LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Jo Jakeman - Author

About the Author

Jo Jakeman was the winner of the Friday Night Live 2016 competition at the York Festival of Writing. Born in Cyprus, she worked for many years in the City of London before moving to Derbyshire with her husband and twin boys. Sticks and Stones is her debut thriller. Find out more at www.jojakeman.com.

Featured books by Jo Jakeman

Other books by Jo Jakeman

Safe House

Safe House

Author: Jo Jakeman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/01/2021

SHE LIED TO PROTECT A KILLER. NOW THERE'S NOWHERE LEFT TO HIDE. . . 'Suffused with menace' Sunday Mirror 'You'll be gripped' Heat The morning after a great storm, a woman arrives in a remote Cornish village. But Charlie, as she now calls herself, steers clear of the locals and keeps a low profile - because she has a terrible secret. Recently released from prison after providing a false alibi for the man she loved, Charlie wants to move on and start afresh. But someone, somewhere, is watching her, determined that she will never get that second chance. Perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Alex Michaelides and Harriet Tyce 'An excellent, page-turning psychological suspense novel . . . Kept me guessing to the end' Jenny Quintana, author of The Missing Girl 'Clever plotting, a hugely confident sense of place, and more suspects than you can shake a stick at' Caz Frear, bestselling author of Sweet Little Lies 'Revenge is a dish served with lashings of relish in this vivid, blackly comic suspense novel' Louise Candlish on Sticks and Stones

Safe House

Safe House

Author: Jo Jakeman Format: Hardback Release Date: 31/10/2019

NOT EVERYONE DESERVES A SECOND CHANCE . . . 'An excellent, page-turning psychological suspense novel . . . Kept me guessing to the end' Jenny Quintana, author of The Missing Girl 'Gripping, tense and chillingly claustrophobic' Karen Hamilton, author of The Perfect Girlfriend 'I was absolutely gripped by this tale of secrets, lies, and the impossibility of running away from your past. I struggled to put this book down. Fantastic!' Luca Veste, author of The Bone Keeper The morning after a terrible storm, a woman turns up in a remote Cornish village. She calls herself Charlie, but it's a name she's only had for a few days. She keeps herself to herself, reluctant to integrate with the locals. Because Charlie has a secret. Charlie was in prison for providing a false alibi for a murderer. But Lee Fisher wasn't a murderer to her; he was the man she loved. Convinced of his innocence, Charlie said she was with him the night a young woman was killed. This sacrifice cost her everything. And now she has a chance to start again. But someone is watching her, waiting for her, wondering if she's really paid the price for what she did. 'Nerve-wrackingly tense and paranoia-inducing, with a sense of unease that just won't let go. I loved every minute!' Roz Watkins, author of Dead Man's Daughter 'Twisty and so well plotted' Amanda Reynolds, author of The Hidden Wife 'Atmospheric and beautifully written but edge-of-your-seat tense too' Phoebe Locke, author of The July Girls

Safe House

Safe House

Author: Jo Jakeman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/10/2019

NOT EVERYONE DESERVES A SECOND CHANCE . . . A gripping and deliciously twisty new psychological thriller from Jo Jakeman. The morning after a terrible storm, a woman turns up in a remote Cornish village. She calls herself Charlie, but it's a name she's only had for a few days. She keeps herself to herself, reluctant to integrate with the locals. Because Charlie has a secret. Charlie was in prison for providing a false alibi for a murderer. But Lee Fisher wasn't a murderer to her; he was the man she loved. Convinced of his innocence, Charlie said she was with him the night a young woman was killed. This sacrifice cost her everything. And now she has a chance to start again. But someone is watching her, waiting for her, wondering if she's really paid the price for what she did. Praise for Jo Jakeman: 'Revenge is a dish served with lashings of relish in this vivid, blackly comic suspense novel' Louise Candlish on Sticks and Stones

Sticks and Stones

Sticks and Stones

Author: Jo Jakeman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/05/2019

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BEST REVENGE THRILLER IN THE DEAD GOOD READER AWARDS 2019 HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO GET REVENGE ON YOUR EX? 'Gripping' Laura Marshall, author of Friend Request 'I couldn't turn the pages quickly enough' Fiona Cummins, author of The Neighbour 'Deliciously dark' Emily Koch, author of If I Die Before I Wake Imogen's husband is a bad man. His ex-wife and his new mistress might have different perspectives but Imogen knows the truth. When he issues her with an impossible ultimatum, Imogen does something unthinkable, locking her husband in the cellar. But how far will she go to protect her son and punish the man who destroyed her life? And what if she's not the only one out for revenge? A twist-filled, edge-of-your seat psychological thriller that fans of Samantha Downing, Cara Hunter and Lesley Kara will devour.

Sticks and Stones

Sticks and Stones

Author: Jo Jakeman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/07/2018

How far would you go for revenge on your ex? Imogen's husband is a bad man. His ex-wife and his new mistress might have different perspectives but Imogen thinks she knows the truth. And now he's given her an ultimatum: get out of the family home in the next fortnight or I'll fight you for custody of our son. In a moment of madness, Imogen does something unthinkable. Something that puts her in control. But how far will she go to protect her son and punish her husband? And what will happen when his ex and his girlfriend get tangled up in her plans? Sticks and Stones is a deliciously twisting psychological thriller from an exciting new voice.

Sticks and Stones

Sticks and Stones

Author: Jo Jakeman Format: eBook Release Date: 12/07/2018

Random House presents the audiobook edition of Sticks and Stones by Jo Jakeman, read by Erin Shanagher.Imogen's husband is a bad man. His ex-wife and his new mistress might have different perspectives but Imogen thinks she knows the truth. And now he's given her an ultimatum: get out of the family home in the next fortnight or I'll fight you for custody of our son.In a moment of madness, Imogen does something unthinkable: she locks her husband in the cellar. Now she's in control. But how far will she go to protect her son and punish her husband? And what will happen when his ex and his girlfriend get tangled up in her plans?Sticks and Stones is a deliciously twisting psychological thriller from an unforgettable new voice.'A revenge thriller to make you punch the air in solidarity' Eva Dolan, author of This Is How It Ends'A gripping story, sensitively told' Laura Marshall, author of Friend Request'Deliciously dark and gripping' Emily Koch, author of If I Die Before I Wake

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more