Brad Parks - Author

About the Author

Brad Parks received the Shamus (Best Private Eye) and Nero (Best American Mystery) for his debut novel, Faces of the Gone, the first book to take both awards. For subsequent books in his Carter Ross series he won a Lefty and a further Shamus (Best Hardcover Novel). Before starting his career as a novelist, Parks spent a dozen years as a reporter for the the Washington Post and The (Newark, N.J.) Star-Ledger.

Featured books by Brad Parks

Say Nothing

Say Nothing

Author: Brad Parks Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/03/2017

On a normal Wednesday afternoon, Judge Scott Sampson is preparing to pick up his six-year-old twins for their weekly swim. His wife Alison texts him with a change of plan: she has to take them to the doctor instead. So Scott heads home early. But when Alison arrives back later, she is alone - no Sam, no Emma - and denies any knowledge of the text ...The phone then rings: an anonymous voice tells them that the Judge must do exactly what he is told in an upcoming drug case and, most importantly, they must 'say nothing'. So begins this powerful, tense breakout thriller about a close-knit young family plunged into unimaginable horror. As a twisting game of cat and mouse ensues, they know that one false move could lose them their children for ever.

Other books by Brad Parks

Closer Than You Know

Closer Than You Know

Author: Brad Parks Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/03/2018

Disaster, Melanie Barrick was once told, is always closer than you know. It was a lesson she learned the hard way growing up in the constant upheaval of foster care. But now that she's survived into adulthood - with a loving husband, a steady job, and a beautiful baby boy - she thought that turmoil was behind her. Until the evening she goes to pick up her son from childcare, only to discover he's been removed by Social Services. And no one will say why. A terrifying scenario for any parent, it's doubly so for Melanie, all too aware of the unintended horrors of 'the system'. When she arrives home, her nightmare gets worse - it has been raided by Sheriff's deputies, who have found enough cocaine to send her to prison for years. If Melanie can't prove her innocence, she'll lose her son forever. Her case is assigned to Amy Kaye, a no-nonsense assistant Commonwealth's attorney. Amy's boss wants to make an example out of Melanie, who the local media quickly christens 'Coke Mom'. But Amy's attention continues to be diverted by a cold case no one wants her to pursue: a serial rapist who has avoided detection by wearing a mask and whispering his commands. Over the years, he has victimized dozens of women in the area - including Melanie. Now it's this mystery man who could be the key to her salvation. or her ultimate undoing.

Closer Than You Know

Closer Than You Know

Author: Brad Parks Format: eBook Release Date: 13/03/2018

Disaster, Melanie Barrick was once told, is always closer than you know.It was a lesson she learned the hard way growing up in the constant upheaval of foster care. But now that she's survived into adulthood - with a loving husband, a steady job, and a beautiful baby boy - she thought that turmoil was behind her. Until the evening she goes to pick up her son from childcare, only to discover he's been removed by Social Services. And no one will say why. A terrifying scenario for any parent, it's doubly so for Melanie, all too aware of the unintended horrors of 'the system'. When she arrives home, her nightmare gets worse - it has been raided by Sheriff's deputies, who have found enough cocaine to send her to prison for years. If Melanie can't prove her innocence, she'll lose her son forever. Her case is assigned to Amy Kaye, a no-nonsense assistant Commonwealth's attorney. Amy's boss wants to make an example out of Melanie, who the local media quickly christens 'Coke Mom'. But Amy's attention continues to be diverted by a cold case no one wants her to pursue: a serial rapist who has avoided detection by wearing a mask and whispering his commands. Over the years, he has victimized dozens of women in the area - including Melanie. Now it's this mystery man who could be the key to her salvation. or her ultimate undoing.

Closer Than You Know

Closer Than You Know

Author: Brad Parks Format: eBook Release Date: 06/03/2018

Brad Parks delivers a riveting, emotionally powerful stand-alone domestic suspense thriller perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and What She Knew.Disasteris always closer than you know.It was a lesson Melanie Barrick learned the hard way growing up in the constant upheaval of foster care. But now that she's survived into adulthoodwith a loving husband, a steady job, and a beautiful baby boy named Alexshe thought that turmoil was behind her.Until one Tuesday evening when she goes to pick up Alex from childcare only to discover he's been removed by Social Services. And no one will say why. It's a terrifying scenario for any parent, but doubly so for Melanie, who knows the unintended horrors of what everyone coldly calls ';the system.'Her nightmare grows worse when she arrives home to learn her house has been raided by sheriff's deputies, who have found enough cocaine to send Melanie to prison for years. The evidence against her is overwhelming, and if Melanie can't prove her innocence, she'll lose Alex forever.Meanwhile, assistant commonwealth's attorney Amy Kayewho has been assigned Melanie's casehas her own troubles. She's been dogged by a cold case no one wants her to pursue: a serial rapist who has avoided detection by wearing a mask and whispering his commands. Over the years, he has victimized dozens of women.Including Melanie. Yet now her attacker might be the key to her salvation... or her undoing.

Nicht ein Wort

Nicht ein Wort

Author: Brad Parks Format: eBook Release Date: 22/02/2018

"e;Fans von Harlan Coben werden diesen Thriller lieben."e; Library JournalEr ist Richter. Er liebt seine Familie. Das wissen auch die, die seine Kinder entfuhrt haben. Damit er ein falsches Urteil spricht. Wird er Recht sprechen oder das Leben seiner Kinder retten? Wie weit wird er gehen? Kurzbeschreibung Es hatte ein normaler Mittwochnachmittag werden sollen, an dem Bundesrichter Scott Sampson seine beiden Kinder Sam und Emma zum Schwimmen begleiten wurde. Doch dann erreicht ihn eine SMS seiner Frau, die besagt, dass sie die beiden von der Schule abholt. Als Alison spater nach Hause kommt, sind die Kinder nicht bei ihr. Und sie hat auch keine SMS geschrieben. Stattdessen klingelt das Telefon. "e;Ihre Kinder sind in unserer Gewalt!"e; sagt eine Stimme. Wenn Scott sie wiedersehen will, hat er genaue Instruktionen in einem Drogenfall zu befolgen, der am nachsten Tag verhandelt werden soll. Plotzlich steht das Schicksal seiner gesamten Familie auf dem Spiel, und Scott Sampson muss die schwerste Entscheidung seines Lebens treffen: Wird er Recht sprechen oder seine Familie retten?Ein unglaublich aufwuhlender und intensiver Thriller, der jedem Leser unter die Haut geht.

Say Nothing

Say Nothing

Author: Brad Parks Format: eBook Release Date: 07/03/2017

';The work of an author who continues to raise his sights and refine his immense talent.'Richmond Times-Dispatch';Terrific book. Truly terrific. Tension throughout and tears at the end.'Sue GraftonNamed both aLibrary Journaland aKirkusBest Book of 2017. Judge Scott Sampson doesn't brag about having a perfect life, but the evidence is clear: A prestigious job. A loving marriage. A pair of healthy children. Then a phone call begins every parent's most chilling nightmare. Scott's six-year-old twins, Sam and Emma, have been taken. The judge must rule exactly as instructed in a drug case he is about to hear. If he refuses, the consequences for the children will be dire. For Scott and his wife Alison, the kidnapper's call is only the beginning of a twisting, gut-churning ordeal of blackmail, deceit, and terror. Through it all, they will stop at nothing to get their children back, no matter the cost to themselves...or to each other.';Complications and twists build to an unexpected climax that is both perfect and gut-wrenching.'Library Journal (starred review) ';Grips the reader from the get-go and doesn't let up until the final twist.'Associated Press

Say Nothing

Say Nothing

Author: Brad Parks Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/03/2017

On a normal Wednesday afternoon, Judge Scott Sampson is preparing to pick up his six-year-old twins for their weekly swim. His wife Alison texts him with a change of plan: she has to take them to the doctor instead. So Scott heads home early. But when Alison arrives back later, she is alone - no Sam, no Emma - and denies any knowledge of the text ...The phone then rings: an anonymous voice tells them that the Judge must do exactly what he is told in an upcoming drug case and, most importantly, they must 'say nothing'. So begins this powerful, tense breakout thriller about a close-knit young family plunged into unimaginable horror. As a twisting game of cat and mouse ensues, they know that one false move could lose them their children for ever.

Say Nothing

Say Nothing

Author: Brad Parks Format: eBook Release Date: 02/03/2017

On a normal Wednesday afternoon, Judge Scott Sampson is preparing to pick up his six-year-old twins for their weekly swim. His wife Alison texts him with a change of plan: she has to take them to the doctor instead. So Scott heads home early. But when Alison arrives back later, she is alone - no Sam, no Emma - and denies any knowledge of the text . . .The phone then rings: an anonymous voice tells them that the Judge must do exactly what he is told in an upcoming drug case and, most importantly, they must 'say nothing'.So begins this powerful, tense breakout thriller about a close-knit young family plunged into unimaginable horror. As a twisting game of cat and mouse ensues, they know that one false move could lose them their children for ever.Hugely suspenseful - with its fascinating insight into the US judicial system and its politics of influence and nepotism - Say Nothing is, above all, the poignant story of the terror these parents face, and their stop-at-nothing compulsion to get their children back.

Nightgown

Nightgown

Author: Brad Parks Format: eBook Release Date: 06/03/2012

Shamus and Nero award-winning author Brad Parks takes readers back to the beginning of investigative reporter Carter Ross's career with this intriguing prequel short story.Only 24 years old and still a wide-eyed reporter for a tiny backwater newspaper, Ross is getting his crack at the big leagues with an interview at New Jersey's largest paper, The Eagle-Examiner. If-that is-he nails the interview and the on-the-spot writing test. Ross has never had a problem spinning a story, but provided with notes he didn't take and quotes he didn't hear it feels flat, and he's not so sure about his chances. So when a car crashes into a building in a nearby town and Carter overhears the assignments editor complaining that there's no one left in the building whom she can send out to cover the story, Carter jumps at the chance and quickly finds himself dangerously close to being in over his head in "e;The Nightgown,"e; another stellar addition to Brad Parks's acclaimed mystery series.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more