group who recently tried to assassinate her father. These are ruthless, scary people – but Robyn suspects that her father too might be involved in something murky and the longer she spends in captivity, the harder it is for her to know who she can trust. This is a taut, cleverly-constructed and very contemporary YA thriller, which puts family relationships as well as issues such as corporate corruption and moral responsibility into the spotlight. Ideal for fans of Sophie McKenzie, it’s a book that respects its target readership. ~ Andrea Reece

Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Lauren Coffman, age 14 - 'Overall I really loved this book and was up all night reading it. It was very tense and exciting throughout and I would highly recommend it.' Read full review >
  • Alistair Macrae, age 13 - 'As the title suggests this story is very captivating.  The story draws you in from the beginning and is very dramatic and exciting...Brilliant!' Read full review >
  • Celeste Phelan, age 13 - 'A thrilling story about the hardships faced by celebrities. How no one agrees with everything. After all nothing is simple when you’re the daughter of one of the world’s most powerful men.' Read full review >
  • Hannah Maxwell, age 14 - 'I really enjoyed this book. One of the best I have read. It is fast moving and thrilling.' Read full review >
  • Nia, age 17 - 'I was hooked, I couldn't put it down!' Read full review >
  • Esmé Molloy, age 14 - 'A story of hope, despair, love and hatred...A.J. Grainger is the queen of opposites and somehow she has managed to blend them into this glorious concoction and created a truly wonderful tale. Lovely.'  Read full review >
  • Amelia White - 'Excellent book! I really enjoyed this book and couldn't stop reading it.' Read full review >

Synopsis

Captive by A.J. Grainger

I open my eyes. The cell is flooded with sunlight; the window is a splice of pale blue. Dust particles dance in the sparkling light, pirouetting in a golden line from the window to the opposite wall of the cell, where they seem to converge into shapes. It is like looking into a kaleidoscope. Dad isn't here. No one is, but me. Robyn Knollys-Green is an A-list celebrity, famous for being the daughter of one of the world's most powerful men. But not even the paparazzi can find her now. Robyn begins to realise that she is trapped in a complicated web of global corruption and deceit - and that the strange, melancholy boy who has been tasked with guarding her might not be an enemy after all... A thrilling, well-crafted, ever-relevant story from a talented new voice in YA fiction.

Reviews

'Full of more twists than a helter skelter, it's definitely going to have you on the edge of your seat' Sugarscape

'I raced through Captive. A cracking thriller that will delight the many fans of Sophie McKenzie' Phil Earle, author

'Taut kidnap thriller with shades of Sophie McKenzie and Noughts and Crosses' James Dawson, author & Queen of Teen 2014

About the Author

A. J. Grainger lives in London, where she works as a children's books editor. She loves writing and editing because it means she gets to talk about books all day. Find out more about A. J. and her writing on Twitter (@_AJGrainger) or by visiting her website, www.ajgrainger.com

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

29th January 2015

Author

A.J. Grainger

More books by A.J. Grainger
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Format

Paperback
240 pages

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
eBook Favourites

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781471122927

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools