LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Max Hennessy - Author

Books by Max Hennessy

The Fox From His Lair

The Fox From His Lair

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback Release Date: 08/04/2021

A hunt that will decide the victor of the Second World War...Throughout the summer of 1944, southern England was transformed into one huge armed camp as the allied forces made their final preparations for D-Day. It was at this crucial moment in history that the Fox emerged from his lair. The Fox had many names and many disguises, but behind them all lay the resource and ingenuity of a dedicated German agent. His very existence was not suspected until a totally unexpected E-Boat attack on a landing resulting in hundreds of casualties, and the loss of a set of top-secret plans detailing the invasion. Desperate to stop them falling into enemy hands, two officers are tasked with recovering the plans and taking out the Fox. Failure would mean the total defeat of the allied forces. Failure is not an option... A gripping, action-packed D-Day thriller from a master of the war story, perfect for fans of Frederick Forsyth, John le Carre and Alistair MacLean.

Take or Destroy

Take or Destroy

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback Release Date: 08/04/2021

The fate of a continent rests on one devastating battle...The Eighth Army, gathering its strength in the Nile delta, was preparing for a major assault against the combined forces of Rommel's Afrika Korps. One of the places the Korps occupied was the little port of Qaba, two hundred miles to the west of Cairo. British Lieutenant-Colonel George Hockold saw great potential in Qaba, planning an offensive there to both distract the enemy and rob them of essential fuel supplies. This was the start of what came to be known as 'Operation Cut-Price', carried out by perhaps the oddest assortment of makeshift commandos ever brought together. Their objective was quite simple: to take... or destroy. An intensely exciting war thriller observed with shrewdness, humour and compassion, perfect for fans of Alistair MacLean, Jack Higgins and David McDine.

Army of Shadows

Army of Shadows

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/10/2020

They fought without glory - and without mercy.France, Winter 1944: The long-awaited liberation is at hand The bombing missions had gone well, and the crew of the Lancaster bomber had begun to relax. Then the Messerschmitt came out of the darkness, its guns blazing. Of the nine-man crew only Neville and Urqhart survive, parachuting into the heart of occupied France. Joining forces with the men of the French Resistance, they must enter a deadly game of cat and mouse with a ruthless enemy... A nerve-shredding thriller of the Second World War, steeped in historical research, perfect for fans of Alistair MacLean, Jack Higgins and Wilbur Smith.

Swordpoint

Swordpoint

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/10/2020

An ambitious plan, a looming fortress, a devastating battle...Famous for its ancient hilltop monastery, Monte Cassino achieved a new and grimmer renown in the Second World War when it became a German bastion against the Allied advance through Italy. Even in February 1944, when the abbey buildings had been reduced to rubble by aerial bombardment, the mountain itself continued to command the adjoining river valleys and to block the road to Rome. Cassino had to be taken. Frontal assault had proved a costly failure, but now the highly ambitious Brigadier Heathfield had devised a plan for an outflanking operation. Total victory, or total defeat, could hinge on this single mission. A stirring and powerful thriller concerning the final years of the Second World War, perfect for fans of Alistair MacLean, David McDine and Jack Higgins.

The Lion at Sea

The Lion at Sea

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/02/2020

A young recruit. A legendary battle. A cataclysmic war. A baptism by fire...Kelly Maguire knew from a young age that he could accomplish great things. As World War I begins, Kelly enlists in the Royal Navy, hoping to win both the war and glory. But from the barbarous battles of Gallipoli to the nightmarish action of Antwerp, Kelly learns the trials a soldier must face: trials that will forge him into a man. As the epic battle of Jutland approaches, everything is at stake. From acclaimed novelist Max Hennessy comes a gritty naval adventure, full of blood, guts and heroism in the face of danger.

The Dangerous Years

The Dangerous Years

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/02/2020

Battle is joined...Hero of Jutland in World War I, Kelly Maguire progresses rapidly through Navy ranks during the dangerous post-War years. Amidst the Russian Civil War, British forces must rescue thousands of terrified White Army men from rampaging Communist militias. Maguire gets stuck in, risking everything. From Russia, he moves on to China, and a gunboat incident on the Yangtze. His resolve is tested when he must choose between his childhood sweetheart to a wealthy aristocrat. From old enemies to old flames, Maguire will once again have to risk it all to prove his worth. An awe-inspiring tale of adventure and war, The Dangerous Years has a thrilling historical sweep, and showcases a classic storyteller at the very peak of his powers.

Back to Battle

Back to Battle

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/02/2020

The crescendo of war, a crushing blow, a path to redemption...Peacetime political machinations threaten Kelly Maguire's ambitions to be a Captain. But then war breaks out, and the world needs men who are willing to risk everything. As World War II explodes, and after a devastating loss in the Battle of Narvik, Maguire finds himself washed up at Dunkirk during the evacuation of 1940. Once more he must prove his worth. On the ocean, and the beaches, Kelly will fight for his country, and for the ones he loves. But, on the verge of true greatness after the Normandy landings, he is tasked with one final mission, one that could end his career... Back to Battle is an earth-shattering novel set at the heart of the bloodiest war ever fought.

The Challenging Heights

The Challenging Heights

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/08/2019

A new enemy, a savage battlefield, a devastating loss...Dicken Quinney proved himself as a brilliant and heroic pilot in World War One, saving the lives of his fellow RAF servicemen, and winning a slew of medals. It is now the near aftermath of the Great War, and Dicken is engaged in an ongoing dogfight over the Baltic states with Bolshevik fighters, during the Russian Revolution. He must use everything he has learned in his formative years in order to survive, and will be forced to overcome a terrible loss that threatens to destroy him. An awe-inspiring, non-stop action military thriller, perfect for fans of David Black and Graham Parry.

Once More the Hawks

Once More the Hawks

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/08/2019

One last mission, a disastrous result, an impossible escape...Last in the RAF Trilogy, this story charts the final days of service of world-class British fighter pilot Dicken Quinney, in his most dangerous adventure yet. It is the summer of 1939, and the greatest war in history is on the horizon. Dicken is stationed in France when the fighting starts, but disaster strikes and his plane is shot out of the sky above enemy territory. Beset on all sides with mortal peril, and with only his own survival skills to aid him, Dicken is forced to make a breathtaking escape across Nazi Europe, pursued by his nemesis, General Lee Tse Liu. The crowning finale to the RAF trilogy, Once More the Hawks is a triumph, perfect for fans of Thomas Wood, W. E. Johns and David Black.

The Bright Blue Sky

The Bright Blue Sky

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/08/2019

One day in 1914, a young man took to the air, and a legend was born...Dicken Quinney never forgot that first flight in a fragile contraption of sealing-wax and string, the start of a lifelong obsession with flying. He was to spend the next four years in the deadly cut-and-thrust of aerial dogfights over France and Italy, collecting a chestful of medals, and a reputation as one of the Great War's leading aces. He would hone his skills in an array of aircraft, and as the war reaches its climax, he must undergo one final test in order to emerge victorious. And with his life intact. A love letter to aviation, perfect for fans of W. E. Johns and Wilbur Smith.