Jenny McLachlan - Author

About the Author

Before Jenny started writing books for teenagers, she was an English teacher. Although she loved teaching funny teenagers (and stealing the things they said and putting them in her books) she now gets to write about them full-time. In her spare time, just like Bea, the heroine in her first novel, Flirty Dancing, Jenny loves to jive. She is based in Eastbourne. www.jennymclachlan.com

Featured books by Jenny McLachlan

Other books by Jenny McLachlan

Zoom to the Moon: A Bloomsbury Young Reader

Zoom to the Moon: A Bloomsbury Young Reader

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/11/2018

On a school trip to the space museum, Reva and Bobby climb into a real rocket named Jupiter Two. The poor rocket has never been into space so when Reva and Bobby count down and press a big red button, Jupiter Two bursts into life. Soon Reva and Bobby are on their way to the moon! This extraordinary and imaginative adventure from well-loved author Jenny McLachlan is perfect for children who are learning to read by themselves and for Key Stage 1. It features engaging illustrations from Andy Rowland and quirky characters young readers will find hard to resist. Bloomsbury Young Readers are the perfect way to get children reading, with book-banded stories by brilliant authors like Julia Donaldson. They are packed with gorgeous colour illustrations and include inside cover notes to help adults reading with children, as well as ideas for activities related to the stories. Book Band: Lime Ideal for ages 6+

Pet Quest: A Bloomsbury Young Reader

Pet Quest: A Bloomsbury Young Reader

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: Paperback Release Date: 18/10/2018

All Harvey wants is a pet, yet his dad says that their flat is too small. But surely it's big enough for a slimy slug, or a hairy spider, or even an ant called Teeny, right? Will Harvey ever find a pet small enough? This exciting and humorous story from well-loved author Jenny McLachlan is perfect for children who are learning to read by themselves and for Key Stage 1. It features engaging illustrations by Sarah Hoyle and characters young readers will find hard to resist. Bloomsbury Young Readers are the perfect way to get children reading, with book-banded stories by brilliant authors like Julia Donaldson. They are packed with gorgeous colour illustrations and include inside cover notes to help adults reading with children, as well as ideas for activities related to the stories. Book Band: White Ideal for Ages 6+

Reading Planet - The Jumpy Bumpy Feeling - Orange: Galaxy

Reading Planet - The Jumpy Bumpy Feeling - Orange: Galaxy

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/09/2018

Galaxy reading books are a wonderful collection of fiction, non-fiction, poetry and plays to capture the interest of every child, helping to develop a life-long love of reading. Flora is very excited about going on a camping trip with Mum. Lots of things about the trip are great during the daytime, but as bedtime approaches, Flora notices how many things are different to being at home and she gets a jumpy bumpy feeling inside!

Reading Planet - The Quack in the Kitchen - Yellow: Galaxy

Reading Planet - The Quack in the Kitchen - Yellow: Galaxy

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/09/2018

Galaxy reading books are a wonderful collection of fiction, non-fiction, poetry and plays to capture the interest of every child, helping to develop a life-long love of reading. Minu likes to visit the pond in the park to look at the ducklings, but one day she notices that her cat, Socks, is interested in the ducklings, too! Can Minu help to keep the ducklings safe?

Truly, Wildly, Deeply

Truly, Wildly, Deeply

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 08/03/2018

Annie is starting college. It's the start of a new adventure and Annie's not going to let anyone or anything get in the way of that. She has cerebral palsy and she's had to fight hard to get the world to see her for who she truly is. Then she meets Fab. He's six foot two, Polish and he's wildly drawn to her. As things go deeply wrong, Annie sets out to win his heart with a romantic gesture of truly epic proportions!

Stargazing for Beginners

Stargazing for Beginners

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/04/2017

Science geek Meg is left to look after her little sister for ten days after her free-spirited mum leaves suddenly to follow up yet another of her Big Important Causes. But while Meg may understand how the universe was formed, baby Elsa is a complete mystery to her. And Mum's disappearance has come at the worst time: Meg is desperate to win a competition to get the chance to visit NASA headquarters, but to do this she has to beat close rival Ed. Can Meg pull off this double life of caring for Elsa and following her own dreams? She'll need a miracle of cosmic proportions ... Fans fell in love with the warmth, wit, romance and fierce friendships in Flirty Dancing, Love Bomb, Sunkissed and Star Struck, and Stargazing for Beginners has all that and galaxies more. This is the best kind of real-life fiction - with big themes and irresistible characters, it goes straight to your heart.

Star Struck

Star Struck

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: Paperback Release Date: 10/03/2016

Following on from Flirty Dancing, Love Bomb and Sunkissed, Jenny McLachlan's next book is perfect for fans of Geek Girl and Louise Rennison. A spotlight shines down on the two of us and everyone drifts into the shadows... Pearl is destined to be the star of this year's school musical. Being the lead is all she wants - especially as it means kissing super-hot Jake Flower. Then a new girl walks into the audition... Hoshi can sing, she's an amazing dancer and she's seriously cute. Before Pearl knows it, she's stolen her part, her friends and Jake's attention! But this girl doesn't know who she's messing with. Pearl's used to battling every day and she's not going down without a fight. Sparks are going to fly!

Love Bomb

Love Bomb

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/02/2016

Betty Plum has never been in love. She's never even kissed a boy. But when H.O.T. Toby starts school it's like Betty has been hit with a thousand of Cupid's arrows. It's like a bomb has exploded - a love bomb! More than ever Betty wishes her mum hadn't died when Betty was a baby. She really needs her mum here to ask her advice. And that's when she finds hidden letters for just these moments. Letters about what your first kiss should feel like and what real love is all about ... Is Betty ready to fall in love? Will she finally have her first kiss?

Flirty Dancing

Flirty Dancing

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/01/2016

Bea Hogg is shy but fiery inside. When national dance competition Starwars comes to her school looking for talent, she wants to sign up. It's just a shame her best friend agreed to enter with school super-cow Pearl Harris. Bea will fight back! But when school hottie, Ollie Matthews, who also happens to be Pearl's boyfriend, decides to enter the competition with Bea, she will have more than a fight on her hands. This warm, nuanced, hilarious story about friendship, fortitude and dancing is impossible not to fall in love with. Jenny's voice is fresh and convincing, and she handles both darker and lighter elements of the story with equal panache.

Sunkissed

Sunkissed

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: Paperback Release Date: 13/08/2015

Following on from Flirty Dancing and Love Bomb, Jenny McLachlan's next book is perfect summer holiday reading for fans of Geek Girl and Louise Rennison. Kat can't believe her family are sending her to Sweden for the summer. But without her friends, or even a phone signal, can Kat make it on her own? In a land of saunas, nudity and summer sun, Kat soon realises she has nowhere to hide. It's time to embrace who she really is, underneath what she's been thinking people want her to be. Especially if she's going to win the heart of mega fit Swede Leo! Can Kat find her inner strength and prove she's got what it takes? Kat soon finds that when you're surrounded by phosphorescence and wonder it's easy to sparkle. Or maybe that's what happens when you fall in love ... Or maybe you only shine when you're true to yourself.

Flirty Dancing

Flirty Dancing

Author: Jenny McLachlan Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/07/2014

Bea Hogg is shy but fiery inside. When national dance competition Starwars comes to her school looking for talent, she wants to sign up. It's just a shame her best friend agreed to enter with school super-cow Pearl Harris. Bea will fight back! But when school hottie, Ollie Matthews, who also happens to be Pearl's boyfriend, decides to enter the competition with Bea, she will have more than a fight on her hands. This warm, nuanced, hilarious story about friendship, fortitude . . . and dancing is impossible not to fall in love with. Jenny's voice is fresh and convincing, and she handles both darker and lighter elements of the story with equal panache.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more