The Lightning Tree

by Emily Woof

eBooks of the Month Family Drama Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on The Lightning Tree

A wonderful book about two people whose paths cross throughout their lives and whereas we know they should be together, they do not. Beautifully written and lightly philosophical, it is also a page-turning gem as Ursula pursues her dreams, goes to India, lands a small acting job and eventually a child while Jerry goes to Oxford University and has plans to improve the NHS. How they eventually get together keeps you on tenterhooks throughout this impressive book.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Lightning Tree Synopsis

This is a story of two young people who fall in love - and then life gets in the way. Ursula is part dreamer, part radical in the making. Raised in a matriarchal household by a CND-loving activist, she is impatient to begin a life of adventure. But this is Newcastle in the mid-80s where girls are getting permed and their dreams go no further than copping off down the Bigg Market. Then Ursula meets Jerry, a class warrior from the wrong side of town, intellectually hungry, erudite and ambitious. It is a meeting of bodies, souls, minds and ideals. Keen to pursue the road less travelled, Ursula heads to India while Jerry goes to Oxford and the promise of politics and power. As Ursula searches for answers, she is soon drifting - and Jerry loses touch. What happens to young love when it is tested by real life? The Lightning Tree is a lyrical and funny novel for fans of The Line of Beauty and The Marriage Plot.

Win Theatre Tickets for The Importance of Being Earnest

Win Theatre Tickets for The Importance of Being Earnest

Closing date: 04/07/2018

Oscar Wilde’s The Importance of Being Earnest, makes a welcome return to society in this wonderfully witty, deliciously decadent and classic revival and is now playing at the Vaudeville Theatre and we are giving away a pair of tickets to one lucky winner! 'A Trivial Comedy for Serious People', Oscar Wide's masterpiece throws love, logic and language into the air to make one of theatre’s most dazzling firework displays. First performed in 1895, will be played at the Vaudeville Theatre, London from the 20th July up until October 2018.  To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 4 July 2018. The winner will be notified by 13 July 2018,  Good luck!

Enter Now

If you loved this, you might like these...

Fresh Complaint
Us
The Line of Beauty
Us

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780571254019
Publication date: 15/01/2015
Publisher: Faber & Faber Fiction an imprint of Faber & Faber
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780571254019
Publication date: 15th January 2015
Author: Emily Woof
Publisher: Faber & Faber Fiction an imprint of Faber & Faber
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Literary Fiction,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Emily Woof

Born in Newcastle Upon Tyne, Emily Woof has written for stage, film and radio. She wrote and directed Meeting Helen for FilmFour, and directed the prize-winning short film Between The Wars. She has also worked as a trapeze artist and actor; her screen credits include Oliver Twist, The Full Monty, Pandaemonium, This Year's Love and Velvet Goldmine. Her first novel The Whole Wide Beauty was published to great acclaim in 2010. She lives in London with her husband and two children.   Author photo © Angela Chan    

More About Emily Woof

More Books By Emily Woof

Cover for The Lightning Tree by Emily Woof
View All Books By Emily Woof

Share this book