rebus 30th anniversary eleanor oliphant make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The Poppy Factory by Liz Trenow
  

The Poppy Factory

Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Lovereading view...

This is a deft marrying of the trauma of World War I and today’s Afghan conflict. In 2012 Jess is an army medic who, after three years at the front, comes home badly in need of mental support. An eventual breakdown ends in alcoholism, all very sad. She helps her mother clear out the home of her deceased grandmother, Rose and finds the woman’s diary. It tells of the dreadful shell-shock her grandfather, Alfie, suffered after World War I and his decline into drink. There was no help for sufferers then and Rose just had to manage. Her strength kept the family together until Alfie found the Poppy Factory. The story deeply affects Jess who now goes in search of the Poppy Factory and no, it is not an institute that makes poppies all day, it’s a haven for those suffering combat stress. This is a wonderful tale, deeply affecting.

If you like Liz Trenow you might also like to read books by Kate Morton, Louisa Young and Judith Lennox.

Synopsis

The Poppy Factory by Liz Trenow

A captivating story of two young women, bound together by the tragedy of two very different wars. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee. With the end of the First World War, Rose is looking forward to welcoming home her beloved husband ,Alfie, from the battlefields. But his return is not what Rose had expected. Traumatised by what he has seen, the Alfie who comes home is a different man to the one Rose married. As he struggles to cope with life in peacetime,Rose wrestles with temptation as the man she fell in love with seems lost forever. Many years later, Jess returns from her final tour of Afghanistan. Haunted by nightmares from her time at the front, her longed-for homecoming is a disaster and she wonders if her life will ever be the same again. Can comfort come through her great-grandmother Rose's diaries? For Jess and Rose, the realities of war have terrible consequences. Can the Poppy Factory, set up to help injured soldiers, rescue them both from the heartache of war?

Reviews

Praise for Liz Trenow: 'Extraordinary, fascinating ...deeply rooted in history
Midweek, Radio 4

'An assured debut with a page-turning conclusion.'
Daily Express Liz Trenow sews together the strands of past and present as delicately as the exquisite stitching on the quilt which forms the centerpiece of the story. Lucinda Riley

'Totally fascinating ...a book to savour'
Kate Furnivall

'A novel about the human spirit - Liz Trenow paints with able prose a picture of the prejudices that bind us and the love that sets us free ... Splendid.'
Pam Jenoff

About the Author

Liz Trenow

Liz Trenow worked for many years as a journalist for national and regional newspapers, and for BBC radio and television news, and is now a full time writer.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

28th August 2014

Author

Liz Trenow

More books by Liz Trenow
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

liztrenow.com/

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction
Sagas

ISBN

9780007510481

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools