David Levien - Author

About the Author

David Levien is one of the top screenwriters in Hollywood. He has co-written the screenplay for Ocean's Thirteen, Runaway Jury and several others. He lives in Connecticut.

Featured books by David Levien

Where the Dead Lay

Where the Dead Lay

Author: David Levien Format: Paperback Release Date: 16/09/2010

We meet PI Frank Behr of City of the Sun (excellent) again with linking cases that resolve some of Behr’s personal problems.  At its centre is a mafia-like dysfunctional family, a vicious bunch brilliantly portrayed.  This is indeed an author worth investing in, his writing is tight, tense, filmatic and very good indeed. Comparison: Harlan Coben, Michael Connelly, Robert Crais.

eBooks of the Month
City of the Sun

City of the Sun

Author: David Levien Format: Paperback Release Date: 21/05/2009

An exceptional first novel by a Hollywood scriptwriter, a gripping, horrifying, unputdownable story of abduction, murder and parental despair.  It introduces ex-police officer turned private detective Frank Behr who is definitely a character to follow.  With endorsements from some of the best writers in the business, Harlan Coben, Lincoln Child, Robert Crais, I can only echo their enthusiasm and urge you to read him. Comparison: Harlan Coben, Robert Crais, Michael Connelly.

eBooks of the Month

Other books by David Levien

America 2.0

America 2.0

Author: David Levien Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/09/2019

America 2.0 by David Levien

Where The Dead Lay

Where The Dead Lay

Author: David Levien Format: Paperback Release Date: 26/04/2018

From the pen of Hollywood screenwriter David Levien comes this brutal, brooding and bloody crime thriller. Perfect for fans of Lee Child and Harlan Coben. Crime fiction at its finest - CHRISTOPHER REICH David Levien has placed himself among the best writers in the field - ROBERT CRAIS This is American thriller writing at its rocket-fuelled, roller coaster best - DAILY MAIL Real, entertaining, and remarkably fresh -- ***** Reader review Levien writes bad guys as well as anyone out there... they are all so well drawn and conflicted and three-dimensional... -- ***** Reader review ************************************************************** HOW FAR WILL ONE MAN GO TO AVENGE A FRIEND'S MURDER? THE VICTIM was a fighter, but strength wasn't enough to save him from this gruesome end. THE MISSING are two well-paid private investigators who have disappeared on a confidential job. THE FAMILY is formidable, deadly and crazy, and will stop at nothing to make their mark. THE INVESTIGATOR is Frank Behr, haunted by an unspeakable loss, avenging his friend's death, and close to becoming . . . THE HUNTED . . . can Behr track down the killers before they find him? And will he survive?

Signature Kill

Signature Kill

Author: David Levien Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/02/2016

Fans of Lee Child and Harlan Coben will love this fast and furious crime thriller from Hollywood screenwriter David Levien. American thriller writing at its rocket-fuelled, roller-coaster best - DAILY MAIL Relentless suspense - HARLAN COBEN A writer who takes dead, calculated aim at our deepest fears - ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY This is crime fiction at its best. -- ***** Reader review Pacy and gripping tale and at times the suspense is heart-stoppingly good. -- ***** Reader review After reading, I had to buy all his books! -- ***** Reader review ******************************************************************************************** HE'S GOING TO LEAVE HIS MARK ON YOU. A corpse discovered. A woman. Dismembered. Twisted. Grotesquely reassembled. This is the work of a dangerous, psychopathic serial killer. Someone who goes about his daily business unseen, slipping under the radar. And ex-cop Frank Behr has somehow got himself involved. As Behr is drawn further and further in to the murky underworld, he finds that the line between good and evil is more blurry than he ever thought . . .

The Contract

The Contract

Author: David Levien Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/10/2012

From the pen of Hollywood screenwriter David Levien comes this fast, furious and unforgettable crime thriller. Perfect for fans of Lee Child and Harlan Coben. Tense and tightly plotted - GUARDIAN This is American crime thriller writing at its rocket-fuelled, roller-coaster best - DAILY MAIL Crime fiction at its finest - Christopher Reich What a great read. Its hard to put the book down. -- ***** Reader review ***************************************************************************** DOES HE REALLY WANT TO KNOW THE TRUTH? THE COMPANY: Troubled former cop Frank Behr is working for an exclusive Indianapolis investigation company, when he finds himself on a protection detail for Bernard Bernie Cool Kolodnik. THE CLIENT: Bernard Bernie Cool Kolodnik is a hard driving business mogul on the verge of making a move into big-time politics. THE CORRUPT: An attempt on Kolodnik's life is quickly buried by the police. But Behr wants the truth, and his hunt will put him a collision course with a dangerous sociopath . . .

Where the Dead Lay

Where the Dead Lay

Author: David Levien Format: Ebook Release Date: 16/06/2009

After the sinister disappearance of two highly-paid detectives, former Indianapolis cop, Frank Behrthe unforgettable P.I. introduced in David Leviens nationally acclaimed novel, City of the Sunis pulled into his darkest, most relentless case. When Frank Behrs friend and mentor is murdered during a suspicious break-in, Behr thirsts for answers and revenge. But before he can pick up the killer's scent, an exclusive private investigation firm approaches him with a case: two of its operatives have gone missing. Prodded to take the case by his old bossthe Indianapolis police captain who holds the strings to returning him to the forceBehr accepts.The search for the missing detectives takes Behr into the dark recesses of Indianapolis underbelly, a place rife with shocking brutality and vice. And when Behr uncovers a thread connecting the detectives to his friends brutal murder, he is forced to confront an ominous, deadly new breed of organized crime.Introduced in City of the Sun, Frank Behr instantly garnered critical attention and a high level of anticipation among thriller aficionados and fans of authors like Michael Connelly and Robert Crais.From the Compact Disc edition.

City of the Sun

City of the Sun

Author: David Levien Format: Ebook Release Date: 11/03/2008

Jamie Gabriel gets on his bike before dawn to deliver newspapers in his suburban Indianapolis neighborhood. He is twelve years old. Somewhere en route, he vanishes without a trace.Fourteen months later, Paul and Carol Gabriel are on the verge of abandoning all hope. Crushed by frustrating dead ends and exhausted by a police force that cannot (or will not) find their son, the Gabriels finally stumble upon a namean elusive private investigator who may represent their last chance for answers.Frank Behr is an enigmatic mountain of a man, a former cop who is reluctant to helphe knows better than to promise the Gabriels a good result. But Pauls plea for closure stirs up old personal demons that Behr can no longer ignore. Going against everything he fears, Behr enters into an uneasy partnership with Paul on a quest for the truth that is, in turn, dangerous . . . and haunting.Richly textured and crackling with suspense, CITY OF THE SUN weaves a moody narrative that hinges on the bond between a damaged detective and a lost father. David Levien masterfully peels back the layers of his gripping story, taking listeners on an investigation like no other.From the Compact Disc edition.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://cityofthesunbook.com/

Author's Facebook

Find David Levien on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more