books of the month likeyoulove
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
Now That I've Found You by Ciara Geraghty
  

Now That I've Found You

Relationship Stories   Family Drama   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

A brilliant tale written from the point of view of a single dad of two bruised kids, especially the boy, for their mum, Paula, suffering from bipolar disease, walked out. Dad, Vinnie, is a taxi driver so he can be there for the kids when needed. A good man. He begins to build a life with a traumatised car accident victim, Ellen, who uses his cab weekly for her physio. She lost her husband in the accident. Vinnie and Ellen’s charming relationship is shattered by the re-emergence of Paula. This is a highly perceptive tale of single parenthood beautifully observed. Full of home truths and delivered with a touch of humour, it’s a rewarding read. Highly recommended.

If you like Ciara Geraghty you might also like to read books by Jane Costello, Marian Keyes and Amanda Powers.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Maz Tucker - 'Great book, with really believable characters. You will be egging them on throughout the book.' Read full review >
  • Bethany Dimmock - 'A great book for anyone looking for a tale about real people: an easy read.' Read full review >
  • Margaret Madden- 'One of my favourite authors, this is a real gem of a book.  Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern.  A truly gifted storyteller.' Read full review >
  • Emily Wright - 'An emotively bittersweet and rewarding story of family and new beginnings...Ciara Geraghty writes with empathy and compassion, combining humour with insightful honesty. Characters are evocatively portrayed and the tumult of emotions is compelling.' Read full review >
  • Clair Chaytors - 'A beautiful story with warmth and emotion. I absolutely loved this book!...All of Ciara’s characters are beautifully drawn and this book was a delight to read. I'm now a huge fan!' Read full review >
  • Rachel Hall - 'A delightful story, charmingly told through the voices of two very distinct central characters and a cast of well-drawn and colourful secondary characters tackling a difficult subject with genuine understanding and emotion.' Read full review >
  • Doreen McKeown - 'This is the first book I've read by this author, but I thoroughly enjoyed it, and will certainly look out for more of her work.' Read full review >
  • Tanya Thurling - 'I must say I fell a little bit in love with all the characters in this book which to me is the sign of a good book.' Read full review >
  • Sarah Harper - 'A thoroughly enjoyable, warm hearted read which I would highly recommend...This was a really well written, feel-good read. It wasn’t overly sickly and predictable.' Read full review >
  • Zarina de Ruiter - 'Now That I've Found You may not be an ordinary man-meets-woman romantic novel, but its unexpectedness took me by surprise and made it a rewarding read in the end.' Read full review >
  • Michelle Hemmingway - 'Well written, comfortable read; perfect for curling up with on a winter's night...It also felt refreshing to experience a romantic novel from the point of view of the male protagonist.' Read full review >
  • Holly Kilminster-'This is a magical, heart wrenching story about life’s struggles, love and the importance of family. I loved Ciara Geraghty’s style of writing; it’s warm, realistic and brings the characters to life.'  Read full review >
  • Claire Simms - 'Excellent read, will definitely read another from this author.' Read full review >

The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse by Alexander Mccall Smith

One very lucky winner will receive a signed copy by Alexander McCall Smith of his latest novel, The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 January 2018. The winner will be notified by 15th January 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/01/2018

Synopsis

Now That I've Found You by Ciara Geraghty

Forty-two-year-old Vinnie knows lots of things.

He knows new books and school shoes are expensive. He knows his teenage daughter keeps getting into trouble and he knows his seven-year-old has wet the bed every night for over a year.

What Vinnie doesn't know is whether his wife is coming back, or if he will ever get better at single fatherhood.

Ellen knows that what happened in the accident was all her fault. She knows she's too scared to get behind the wheel of a car ever again and she knows that some scars are harder to hide than others.

What Ellen doesn't know is how to move on. And she doesn't know anything about Vinnie, the taxi driver who drives her to physiotherapy every week.

And neither of them knows they're going to change the other's life forever.

About the Author

Ciara Geraghty is the author of four novels, Saving Grace, Becoming Scarlett, Finding Mr Flood and Lifesaving for Beginners. She lives in Dublin with her husband, three children and dog.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

22nd January 2015

Author

Ciara Geraghty

More books by Ciara Geraghty
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.ciarageraghty.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Hachette Books Ireland

Format

Paperback
432 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
Family Drama
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781444725865

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools