Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Sophia McDougall - Author

About the Author

Sophia McDougall studied English at Oxford. Romanitas  is her first novel.

Featured books by Sophia McDougall

Other books by Sophia McDougall

Blake's 7 - The Spoils of War

Blake's 7 - The Spoils of War

Author: Sophia McDougall, George Mann, Nigel Fairs Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 31/08/2017

This self contained four-story set is the latest Big Finish Blake's 7 release, accompanying two complete series of full-cast adventures, and the award-winning range of Blake's 7 - Liberator Chronicles volumes. The stories are set within the third BBC TV series, as Paul Darrow's Avon begins to cement his place as the leader of the anti-heroes on their stolen alien ship. Liberation by Steve Lyons. In the aftermath of the Galactic War, everything has changed for Blake's former associates. Having lost their leader, they are forced to work with new allies - people they can't trust. And that may just get all of them killed. Outpost by Christopher Cooper. Tarrant and Vila are on a mission to the abandoned outpost Clivian 410B when a Federation taskforce attacks. The wary crewmates must learn to work together if they stand any chance of staying alive. Close Enough by Sophia McDougall. When the crew of the Liberator are lured into a trap, it's Avon's life - and the freedom of the galaxy - that hang in the balance, while Cally regains something she thought she had lost forever. Solus by George Mann. When the Liberator responds to a distress call from the Solus research station, Avon is hoping to find something valuable he can salvage. Instead, he finds only one survivor amongst the wreckage: President Servalan. Blake's 7 proves to be one of Big Finish's most popular ranges, with fans of the original late 1970s BBC1 series enjoying many of the TV actors returning to their roles. Yasmin Bannerman (Doctor Who, Merseybeat) has been cast as Dayna Mellanby, a character originally played by Josette Simon. CAST: Paul Darrow (Kerr Avon), Michael Keating (Vila Restal), Jan Chappell (Cally), Steven Pacey (Del Tarrant), Jacqueline Pearce (Servalan), Yasmin Bannerman (Dayna Mellanby), Alistair Lock (Zen/Orac), Sara Powell (Rokon), Stephen Boxer (Tarkol), Daniel Collard (Aqulia / Guard #1 / Guard #2), Sophia Hannides (Shuuna), Tracy Wiles (Valance / Roska), Keith Drinkel (Kaverin), Charlotte Watson (Imra).

Space Hostages

Space Hostages

Author: Sophia McDougall Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/07/2015

The second book in this interstellar adventure series, perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Artemis Fowl. You can't cry in space. But I was giving it a good go. After all, I'd just been THROWN OUT OF AN AIRLOCK by a horde of ALIENS and had about three minutes left to live. So you can't blame me for trying. But as it turned out, that was just the start of my adventures . . . Because very soon it became clear that if I was ever going to get back home, not only would I have to NOT DIE, but me, my friends and our floating robot goldfish would have to SAVE THE WORLD. No, scrap that. THREE WORLDS. All at the same time. Easy, right? Praise for Mars Evacuees: *`Read this book. If the gods of publishing are at all fair it will be popular and well-known, discussed and debated and re-enacted (well, some bits of it) up and down the country' The Book Bag *`Written with a deft and light hand, it is awesomely funny, and detailed, and HILARIOUS' The Book Smugglers *`A fresh, fast-paced space romp' Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books

Savage City

Savage City

Author: Sophia McDougall Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/03/2012

Imagine a world in which Rome never fell. Now the Empire stretches across the Atlantic, slaves are constructing a giant bridge over the Persian Gulf, and magnetic railways span the globe. But tensions within and without are about to change the face of the earth. Marcus Novius is caught in a massive explosion at the Coliseum which kills his uncle the emperor ... making Marcus, his heir, the new leader of the Roman Empire. Marcus, the healer Sulien and Una, his sister - and Marcus' own love - have been together through thick and thin, fighting for freedom, fighting for their lives, fighting for justice, and Marcus' ascension to Roman throne was supposed to be the start of something magnificent ... But Marcus is horribly wounded himself in the explosion, and Sulien is having problems fighting his way through the terrible devastation to be at his friend's - his emperor's - side. And it's not long before Sulien and Una realise life will never be the same again, for the Roman Empire is about to face its most dangerous enemy ...

Rome Burning

Rome Burning

Author: Sophia McDougall Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/04/2011

The present day but a very different one to the world we know ... The Roman Empire stretches across the Atlantic and far into Asia, yet it is an unstable time. Strange fires burn out of control; the Emperor falls suddenly ill, and a massacre in the shadow of the Great Wall of Terranova brings the world to the brink of a global war. At this critical time, three years after a conspiracy against his life forced him into hiding, the young heir to the throne Marcus Novius must take command of the greatest power on Earth. But his ambitious cousin Drusus - spurred on by a riddling Sybilline prophecy - threatens this last chance to avoid a world conflict, and Una, a former slave whose love for Marcus seems out of place at the Roman court, is drawn into the political intrigue and a dangerous enmity. Though many of Marcus' friends and supporters are scattered, he can rely on the driven, sharp-witted Una, her idealistic brother Sulien, now working to relieve the suffering of slaves, and Varius, wounded and disillusioned by the past but still committed to the vision of a better Rome. But even these three will find their lives at risk and their loyalties tested, as they encounter unforeseen conflicts and the manoeuvrings of shadowy forces. Both within the Empire and far beyond its borders, simmering tensions are starting to reach boiling point ...