books of the month
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Age, Sex, Location by Melissa Pimentel

Age, Sex, Location

Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

A diary of dating which includes inspiration from dating guide books, even an old 1928 one! (great fun), recommending a period of abstinence and eventually internet dating. But what our diarist is actually looking for is a mate. What she finds is disillusionment. She pertains to only wanting to get laid with no strings attached but … so we work through the books, the men, the fact she had to lower her standards, swallow her pride and still not get what she wants. But books required visits to a bookshop, and thereby hangs a tale.

A 'Piece of Passion' from the publisher...

'Age, Sex, Location is one of the most addictive and funny books I have ever had the pleasure of reading. Melissa Pimentel writes with an incredibly fresh and sassy voice, capturing perfectly the wonderful, ridiculous, and sometimes goddamn awful world of modern dating. Intelligent, sharp, yet full of heart and warmth, Melissa is a new talent that I am incredibly excited about and this book will have you laughing and cringing with every page you turn.' - Hana Osman, Editor, Penguin Books Ltd

Who is Sarah Broadhurst


Age, Sex, Location by Melissa Pimentel

A hilarious and refreshingly honest foray into modern dating, Age Sex Location is Bridget Jones' Diary for HBO's Girls generation.

Lauren's ideal love life consists of fantastic, regular sex with no strings attached. But men just don't understand it - it's obviously a clever trick to trap them - and run for the hills as soon as they can find their pants. Unable to get past date number three, she turns to the experts for advice. She will follow the rules of a different dating guide every month, switching seamlessly from one book to the next and using the men in her life as test subjects. Along the way, Lauren will get mistaken for a prostitute (The Rules), find herself floating along Regent's Canal in a canoe with a chicken carcass between her legs and a forty-one-year-old with a Peter Pan complex (Mrs Humphrey's Manners for Women), and end up suggesting a threesome with someone she should be staying away from (Belle de Jour's Guide to Men). But it's all in the quest for great sex. Realizing that twenty-first-century dating isn't as simple as just swiping right, Lauren navigates her way through this perilous world with the help of her dating guides, and might end up finding the exact thing she's not looking for...Love, sex, dating and all the things that go horribly wrong along the way - this is perfect for fans of Bridget Jones' Diary.


Praise for Age, Sex Location:

'Great fun - a gripping read and very touching.' Marian Keyes

'Funny, fresh, sassy and totally captured the zeitgeist when it comes to dating. If you loved GIRLS, you'll love this!' Katy Regan

About the Author

Melissa Pimentel grew up in a small town in Massachusetts in a house without cable and therefore much of her childhood was spent watching 1970s British comedy on public television. At twenty-two, she made the move to London and has lived there happily for ten years, though has sadly never come across the Ministry of Funny Walks. Before meeting her fiance, she spent much of her time trawling the London dating scene for clean, non-sociopathic sexual partners and blogging about it, which became the inspiration for her first novel. These days, she spends much of her time reading in the various pubs of Stoke Newington and engaging in a long-standing emotional feud with their disgruntled cat, Welles. She works in publishing.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

29th January 2015


Melissa Pimentel

More books by Melissa Pimentel
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website
Loading twitter updates...


Penguin Books Ltd


416 pages


Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)



Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William