twitter debuts of the month Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

The Blooding by James McGee
  

The Blooding

Action Adventure / Spy   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   

RRP £9.99

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Hawkwood goes to America! Or rather, returns, as he was born there. He’s trapped in an odd corner of the north east with enemies on all sides, just trying to get to the Canadian border, and thus the British army and home. He’s not on a mission, he has no orders, no-one even knows he’s there. Yet being Hawkwood he ends up neck deep in trouble without even trying. That’s what’s going on in 1812, but we also get chapters set years earlier during the American War of Independence where a young boy learns what survival costs and will keep on costing. As always the world and characters are beautifully realised, the pace fast, the action relentless. McGee writes at the very top end of the historical thriller market.

If you like James McGee you might also like to read books by Grant Sutherland, C C Humphreys and Bernard Cornwell.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Blooding by James McGee

Hawkwood's in America for this gripping, action-packed follow up to the bestselling Ratcatcher - for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Igulden and Patrick O'Brian 1812: Matthew Hawkwood, soldier turned spy, is stranded behind enemy lines, in America, a country at war with Britain. Heading for the safety of the Canadian border, Hawkwood's route takes him to Albany where the chance sighting of a former comrade-in-arms - Major Douglas Lawrence - within a consignment of British prisoners puts paid to his plans. For as the two men make their escape they uncover an American plot to invade Canada. If it is successful, the entire continent will be lost. The British authorities must be warned. Pursued by a relentless enemy, Hawkwood and Lawrence set off across the snow-bound Adirondack Mountains; the land the Iroquois call 'The Hunting Grounds'. But they are not alone. Buried deep in Hawkwood's past is an old alliance - one that could save both their lives and help turn the tide of war...

Reviews

'Irresistible... rambunctious entertainment'
Observer

'Rumbustious...a darkly attractive hero, terrific period atmosphere and action'
The Times

'Atmospheric and well researched... try it'
Daily Mirror

'Breakneck pace, brutal action, clever characterisation and twisty plotting ...'
Reginald Hill

'Ratcatcher is a richly enjoyable and impressively researched novel - also very gripping. James McGee is clearly a rising star in the historical galaxy and I look forward to Hawkwood's return'
Andrew Taylor, author of The American Boy

About the Author

James McGee

James McGee was born into an army family. He was educated in Gibraltar, Germany and Belfast, giving him a love of travel, which is evident in his meticulous, vivid portraits of diverse people and places. His career has encompassed banking, bookselling and thirteen years in the airline business. He has also presented book reviews for BBC local radio and several independent stations. In addition to the successful Hawkwood series, he has also written several thrillers. He lives in Somerset.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

15th January 2015

Author

James McGee

More books by James McGee
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.jamesmcgee.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
496 pages

Categories

Action Adventure / Spy
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical adventure

ISBN

9780007320141

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools