Close to Home

by Lisa Jackson

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage eBooks of the Month

Close to Home Synopsis

Sarah McAdams needs a fresh start. So she's come home to the shores of Oregon's wild Columbia river, to renovate the old Victorian mansion where she grew up. Her daughters, Jade and Gracie, aren't impressed by the rundown property, and as soon as they pull up the isolated drive, Sarah too is beset by uneasy memories - of her cold, distant mother, of the half-sister who vanished without a trace, and of a long-ago night when Sarah was found outside, feverish and delirious. Ever since the original mistress of the house plunged to her death almost a century ago, there have been rumours that the place is haunted. As a girl, Sarah sensed a presence there, and soon Gracie claims to see a lady in white running up the stairs. Still, Sarah has little time to dwell on ghost stories, between overseeing construction and dealing with the return of a man from her past. But there's a new, more urgent menace in the small town. One by one, teenage girls are disappearing. Frantic for her daughters' safety, Sarah feels her veneer cracking and the house's walls closing in on her again. Somewhere deep in her memory is the key to a very real and terrifying danger. And only by confronting her worst fears can she stop the nightmare roaring back to life once more...

The Good Book Guide Review

Lisa Jackson’s Close to Home arrives emblazoned with an encomium from no less than Harlan Coben: she is ‘one of the best’, he opines, and it’s hard to argue with that judgement. Sarah McAdams is looking for a fresh start and has made a trip to the shores of Oregon’s tempestuous Columbia River to rescue from decay the old Victorian mansion she grew up in. Her daughters are distinctly unimpressed by the property, and Sarah finds herself also on the receiving end of some troubling memories involving her cold mother and a half-sister who vanished without trace. The ancient secrets of the house are about to come back with a vengeance.

Close to Home Press Reviews

'Lisa Jackson shows yet again why she is one of the best... A pure nail biter.'

- Harlan Coben on YOU DON'T WANT TO KNOW

 

'Shiveringly good suspense! Lisa Jackson ratchets up the tension as one woman's desperate search for her missing son takes her to the very brink of losing her husband, her sanity, her very self. Each chapter will leave you wondering who to trust. The answer: You don't want to know... Lisa Gardner on YOU DON'T WANT TO KNOW Absolutely tension filled... Jackson is on top of her game.'

- Suspense Magazine on TELL ME

 

'The spookily atmospheric plot is jam-packed with scary chills and sexy thrills.'

Booklist on TELL ME

'A fast moving thriller with plenty of twists and turns, and an easy flowing style that readily catches the reader up in its thrall.'

- Canberra Times on MALICE

 

'Gripping... Jackson heightens the creep factor.'

- Publisher's Weekly on MALICE

 

'As a beach read, this is a cracker. Read it at night and it certainly will keep you up. For after the prologue, Jackson slips into her real agenda, and out of your comfort zone.'

- Courier Mail, Brisbane on DEEP FREEZE

 

'Tense... Suspenseful ... shocking ... will leave readers on the edge of their seats. Booklist on ABSOLUTE FEAR Her latest whodunit hits all the marks, taking readers on a nail-biting roller coaster ride.'

- Library Journal on WITHOUT MERCY

 

'Jackson takes creepy to a new level with her latest chilling offering... A frightening tale filled with danger and shocking twists.'

- RT Book Reviews on WITHOUT MERCY

 

'Jackson... shows a mastery of the true-crime thriller formula that will please fans .'

- Kirkus Reviews on TELL ME

 

'Graphic, terrifying suspense and gripping emotion are what makes all of Lisa Jackson's thrillers so unforgettable THE MORNING AFTER just adds to her growing inventory of terrific page-turners' - Romantic Times on THE MORNING AFTER

 

'In a word: clever'

- The Herald Sun on CHOSEN TO DIE

 

'The highly suspenseful, edge-of-your-seat reads that Lisa Jackson provides are unparalleled'

- Publisher's Weekly on LEFT TO DIE

 

'Jackson definitely knows how to jangle readers nerves, and CLOSE TO HOME is perfect for readers of Joy Fielding's suspense novels or fans of Mary Higgins Clark Booklist'

If you loved this, you might like these...

Alone in the Dark
Alone in the Dark
Crash & Burn
Crash & Burn

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781444793277
Publication date: 25/09/2014
Publisher: Mulholland Books an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781444793277
Publication date: 25th September 2014
Author: Lisa Jackson
Publisher: Mulholland Books an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Hardback
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, eBook Favourites,
Categories:

About Lisa Jackson

Lisa Jackson's books are number one bestsellers in America. She lives with her family, two cats and an eighty-pound dog in the Pacific Northwest.

More About Lisa Jackson

More Books By Lisa Jackson

Cover for Cold Blooded by Lisa Jackson
Cover for Born to Die by Lisa Jackson
View All Books By Lisa Jackson

Share this book