Under the Whispering Door

by TJ Klune

Relationship Stories Modern and Contemporary Fiction Audiobooks of the Month Fantasy Science Fiction Literary Fiction

Under the Whispering Door Synopsis

Witty, haunting, and kind, Under the Whispering Door is a gift for troubled times. TJ Klune brings us a warm hug of a story about a man who spent his life at the office - and his afterlife building a home.

From the author of joyous New York Times bestseller The House in the Cerulean Sea.

Welcome to Charon’s Crossing.

The tea is hot, the scones are fresh and the dead are just passing through.

When a reaper comes to collect Wallace from his own sparsely-attended funeral, Wallace is outraged. But he begins to suspect she’s right, and he is in fact dead. Then when Hugo, owner of a most peculiar tea shop, promises to help him cross over, Wallace reluctantly accepts the truth.

Yet even in death, he refuses to abandon his life – even though Wallace spent all of it working, correcting colleagues and hectoring employees. He’d had no time for frivolities like fun and friends. But as Wallace drinks tea with Hugo and talks to his customers, he wonders if he was missing something.

The feeling grows as he shares jokes with the resident ghost, manifests embarrassing footwear and notices the stars. So when he’s given one week to pass through the door to the other side, Wallace sets about living a lifetime in just seven days.

Fans of A Man Called Ove and The Good Place will fall for this queer love story by TJ Klune.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781529088014
Publication date: 28th October 2021
Author: TJ Klune
Publisher: Tor, an Imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Audiobook
Primary Genre Relationship Stories
Other Genres:
Recommendations:

What To Read After Under the Whispering Door

The Frequency of Us
Red, White and Royal Blue
Hold Back the Stars
Reader, I Married Him

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781529087994
Publication date: 09/06/2022
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781529088014
Publication date: 28/10/2021
Format: Audiobook

ISBN: 9781529087970
Publication date: 28/10/2021
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

More Books By TJ Klune

Under the Whispering Door
Under the Whispering Door
Under the Whispering Door
View All Books By TJ Klune

Share this book