Quartet for the End of Time

by Johanna Skibsrud

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Historical fiction Family Drama eBooks of the Month Literary Fiction

Quartet for the End of Time Synopsis

This is a mesmerising tale of love, justice and the connections that transcend the passage of time, from the Giller prize-winning author Johanna Skibsrud. The year is 1932, and America is roiling with unrest. Angry World War One veterans, embittered by the ruinous poverty inflicted by the Great Depression, join forces and, calling themselves the Bonus Army, march on Washington to demand payment of the wartime bonus promised them for their service during the war. Arthur and Douglas Sinclair, an impoverished veteran and his son, make the arduous journey from Kansas to join the march. Alden and Sutton Kelly, the rebellious children of a powerful Washington judge, become involved with the veterans' struggle, causing an irreparable rift in the Kelly family. When the Bonus march explodes in a violent clash between government and veteran forces, Arthur is falsely accused of conspiracy and disappears. The lives of Douglas, Alden, and Sutton are forever changed - linked inextricably by the absence of Arthur Sinclair. As these three lives unfold, we are taken to unexpected places - from the underground world of a Soviet spy to Hemingway's Florida and the hard labour camps of Roosevelt's New Deal Projects in the Keys; from occultist circles in London to occupied Paris and the eventual fall of Berlin; and finally, to the German prison camp where French composer Olivier Messiaen originally wrote and performed his famous Quartet for the End of Time. Taking us on an unforgettable journey through individual experience and memory against the backdrop of seismic historical events, Quartet for the End of Time is both a profound meditation on human nature and an astonishing literary accomplishment from one of the most original voices to have emerged in recent years.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780099558620
Publication date: 24th September 2015
Author: Johanna Skibsrud
Publisher: Windmill Books an imprint of Cornerstone
Format: Paperback
Primary Genre Historical fiction
Other Genres:

What To Read After Quartet for the End of Time

The Familiars
Blow on a Dead Man's Embers
Manhattan Beach
Go Tell the Bees that I am Gone

Johanna Skibsrud Press Reviews

'Quartet for the End of Time is a brilliant work of art, and it is brilliant in so many ways - its dense, rich, and immaculate prose, its vivid evocation of a watershed period in American history, its high-stakes political and personal drama, and, above all, its intimate and completely compelling portraits of human beings struggling to do the right thing under ambiguous moral circumstances. This wholly realized book has everything I crave in a work of fiction. -- Tim O'Brien Skibsrud reminds us how family members treat each other during political upheaval - and how war is an extension of domestic policy by other means.'

- Michael Winter

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780099558620
Publication date: 24/09/2015
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780434021710
Publication date: 25/09/2014
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Johanna Skibsrud

Johanna Skibsrud is the author of two collections of poetry. The Sentimentalists, her first novel, won the 2010 Scotiabank Giller Prize, Canada's most prestigious literary award. She is also the author of a collection of short stories This Will Be Difficult To Explain. She lives in Tucson, Arizona.

More About Johanna Skibsrud

More Books By Johanna Skibsrud

Quartet for the End of Time
Quartet for the End of Time
Quartet for the End of Time
View All Books By Johanna Skibsrud

Share this book