likeyoulove desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

The Wind is Not a River by Brian Payton
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

A tragic World War II love story told in alternating chapters, his and hers. He, John, mourning the death of his brother, flies to Alaska to expose a Japanese invasion of the Aleutian Islands, is shot down over Jap territory and survives the crash along with a young soldier. She, Helen, sets out to find him. Both stories are highly dramatic. The outcome for both is unexpected and poignant in a fine, intelligent read, a heartbreaking tale highly recommended.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Wind is Not a River by Brian Payton

A fight for survival. April 1943. In the bloody turmoil of war, John Easley, a journalist mourning his lost brother, is driven to expose a hidden and growing conflict: the Japanese invasion and occupation of Alaska's Aleutian Islands. But when his plane is shot down he must either surrender or struggle to survive in a harsh wilderness. A search for the truth. Three thousand miles to the south, Helen Easley cannot accept her husband's disappearance--an absence that exposes her sheltered, untested life. Desperate to find and be reunited with him, she sets out on a remarkable journey from the safety of her Seattle home to the war in the north. A love story like no other. An evocative, richly atmospheric tale of life and death, commitment and sacrifice, The Wind Is Not a River, perfect for fans of Cold Mountain, is a gripping story of survival that illuminates the fragility of life and the fierce power of love. 'Beautifully written, lyrical and elegiac, The Wind Is Not A River is a novel you must read ...John Easley's struggle to survive and his wife Helen's struggle to find him form the most triumphant and heartbreaking love story I've read in years' David Vann, author of LEGEND OF A SUICIDE

Reviews

'Part adventure tale, part love story, this beautifully written novel offers a moving portrait of a couple whose lives are forever changed by the only battle of WWII to take place on American soil ... Payton, in the loveliest of prose, illuminates a little-known aspect of WWII while portraying a devoted couple who bravely face down the isolation, pain, and sacrifice of wartime'
Booklist

'The Wind Is Not a River is a harrowing, beautiful book. Whether Payton is describing a journalist's bleak ordeals of survival in the Japanese-held Aleutian Islands or a USO showgirl's efforts to sing an unfamiliar tune, his taut, economic prose establishes a compelling intimacy with his subjects. On the bookshelf of World War II novels, Payton's can sit confidently beside Norman Mailer's The Naked and the Dead'
David Macfarlane, author of Summer Gone

'This top-notch WWII historical novel from Vancouver-based writer Payton involves the little-remembered Japanese invasion and partial occupation of Alaska's Aleutian Islands ... Payton has delivered a richly detailed, vividly resonant chronicle of war's effect on ordinary people's lives'
Publishers Weekly

'What a great-hearted, beautifully written, and utterly riveting novel. The Wind Is Not a River has a power that brings to mind the old Greek stories of war, love, and journey'
Ron Rash

'Payton knows how the brutality and horror of war scar the human spirit and the power and tenderness of love sustain it. In this lyric and deeply moving novel, he connects the two with imagination and brio. The Wind Is Not a River is a heart-stopping, heart-rending read'
Ellen Feldman, Orange Prize shortlisted author of Scotsboro, Next to Love and The Boy Who Loved Anne Frank

About the Author

Brian Payton has written for the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. He lives with his wife in Vancouver.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

13th February 2014

Author

Brian Payton

More books by Brian Payton
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

brianpayton.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Mantle an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Format

Hardback
320 pages
Interest Age: From 18

Categories

Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Historical fiction

ISBN

9781447242215

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools