LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Max Hennessy - Author

About the Author

Books by Max Hennessy

The Lion at Sea

The Lion at Sea

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/02/2020

A young recruit. A legendary battle. A cataclysmic war. A baptism by fire...Kelly Maguire knew from a young age that he could accomplish great things. As World War I begins, Kelly enlists in the Royal Navy, hoping to win both the war and glory. But from the barbarous battles of Gallipoli to the nightmarish action of Antwerp, Kelly learns the trials a soldier must face: trials that will forge him into a man. As the epic battle of Jutland approaches, everything is at stake. From acclaimed novelist Max Hennessy comes a gritty naval adventure, full of blood, guts and heroism in the face of danger.

The Dangerous Years

The Dangerous Years

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/02/2020

Battle is joined...Hero of Jutland in World War I, Kelly Maguire progresses rapidly through Navy ranks during the dangerous post-War years. Amidst the Russian Civil War, British forces must rescue thousands of terrified White Army men from rampaging Communist militias. Maguire gets stuck in, risking everything. From Russia, he moves on to China, and a gunboat incident on the Yangtze. His resolve is tested when he must choose between his childhood sweetheart to a wealthy aristocrat. From old enemies to old flames, Maguire will once again have to risk it all to prove his worth. An awe-inspiring tale of adventure and war, The Dangerous Years has a thrilling historical sweep, and showcases a classic storyteller at the very peak of his powers.

Back to Battle

Back to Battle

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/02/2020

The crescendo of war, a crushing blow, a path to redemption...Peacetime political machinations threaten Kelly Maguire's ambitions to be a Captain. But then war breaks out, and the world needs men who are willing to risk everything. As World War II explodes, and after a devastating loss in the Battle of Narvik, Maguire finds himself washed up at Dunkirk during the evacuation of 1940. Once more he must prove his worth. On the ocean, and the beaches, Kelly will fight for his country, and for the ones he loves. But, on the verge of true greatness after the Normandy landings, he is tasked with one final mission, one that could end his career... Back to Battle is an earth-shattering novel set at the heart of the bloodiest war ever fought.

The Challenging Heights

The Challenging Heights

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/08/2019

A new enemy, a savage battlefield, a devastating loss...Dicken Quinney proved himself as a brilliant and heroic pilot in World War One, saving the lives of his fellow RAF servicemen, and winning a slew of medals. It is now the near aftermath of the Great War, and Dicken is engaged in an ongoing dogfight over the Baltic states with Bolshevik fighters, during the Russian Revolution. He must use everything he has learned in his formative years in order to survive, and will be forced to overcome a terrible loss that threatens to destroy him. An awe-inspiring, non-stop action military thriller, perfect for fans of David Black and Graham Parry.

Once More the Hawks

Once More the Hawks

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/08/2019

One last mission, a disastrous result, an impossible escape...Last in the RAF Trilogy, this story charts the final days of service of world-class British fighter pilot Dicken Quinney, in his most dangerous adventure yet. It is the summer of 1939, and the greatest war in history is on the horizon. Dicken is stationed in France when the fighting starts, but disaster strikes and his plane is shot out of the sky above enemy territory. Beset on all sides with mortal peril, and with only his own survival skills to aid him, Dicken is forced to make a breathtaking escape across Nazi Europe, pursued by his nemesis, General Lee Tse Liu. The crowning finale to the RAF trilogy, Once More the Hawks is a triumph, perfect for fans of Thomas Wood, W. E. Johns and David Black.

The Bright Blue Sky

The Bright Blue Sky

Author: Max Hennessy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/08/2019

One day in 1914, a young man took to the air, and a legend was born...Dicken Quinney never forgot that first flight in a fragile contraption of sealing-wax and string, the start of a lifelong obsession with flying. He was to spend the next four years in the deadly cut-and-thrust of aerial dogfights over France and Italy, collecting a chestful of medals, and a reputation as one of the Great War's leading aces. He would hone his skills in an array of aircraft, and as the war reaches its climax, he must undergo one final test in order to emerge victorious. And with his life intact. A love letter to aviation, perfect for fans of W. E. Johns and Wilbur Smith.