join us on facebook eleanor oliphant
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

Close to Home by Lisa Jackson
  

Close to Home

Action Adventure / Spy   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £19.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Lovereading view...

Sarah McAdams needs a fresh start. So she's come home to the shores of Oregon's wild Columbia river, to renovate the old Victorian mansion where she grew up. Her daughters, Jade and Gracie, aren't impressed by the rundown property, and as soon as they pull up the isolated drive, Sarah too is beset by uneasy memories - of her cold, distant mother, of the half-sister who vanished without a trace, and of a long-ago night when Sarah was found outside, feverish and delirious. Ever since the original mistress of the house plunged to her death almost a century ago, there have been rumours that the place is haunted. As a girl, Sarah sensed a presence there, and soon Gracie claims to see a lady in white running up the stairs. Still, Sarah has little time to dwell on ghost stories, between overseeing construction and dealing with the return of a man from her past. But there's a new, more urgent menace in the small town. One by one, teenage girls are disappearing. Frantic for her daughters' safety, Sarah feels her veneer cracking and the house's walls closing in on her again. Somewhere deep in her memory is the key to a very real and terrifying danger. And only by confronting her worst fears can she stop the nightmare roaring back to life once more...

If you like Lisa Jackson you might also like to read books by Lisa Gardner, Karen Rose and Katia Lief.


The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. Lisa Jackson’s Close to Home arrives emblazoned with an encomium from no less than Harlan Coben: she is ‘one of the best’, he opines, and it’s hard to argue with that judgement. Sarah McAdams is looking for a fresh start and has made a trip to the shores of Oregon’s tempestuous Columbia River to rescue from decay the old Victorian mansion she grew up in. Her daughters are distinctly unimpressed by the property, and Sarah finds herself also on the receiving end of some troubling memories involving her cold mother and a half-sister who vanished without trace. The ancient secrets of the house are about to come back with a vengeance.
~ Barry Forshaw

Synopsis

Close to Home by Lisa Jackson

Sarah McAdams needs a fresh start. So she's come home to the shores of Oregon's wild Columbia river, to renovate the old Victorian mansion where she grew up. Her daughters, Jade and Gracie, aren't impressed by the rundown property, and as soon as they pull up the isolated drive, Sarah too is beset by uneasy memories - of her cold, distant mother, of the half-sister who vanished without a trace, and of a long-ago night when Sarah was found outside, feverish and delirious. Ever since the original mistress of the house plunged to her death almost a century ago, there have been rumours that the place is haunted. As a girl, Sarah sensed a presence there, and soon Gracie claims to see a lady in white running up the stairs. Still, Sarah has little time to dwell on ghost stories, between overseeing construction and dealing with the return of a man from her past. But there's a new, more urgent menace in the small town. One by one, teenage girls are disappearing. Frantic for her daughters' safety, Sarah feels her veneer cracking and the house's walls closing in on her again. Somewhere deep in her memory is the key to a very real and terrifying danger. And only by confronting her worst fears can she stop the nightmare roaring back to life once more...

Reviews

'Lisa Jackson shows yet again why she is one of the best... A pure nail biter.'

- Harlan Coben on YOU DON'T WANT TO KNOW

'Shiveringly good suspense! Lisa Jackson ratchets up the tension as one woman's desperate search for her missing son takes her to the very brink of losing her husband, her sanity, her very self. Each chapter will leave you wondering who to trust. The answer: You don't want to know... Lisa Gardner on YOU DON'T WANT TO KNOW Absolutely tension filled... Jackson is on top of her game.'

- Suspense Magazine on TELL ME

'The spookily atmospheric plot is jam-packed with scary chills and sexy thrills.'

Booklist on TELL ME

'A fast moving thriller with plenty of twists and turns, and an easy flowing style that readily catches the reader up in its thrall.'

- Canberra Times on MALICE

'Gripping... Jackson heightens the creep factor.'

- Publisher's Weekly on MALICE

'As a beach read, this is a cracker. Read it at night and it certainly will keep you up. For after the prologue, Jackson slips into her real agenda, and out of your comfort zone.'

- Courier Mail, Brisbane on DEEP FREEZE

'Tense... Suspenseful ... shocking ... will leave readers on the edge of their seats. Booklist on ABSOLUTE FEAR Her latest whodunit hits all the marks, taking readers on a nail-biting roller coaster ride.'

- Library Journal on WITHOUT MERCY

'Jackson takes creepy to a new level with her latest chilling offering... A frightening tale filled with danger and shocking twists.'

- RT Book Reviews on WITHOUT MERCY

'Jackson... shows a mastery of the true-crime thriller formula that will please fans .'

- Kirkus Reviews on TELL ME

'Graphic, terrifying suspense and gripping emotion are what makes all of Lisa Jackson's thrillers so unforgettable THE MORNING AFTER just adds to her growing inventory of terrific page-turners' - Romantic Times on THE MORNING AFTER

'In a word: clever'

- The Herald Sun on CHOSEN TO DIE

'The highly suspenseful, edge-of-your-seat reads that Lisa Jackson provides are unparalleled'

- Publisher's Weekly on LEFT TO DIE

'Jackson definitely knows how to jangle readers nerves, and CLOSE TO HOME is perfect for readers of Joy Fielding's suspense novels or fans of Mary Higgins Clark Booklist'

About the Author

Lisa Jackson's books are number one bestsellers in America. She lives with her family, two cats and an eighty-pound dog in the Pacific Northwest.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

25th September 2014

Author

Lisa Jackson

More books by Lisa Jackson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.lisajackson.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Mulholland Books an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Hardback
432 pages

Categories

Action Adventure / Spy
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781444793277

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools