Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

book price comparison books of the month
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Informationist by Taylor Stevens
  

Lovereading view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

The first Vanessa Michael Munroe thriller to appear in the UK (in the USA there are already three) introduces a tough gal for hire who at first appears to be something of a Jack Reacher figure. But that's underselling her: she's tougher by a nautical mile, dreadfully mixed-up and relentless in her quest. Here she is recruited to find a lost Texas oil billionaire's daughter who disappeared in deepest Africa, a continent where she herself was formed in adversity. If violence and situations that are anything but black and white are not your boat, don't go anywhere near Munroe. If you have a taste for shock and thrills a minute, go no further. Gripping stuff.

Synopsis

The Informationist by Taylor Stevens

A New York Times bestseller, The Informationist introduces Vanessa Michael Munroe, a brilliant new heroine, in a thriller for fans of Lisbeth Salander, Jack Reacher and Jason Bourne. Vanessa Munroe deals in information - covert information. With an extraordinary intellect, a physique that allows her to pass as either male or female, and ruthless martial arts skills, she offers a unique service to anyone - government or individual - who'll pay her. Now a Texas oil billionaire has hired her to find his daughter, who vanished in Africa four years earlier. Where international investigators have tried and failed, Munroe follows a cold trail far into the lawless lands of central Africa. And then things spin out of control. Pulled deep into the mystery of the missing girl, Munroe finds herself cut off from civilisation and left for dead. Her only hope of discovering the truth - and of getting out of Africa alive - is to face up to the violent past that she's fought so hard to forget.


Browse inside this book

Reviews

Munroe is a sensational character and Stevens is a sensational writer - Lee Child

The world may have found its next Lisbeth Salander - Daily Telegraph

One of the best thrillers of the year! - Tess Gerritsen

Written with the muscular force of Lee Child and the geo-political foresight of Frederick Forsyth, it announces the arrival of a new heroine. - Daily Mail

With exotic locations, a twisty plot and plenty of violent action, it's a fresh and punchy thriller. - Sunday Mirror

About the Author

Taylor Stevens has a remarkable life story - raised in a religious cult, the Children of God, she was denied basic education, her storytelling quashed by cult leaders, and her writing confiscated and burned. When she finally broke free of the movement, she was determined to write a novel - and she has now written three, The Informationist, The Innocent and The Doll. The Informationist was an instant bestseller on publication in America. Taylor Stevens has lived in central Africa but now lives in Dallas.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th December 2013

Author

Taylor Stevens

More books by Taylor Stevens
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.taylorstevensbooks.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Arrow Books Ltd an imprint of Cornerstone

Format

Paperback
336 pages

Categories

Action Adventure / Spy
Thriller / Suspense
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection
eBook Favourites

Adventure
Espionage & spy thriller

ISBN

9780099588825

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools