desmond elliott 2017 join us on facebook
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
Captive by A.J. Grainger
  

Captive

NewGen - YA Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Captive starts with a bang and keeps the tension high. Robyn, the prime minister’s daughter, is kidnapped by eco-terrorists, the same group who recently tried to assassinate her father. These are ruthless, scary people – but Robyn suspects that her father too might be involved in something murky and the longer she spends in captivity, the harder it is for her to know who she can trust. This is a taut, cleverly-constructed and very contemporary YA thriller, which puts family relationships as well as issues such as corporate corruption and moral responsibility into the spotlight. Ideal for fans of Sophie McKenzie, it’s a book that respects its target readership. ~ Andrea Reece

Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Lauren Coffman, age 14 - 'Overall I really loved this book and was up all night reading it. It was very tense and exciting throughout and I would highly recommend it.' Read full review >
  • Alistair Macrae, age 13 - 'As the title suggests this story is very captivating.  The story draws you in from the beginning and is very dramatic and exciting...Brilliant!' Read full review >
  • Celeste Phelan, age 13 - 'A thrilling story about the hardships faced by celebrities. How no one agrees with everything. After all nothing is simple when you’re the daughter of one of the world’s most powerful men.' Read full review >
  • Hannah Maxwell, age 14 - 'I really enjoyed this book. One of the best I have read. It is fast moving and thrilling.' Read full review >
  • Nia, age 17 - 'I was hooked, I couldn't put it down!' Read full review >
  • Esmé Molloy, age 14 - 'A story of hope, despair, love and hatred...A.J. Grainger is the queen of opposites and somehow she has managed to blend them into this glorious concoction and created a truly wonderful tale. Lovely.'  Read full review >
  • Amelia White - 'Excellent book! I really enjoyed this book and couldn't stop reading it.' Read full review >

Synopsis

Captive by A.J. Grainger

I open my eyes. The cell is flooded with sunlight; the window is a splice of pale blue. Dust particles dance in the sparkling light, pirouetting in a golden line from the window to the opposite wall of the cell, where they seem to converge into shapes. It is like looking into a kaleidoscope. Dad isn't here. No one is, but me. Robyn Knollys-Green is an A-list celebrity, famous for being the daughter of one of the world's most powerful men. But not even the paparazzi can find her now. Robyn begins to realise that she is trapped in a complicated web of global corruption and deceit - and that the strange, melancholy boy who has been tasked with guarding her might not be an enemy after all... A thrilling, well-crafted, ever-relevant story from a talented new voice in YA fiction.

Reviews

'Full of more twists than a helter skelter, it's definitely going to have you on the edge of your seat' Sugarscape

'I raced through Captive. A cracking thriller that will delight the many fans of Sophie McKenzie' Phil Earle, author

'Taut kidnap thriller with shades of Sophie McKenzie and Noughts and Crosses' James Dawson, author & Queen of Teen 2014

About the Author

A. J. Grainger lives in London, where she works as a children's books editor. She loves writing and editing because it means she gets to talk about books all day. Find out more about A. J. and her writing on Twitter (@_AJGrainger) or by visiting her website, www.ajgrainger.com

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

29th January 2015

Author

A.J. Grainger

More books by A.J. Grainger
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Format

Paperback
240 pages

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781471122927

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools