join us on facebook book price comparison
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The Peripheral by William Gibson
  

The Peripheral

Horror - Fantasy - SF   Maxim Jakubowski's Selection   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £18.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Maxim Jakubowski's view...

Maxim Jakubowski's January 2015 Book of the Month.

No one writes better about the future than William Gibson. He almost single-handedly created the 'cyberpunk' genre in which a dizzying noir atmosphere cloaked the unknown beneath a veil of technology gone mad but also created unforgettable characters who literally breathed blood, electronics and metal. His massive new novel returns to the genre with a parallel plot taking place in two separate futures until they converge to form a hardboiled investigation that grips the neurones. A tough but rewarding read in which unknown environments have to be deciphered piece by puzzling piece but which builds into a powerful conspiracy with just that right touch of alienness to keep you disorientated. If these are our futures, they both attract and repel but you can't take your eye off the page as you want to know what comes next. Science fiction comes alive!

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

He invented cyberpunk in the amazing Neuromancer, he taught us the possibilities of our own present in the incredible Spook Country and now William Gibson is playing with time. Two futures, one further from our present than the other, so it’s a dual-time novel but like no other. The further future interacts with the closer one and uses it like a game. And the people there think the further future is the game. And it hasn’t even begun to get confusing yet. As with all his work, if you let yourself go with its flow it will take you to some amazing places. It is sensational in all senses of the word. Extremely fast moving, short chapters alternating back and forth between the two principal characters, one in each time, it really gives a lot to think about, and a lot to enjoy.

If you like William Gibson you might also like to read books by China Mieville, Cory Doctorow and Philip K Dick.

Who is Maxim Jakubowski

Synopsis

The Peripheral by William Gibson

The Peripheral by William Gibson is a thrilling new novel about two intertwined futures, from the bestselling author of Neuromancer. Flynne Fisher lives down a country road, in a rural near-future America where jobs are scarce, unless you count illegal drug manufacture, which she's keen to avoid. Her brother Burton lives, or tries to, on money from the Veterans Association, in compensation for neurological damage suffered in a Marines elite unit. Flynne earns what she can by assembling product at the local 3D printshop. She used to make more as a combat scout in an online game, playing for a rich man, but she's had to let the shooter games go. Wilf Netherton lives in London, seventy-some years later, on the far side of decades of slow-motion apocalypse. Things are pretty good now, for the haves, and there aren't many have-nots left. Wilf, a high-powered publicist and celebrity-minder, fancies himself as a romantic misfit in a society where reaching into the past is just another hobby. Burton's been moonlighting online, secretly working security in some game prototype, a virtual world that looks vaguely like London, but a lot weirder. He's got his sister taking over shifts, promised her the game's not a shooter. Still, the crime Flynne witnesses there is plenty bad. Flynne and Wilf are about to meet one another. Her world will be altered utterly, irrevocably, and Wilf's, for all its decadence and power, will learn that some of these third-world types from the past can be badass. According to the Guardian, in terms of influence Gibson is 'probably the most important novelist of the past two decades'. The Peripheral, which marks a return to the futurism of Neuromancer, will be adored by Gibson readers and will also appeal to fans of Ender's Game, Looper and Source Code. William Gibson's first novel Neuromancer sold more than six million copies worldwide. Count Zero and Mona Lisa Overdrive completed his first trilogy. He has since written six further novels, moving gradually away from science fiction and futuristic work, instead writing about the strange contemporary world we inhabit. His most recent novels are Pattern Recognition, Spook Country and Zero History, his non-fiction collection, Distrust That Particular Flavor, compiles assorted writings and journalism from across his career.

Reviews

'Spectacular, a piece of trenchant, far-future speculation that features all the eyeball kicks of Neuromancer and all the maturity and sly wit of Spook Country. It's brilliant.'

- Cory Doctorow


About the Author

William Gibson

William Gibson was born in the United States in 1948. In 1972 he moved to Vancouver, Canada, after four years spent in Toronto. He is married with two children.

William Gibson's first novel Neuromancer sold more than six million copies worldwide. Count Zero and Mona Lisa Overdrive completed his first trilogy. He has since written six further novels, moving gradually away from science fiction and futuristic work, instead writing about the strange contemporary world we inhabit. His most recent novels include Pattern Recognition, Spook Country and Zero History, his non-fiction collection, Distrust That Particular Flavor, compiles assorted writings and journalism from across his career.

Author photo © Michael O'Shea

Maxim Jakubowski's view on NEUROMANCER...
Nearly a quarter of a century after its initial appearance, Gibson’s groundbreaking cyberpunk debut has lost none of its modernity and fascination. Extrapolating the world of the internet and video games culture, an unforgettable vision of a future where data, sprawling cities, artificial intelligences and multi corporations fight an invisible war, as seen through the buccaneering computer jockeys who surf its interfaces.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th November 2014

Author

William Gibson

More books by William Gibson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.williamgibsonbooks.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Viking an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Hardback
496 pages

Categories

Horror - Fantasy - SF
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780670921553

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools