make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

The Poppy Factory by Liz Trenow
  

The Poppy Factory

Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   

Lovereading view...

This is a deft marrying of the trauma of World War I and today’s Afghan conflict. In 2012 Jess is an army medic who, after three years at the front, comes home badly in need of mental support. An eventual breakdown ends in alcoholism, all very sad. She helps her mother clear out the home of her deceased grandmother, Rose and finds the woman’s diary. It tells of the dreadful shell-shock her grandfather, Alfie, suffered after World War I and his decline into drink. There was no help for sufferers then and Rose just had to manage. Her strength kept the family together until Alfie found the Poppy Factory. The story deeply affects Jess who now goes in search of the Poppy Factory and no, it is not an institute that makes poppies all day, it’s a haven for those suffering combat stress. This is a wonderful tale, deeply affecting.

If you like Liz Trenow you might also like to read books by Lucinda Riley, Pam Jenoff and Sarah Blake.

Synopsis

The Poppy Factory by Liz Trenow

A captivating story of two young women, bound together by the tragedy of two very different wars. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee. With the end of the First World War, Rose is looking forward to welcoming home her beloved husband ,Alfie, from the battlefields. But his return is not what Rose had expected. Traumatised by what he has seen, the Alfie who comes home is a different man to the one Rose married. As he struggles to cope with life in peacetime,Rose wrestles with temptation as the man she fell in love with seems lost forever. Many years later, Jess returns from her final tour of Afghanistan. Haunted by nightmares from her time at the front, her longed-for homecoming is a disaster and she wonders if her life will ever be the same again. Can comfort come through her great-grandmother Rose's diaries? For Jess and Rose, the realities of war have terrible consequences. Can the Poppy Factory, set up to help injured soldiers, rescue them both from the heartache of war?

Reviews

Praise for Liz Trenow: 'Extraordinary, fascinating ...deeply rooted in history
Midweek, Radio 4

'An assured debut with a page-turning conclusion.'
Daily Express Liz Trenow sews together the strands of past and present as delicately as the exquisite stitching on the quilt which forms the centerpiece of the story. Lucinda Riley

'Totally fascinating ...a book to savour'
Kate Furnivall

'A novel about the human spirit - Liz Trenow paints with able prose a picture of the prejudices that bind us and the love that sets us free ... Splendid.'
Pam Jenoff

About the Author

Liz Trenow

Liz Trenow worked for many years as a journalist for national and regional newspapers, and for BBC radio and television news, and is now a full time writer.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

25th August 2014

Author

Liz Trenow

More books by Liz Trenow
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

liztrenow.com/

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction
Sagas

ISBN

9780007510481

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools