The Lightning Tree

by Emily Woof

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Family Drama eBooks of the Month Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of The Lightning Tree

'A wonderful book about two people whose paths cross throughout their lives and whereas we know they should be together, they do not. Beautifully written and lightly philosophical, it is also a page-turning gem as Ursula pursues her dreams, goes to India, lands a small acting job and eventually a child while Jerry goes to Oxford University and has plans to improve the NHS. How they eventually get together keeps you on tenterhooks throughout this impressive book.' ~ Sarah Broadhurst

Sarah Broadhurst

The Lightning Tree Synopsis

This is a story of two young people who fall in love - and then life gets in the way. Ursula is part dreamer, part radical in the making. Raised in a matriarchal household by a CND-loving activist, she is impatient to begin a life of adventure. But this is Newcastle in the mid-80s where girls are getting permed and their dreams go no further than copping off down the Bigg Market. Then Ursula meets Jerry, a class warrior from the wrong side of town, intellectually hungry, erudite and ambitious. It is a meeting of bodies, souls, minds and ideals. Keen to pursue the road less travelled, Ursula heads to India while Jerry goes to Oxford and the promise of politics and power. As Ursula searches for answers, she is soon drifting - and Jerry loses touch. What happens to young love when it is tested by real life? The Lightning Tree is a lyrical and funny novel for fans of The Line of Beauty and The Marriage Plot.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780571254026
Publication date: 4th February 2016
Author: Emily Woof
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Primary Genre Modern and Contemporary Fiction
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win One of Ten Hardback Copies of Lemon by Kwon Yeo-sun

Win One of Ten Hardback Copies of Lemon by Kwon Yeo-sun

Closing date: 11/11/2021

"Taking in the absurdities of life, misfortune and tragedy, Kwon Yeo-sun’s Lemon is an engaging, read-in-one-sitting novella of remarkable intensity." Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer To celebrate the release of Lemon, we have 10 hardback copies of Lemon to give away thanks to Head of Zeus.  This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 11th November 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After The Lightning Tree

The Chemistry of Tears
The Ghost Tree
Saving Missy
Kith and Kin

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780571254026
Publication date: 04/02/2016
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780571254019
Publication date: 15/01/2015
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Emily Woof

Born in Newcastle Upon Tyne, Emily Woof has written for stage, film and radio. She wrote and directed Meeting Helen for FilmFour, and directed the prize-winning short film Between The Wars. She has also worked as a trapeze artist and actor; her screen credits include Oliver Twist, The Full Monty, Pandaemonium, This Year's Love and Velvet Goldmine. Her first novel The Whole Wide Beauty was published to great acclaim in 2010. She lives in London with her husband and two children.   Author photo © Angela Chan    

More About Emily Woof

More Books By Emily Woof

The Lightning Tree
The Lightning Tree
View All Books By Emily Woof

Share this book