Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Captive

by A.J. Grainger

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel eBooks of the Month

LoveReading View on Captive

Captive starts with a bang and keeps the tension high. Robyn, the prime minister’s daughter, is kidnapped by eco-terrorists, the same group who recently tried to assassinate her father. These are ruthless, scary people – but Robyn suspects that her father too might be involved in something murky and the longer she spends in captivity, the harder it is for her to know who she can trust. This is a taut, cleverly-constructed and very contemporary YA thriller, which puts family relationships as well as issues such as corporate corruption and moral responsibility into the spotlight. Ideal for fans of Sophie McKenzie, it’s a book that respects its target readership. ~ Andrea Reece

Andrea Reece

Captive Synopsis

I open my eyes. The cell is flooded with sunlight; the window is a splice of pale blue. Dust particles dance in the sparkling light, pirouetting in a golden line from the window to the opposite wall of the cell, where they seem to converge into shapes. It is like looking into a kaleidoscope. Dad isn't here. No one is, but me. Robyn Knollys-Green is an A-list celebrity, famous for being the daughter of one of the world's most powerful men. But not even the paparazzi can find her now. Robyn begins to realise that she is trapped in a complicated web of global corruption and deceit - and that the strange, melancholy boy who has been tasked with guarding her might not be an enemy after all... A thrilling, well-crafted, ever-relevant story from a talented new voice in YA fiction.

Captive Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Lauren Coffman, age 14 - 'Overall I really loved this book and was up all night reading it. It was very tense and exciting throughout and I would highly recommend it.' Read full review >
  • Alistair Macrae, age 13 - 'As the title suggests this story is very captivating.  The story draws you in from the beginning and is very dramatic and exciting...Brilliant!' Read full review >
  • Celeste Phelan, age 13 - 'A thrilling story about the hardships faced by celebrities. How no one agrees with everything. After all nothing is simple when you’re the daughter of one of the world’s most powerful men.' Read full review >
  • Hannah Maxwell, age 14 - 'I really enjoyed this book. One of the best I have read. It is fast moving and thrilling.' Read full review >
  • Nia, age 17 - 'I was hooked, I couldn't put it down!' Read full review >
  • Esmé Molloy, age 14 - 'A story of hope, despair, love and hatred...A.J. Grainger is the queen of opposites and somehow she has managed to blend them into this glorious concoction and created a truly wonderful tale. Lovely.'  Read full review >
  • Amelia White - 'Excellent book! I really enjoyed this book and couldn't stop reading it.' Read full review >

Captive Press Reviews

'Full of more twists than a helter skelter, it's definitely going to have you on the edge of your seat'  Sugarscape

 

'I raced through Captive. A cracking thriller that will delight the many fans of Sophie McKenzie'  Phil Earle, author

 

'Taut kidnap thriller with shades of Sophie McKenzie and Noughts and Crosses'  James Dawson, author & Queen of Teen 2014

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Summer of Us
The Belles
City of Ghosts
KILLER T

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471122927
Publication date: 29/01/2015
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471122927
Publication date: 29th January 2015
Author: A.J. Grainger
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 240 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, Reader Reviewed Books, eBook Favourites,
Categories: General fiction (Children's / Teenage),

About A.J. Grainger

A. J. Grainger lives in London, where she works as a children's books editor. She loves writing and editing because it means she gets to talk about books all day. Find out more about A. J. and her writing on Twitter (@_AJGrainger) or by visiting her website, www.ajgrainger.com

More About A.J. Grainger

Share this book