Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

tudor queens series book price comparison
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Lightning Tree by Emily Woof
  

The Lightning Tree

Literary Fiction   Family Drama   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

A wonderful book about two people whose paths cross throughout their lives and whereas we know they should be together, they do not. Beautifully written and lightly philosophical, it is also a page-turning gem as Ursula pursues her dreams, goes to India, lands a small acting job and eventually a child while Jerry goes to Oxford University and has plans to improve the NHS. How they eventually get together keeps you on tenterhooks throughout this impressive book.

If you like Emily Woof you might also like to read books by Alan Hollinghurst, David Nicholls and Jeffrey Eugenides.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Lightning Tree by Emily Woof

This is a story of two young people who fall in love - and then life gets in the way. Ursula is part dreamer, part radical in the making. Raised in a matriarchal household by a CND-loving activist, she is impatient to begin a life of adventure. But this is Newcastle in the mid-80s where girls are getting permed and their dreams go no further than copping off down the Bigg Market. Then Ursula meets Jerry, a class warrior from the wrong side of town, intellectually hungry, erudite and ambitious. It is a meeting of bodies, souls, minds and ideals. Keen to pursue the road less travelled, Ursula heads to India while Jerry goes to Oxford and the promise of politics and power. As Ursula searches for answers, she is soon drifting - and Jerry loses touch. What happens to young love when it is tested by real life? The Lightning Tree is a lyrical and funny novel for fans of The Line of Beauty and The Marriage Plot.

About the Author

Emily Woof

Born in Newcastle Upon Tyne, Emily Woof has written for stage, film and radio. She wrote and directed Meeting Helen for FilmFour, and directed the prize-winning short film Between The Wars. She has also worked as a trapeze artist and actor; her screen credits include Oliver Twist, The Full Monty, Pandaemonium, This Year's Love and Velvet Goldmine. Her first novel The Whole Wide Beauty was published to great acclaim in 2010. She lives in London with her husband and two children.

Author photo © Angela Chan

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

15th January 2015

Author

Emily Woof

More books by Emily Woof
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Faber & Faber Fiction an imprint of Faber & Faber

Format

Paperback
336 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
Family Drama
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780571254019

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools