Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

tudor queens series newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Wind is Not a River by Brian Payton
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

A tragic World War II love story told in alternating chapters, his and hers. He, John, mourning the death of his brother, flies to Alaska to expose a Japanese invasion of the Aleutian Islands, is shot down over Jap territory and survives the crash along with a young soldier. She, Helen, sets out to find him. Both stories are highly dramatic. The outcome for both is unexpected and poignant in a fine, intelligent read, a heartbreaking tale highly recommended.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Wind is Not a River by Brian Payton

A fight for survival. April 1943. In the bloody turmoil of war, John Easley, a journalist mourning his lost brother, is driven to expose a hidden and growing conflict: the Japanese invasion and occupation of Alaska's Aleutian Islands. But when his plane is shot down he must either surrender or struggle to survive in a harsh wilderness. A search for the truth. Three thousand miles to the south, Helen Easley cannot accept her husband's disappearance--an absence that exposes her sheltered, untested life. Desperate to find and be reunited with him, she sets out on a remarkable journey from the safety of her Seattle home to the war in the north. A love story like no other. An evocative, richly atmospheric tale of life and death, commitment and sacrifice, The Wind Is Not a River, perfect for fans of Cold Mountain, is a gripping story of survival that illuminates the fragility of life and the fierce power of love. 'Beautifully written, lyrical and elegiac, The Wind Is Not A River is a novel you must read ...John Easley's struggle to survive and his wife Helen's struggle to find him form the most triumphant and heartbreaking love story I've read in years' David Vann, author of LEGEND OF A SUICIDE

Reviews

'Part adventure tale, part love story, this beautifully written novel offers a moving portrait of a couple whose lives are forever changed by the only battle of WWII to take place on American soil ... Payton, in the loveliest of prose, illuminates a little-known aspect of WWII while portraying a devoted couple who bravely face down the isolation, pain, and sacrifice of wartime'
Booklist

'The Wind Is Not a River is a harrowing, beautiful book. Whether Payton is describing a journalist's bleak ordeals of survival in the Japanese-held Aleutian Islands or a USO showgirl's efforts to sing an unfamiliar tune, his taut, economic prose establishes a compelling intimacy with his subjects. On the bookshelf of World War II novels, Payton's can sit confidently beside Norman Mailer's The Naked and the Dead'
David Macfarlane, author of Summer Gone

'This top-notch WWII historical novel from Vancouver-based writer Payton involves the little-remembered Japanese invasion and partial occupation of Alaska's Aleutian Islands ... Payton has delivered a richly detailed, vividly resonant chronicle of war's effect on ordinary people's lives'
Publishers Weekly

'What a great-hearted, beautifully written, and utterly riveting novel. The Wind Is Not a River has a power that brings to mind the old Greek stories of war, love, and journey'
Ron Rash

'Payton knows how the brutality and horror of war scar the human spirit and the power and tenderness of love sustain it. In this lyric and deeply moving novel, he connects the two with imagination and brio. The Wind Is Not a River is a heart-stopping, heart-rending read'
Ellen Feldman, Orange Prize shortlisted author of Scotsboro, Next to Love and The Boy Who Loved Anne Frank

About the Author

Brian Payton has written for the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. He lives with his wife in Vancouver.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st February 2014

Author

Brian Payton

More books by Brian Payton
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

brianpayton.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Mantle an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Format

Hardback
320 pages
Interest Age: From 18 years

Categories

Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Historical fiction

ISBN

9781447242215

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools