Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

debuts of the month likeyoulove make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn Read the opening extract of the brand new A. J. Finn book before its publication on 22/01/2018

A Girl Can Dream by Anne Bennett
  

A Girl Can Dream

Sagas and Romance   eBook Favourites   

Lovereading view...

A dramatic and emotional story of one woman's story to keep her family together. For fans of Dilly Court and Kitty Neale.

If you like Anne Bennett you might also like to read books by Margaret Mayhew, Alexandra Connor and Annie Groves.

Synopsis

A Girl Can Dream by Anne Bennett

When Meg's mother dies in childbirth, she is determined to keep the promise made on her mother's deathbed - keep the family together. But her father has descended into drink and resents the baby, Ruth, who he believes cost him his wife. Though struggling financially, Meg resists the offer of help from their unscrupulous and sinister landlord, Richard Flatterly. Things get worse when her father returns home one night with a woman called Doris and announces he intends to marry her. When war breaks out three of the children are evacuated to the country while little Ruth must stay with Meg's father and his new wife as she is too young. Meg and her friend Joy sign up for the Land Army and go to work on the farm where she meets Stephen, home on leave after fighting the Nazi's - the attraction is instant and she and Stephen fall in love. But when she returns to the family home for a visit, she is horrified to discover the house in squalor and that worst of all, Little Ruth has been sent to an orphanage. With no options, Meg must turn to the only man who can help her, Richard Flatterly, but in return for his help, she must pay a very high price...

Reviews

Praise for If You Were the Only Girl:

'A powerful read that will have you gripped.
Yours Praise for Anne Bennett:

'[Anne Bennett is] blessed with a vivid imagination and a natural aptitude for writing'
Daily Post

'An affecting story, populated with rich, beautifully drawn characters.'
Choice

'The beauty of Anne's books is that they are about normal people and are sewn through with human emotions which affect us all'
Birmingham Post

About the Author

Anne Bennett

Anne Bennett was born in a back-to-back house in the Horsefair district of Birmingham. The daughter of Roman Catholic, Irish immigrants, she grew up in a tight-knit community where she was taught to be proud of her heritage. She considers herself to be an Irish Brummie and feels therefore that she has a foot in both cultures. She has four children and four grandchildren. For many years she taught in schools to the north of Birmingham. An accident put paid to her teaching career and, after moving to North Wales, Anne turned to the other great love of her life and began to write seriously.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

19th May 2014

Author

Anne Bennett

More books by Anne Bennett
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.annebennett.co.uk/

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
448 pages

Categories

Sagas and Romance
eBook Favourites

Sagas

ISBN

9780007359257

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools