Costa Book Awards

To find out more about the shortlisted books just click on the award category you are interested in.

The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland.

Since their launch in 1971, the awards have rewarded a wide range of excellent books and authors across all genres.

Uniquely, the prize has five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book - with one of the five winning books selected as the overall Costa Book of the Year. It is the only prize which places children’s books alongside adult books in this way.

The judging panel for the 2019 Costa Book Awards includes: Clare Mackintosh, Will Smith, Mahsuda Snaith, John Boyne, Francesca Brown, Sarah Turner, Professor Suzannah Lipscomb, James Marriott, Will Rycroft, Kate Clanchy, Jade Cuttle, Rohan Silva, Charlotte Eyre, Bali Rai, Danny Van Emden, Sarah Franklin, Joe Haddow, Adele Parks, Simon Trewin, Kit De Waal.

The judges will select their favourite book in each category and these books will then be shortlisted for the 2019 Costa Book of the Year. The overall winner will be announced at an awards ceremony in central London on Tuesday 28th January 2020. 

For more information visit and keep up with the latest news @CostaBookAwards

Costa Biography Award shortlist 2021

Shortlisted Books

Costa Book Awards Archive

Click on a year below to view past years from this award.