newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
White Bodies by Jane Robins Read the opening extract of the brand new Jane Robins book before its publication on 03/05/2018

The Beggar Maid by Dilly Court
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

The nineteenth novel from Dilly Court, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and period sagas, rich in detail and character and certainly one of her best. This one is set in Victorian London where Charity Crosse is forced to become a beggar to keep her and her grandfather alive till fate and fortune take a turn for the better and suddenly she has opportunities she never dreamed of. But inevitably all is not easy and she must fight and strive to find the life she wants.

If you like Dilly Court you might also like to read books by Meg Hutchinson, Lily Baxter and Katie Flynn.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Beggar Maid by Dilly Court

This is the wonderfully nostalgic, vivid and compelling new novel from the Sunday Times top five bestselling author of A Loving Family. From the age of eight, sixteen-year-old Charity Crosse has been living rough with her grandfather and begging on the streets. When he grandfather passes away, Charity is helped by a kindly doctor who introduces her to bookseller, Jethro Dawkins. Jethro takes Charity in to help in his bookshop and keep house in their one room behind the shop. Charity sleeps under the counter and is not well treated, but Jethro instills in her the love of books that began when her grandmother taught her to read. And she starts to hope for a better future for herself. But Jethro dies unexpectedly, and Charity is faced with eviction when the rent is raised by the unscrupulous landlord. Must Charity give up her dream of running the bookshop herself, and worse, be forced to return to the streets...?


Browse inside this book

Reviews

Atmospheric, vivid and compelling. * My Weekly *


About the Author

Dilly Court grew up in North-east London and began her career in television, writing scripts for commercials. She is married with two grown-up children and four grandchildren, and now lives in Dorset on the beautiful Jurassic Coast with her husband. She is the author of seventeen novels and also writes under the name of Lily Baxter.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th September 2014

Author

Dilly Court

More books by Dilly Court
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.dillycourt.com
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Arrow Books Ltd an imprint of Cornerstone

Format

Paperback
480 pages

Categories

Sagas and Romance
Sagas and Romance
eBook Favourites

Historical romance
Sagas

ISBN

9780099574941

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools