LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Elisabeth Carpenter - Author

About the Author

Libby Carpenter lives in Preston with her family. She completed a BA in English Literature and Language with the Open University in 2011. Libby was awarded a Northern Writers' New Fiction award, and was longlisted for Yeovil Literary Prize (2015 and 2016) and the MsLexia Women's Novel award (2015). She loves living in the north of England and sets most of her stories in the area. She currently works as a book keeper. Her first novel, 99 Red Balloons, became a bestseller in 2017.

Featured books by Elisabeth Carpenter

Other books by Elisabeth Carpenter

The Woman Downstairs

The Woman Downstairs

Author: Elisabeth Carpenter Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

'Carpenter emerges as an addictive new talent' Helen Fields Can you ever really know your neighbours? When human remains are found in a ground floor flat, the residents of Nelson Heights are shocked to learn that there was a dead body in their building for over three years. Sarah lives at the flat above and after the remains are found, she feels threatened by a stranger hanging around the building. Laura has lived in the building for as long as she can remember, caring for her elderly father, though there is more to her story than she is letting on. As the investigation starts to heat up, and the two women become more involved, it's clear that someone isn't telling the truth about what went on all those years ago...

Only a Mother A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist

Only a Mother A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist

Author: Elisabeth Carpenter Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/12/2018

'An addictive new talent' Helen FieldsONLY A MOTHER . . . Erica Wright hasn't needed to scrub 'MURDERER' off her house in over a year. Life is almost quiet again. Then her son, Craig, is released from prison, and she knows the quiet is going to be broken. COULD BELIEVE HIM Erica has always believed Craig was innocent - despite the lies she told for him years ago - but when he arrives home, she notices the changes in him. She doesn't recognise her son anymore. COULD LIE FOR HIM So, when another girl goes missing, she starts to question everything. But how can a mother turn her back on her son? And, if she won't, then how far will she go to protect him? COULD BURY THE TRUTH Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Louise Jensen, Katerina Diamond, Helen Fields and CL Taylor - a hard-hitting psychological thriller told from the fresh perspective of a killer's mother. Readers LOVE Elisabeth Carpenter . . . 'I LOVED 99 Red Balloons. What a rollercoaster of a read! I swear, you could almost SEE the moment when everything clicked into place in my head! A brilliant, tense, pacy read' Lisa Hall, bestselling author of Between Me and You 'Breathtaking' . . . 'Kept me enthralled from start to finish' . . . 'I was hooked from the beginning

11 Missed Calls: A gripping psychological suspense book perfect for summer reading

11 Missed Calls: A gripping psychological suspense book perfect for summer reading

Author: Elisabeth Carpenter Format: eBook Release Date: 26/07/2018

Here are two things I know about my mother:1. She had dark hair, like mine. 2. She wasn't very happy at the end.Anna has always believed that her mother, Debbie, died 30 years ago on the night she disappeared.But when her father gets a strange note, she realises that she's never been told the full story of what happened that night on the cliff.Confused and upset, Anna turns to her husband Jack - but when she finds a love letter from another woman in his wallet, she realises there's no-one left to help her, least of all her family.And then a body is found...

99 Red Balloons

99 Red Balloons

Author: Elisabeth Carpenter Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/08/2017

`What a rollercoaster of a read!' LISA HALL, bestselling author of Between You and Me Two girls go missing, decades apart. What would you do if one was your daughter? When eight-year-old Grace goes missing from a sweetshop on the way home from school, her mother Emma is plunged into a nightmare. Her family rallies around, but as the police hunt begins, cracks begin to emerge. What are the secret emails sent between Emma's husband and her sister? Why does her mother take so long to join the search? And is Emma really as innocent as she seems? Meanwhile, ageing widow Maggie Taylor sees Grace's picture in the newspaper. It's a photograph that jolts her from the pain of her existence into a spiralling obsession with another girl - the first girl who disappeared... This is a gripping psychological thriller with a killer twist that will take your breath away. `A wonderfully assured debut about every parent's darkest nightmare - expertly weaving a family's story together with a real sense of tension and some great twists. Highly recommended.' TM Logan, bestselling author of LIES `An intense domestic thriller, twists and turns galore, and a host of family secrets. An absorbing read.' Paul Finch, bestselling author of Strangers `An intelligent, taut and compelling thriller' Sam Carrington, bestselling author of Saving Sophie `Carpenter emerges as an addictive new talent' Helen Fields `The plot is seamless' Amanda Robson, author of Obsession

99 Red Balloons

99 Red Balloons

Author: Elisabeth Carpenter, Libby Carpenter Format: eBook Release Date: 24/08/2017

Two girls go missing, decades apart. What would you do if one was your daughter?Eight-year-old Grace is last seen in a sweetshop. Her mother Emma is living a nightmare. But as her loved ones rally around her, cracks begin to emerge. What are the emails sent between her husband and her sister? Why does her mother take so long to join the search? And is there more to the disappearance of her daughter than meets the eye?Meanwhile, ageing widow Maggie Taylor sees a familiar face in the newspaper. A face that jolts her from the pain of her existence into a spiralling obsession with another girl the first girl who disappeared.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more