Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Merryn Allingham - Author

About the Author

Merryn Allingham was born into an army family and spent her childhood on the move. Unsurprisingly, it gave her itchy feet and in her twenties she escaped from an unloved secretarial career to work as cabin crew and see the world. The arrival of marriage, children and cats meant a more settled life in the south of England where she's lived ever since. It also gave her the opportunity to go back to 'school' and eventually teach at university. Merryn has always loved books that bring the past to life, so when she began writing herself the novels had to be historical. She finds the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries fascinating eras to research and her first book, The Crystal Cage, had as its background the London of 1851. The Daisy's War trilogy followed, set in India and London during the 1930s and 40s. Her latest novels explore two pivotal moments in the history of Britain. The Buttonmaker's Daughter is set in Sussex in the summer of 1914 as the First World War looms ever nearer and its sequel, The Secret of Summerhayes, forty years later in the summer of 1944 when D Day led to eventual victory in the Second World War. Along with the history, of course, there is plenty of mystery and romance to keep readers intrigued. If you would like to keep in touch with Merryn, sign up for her newsletter at www.merrynallingham.com

Featured books by Merryn Allingham

Other books by Merryn Allingham

The Buttonmaker's Daughter

The Buttonmaker's Daughter

Author: Merryn Allingham Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2018

May, 1914. Nestled in Sussex, the Summerhayes mansion seems the perfect country idyll. But with a long-running feud in the Summers family and tensions in Europe deepening, Summerhayes' peaceful days are numbered. For Elizabeth Summer, the lazy quiet of her home has become stifling. A chance meeting with Aiden Kellaway, an architect's assistant, offers the secret promise of escape. But to secure her family's future, Elizabeth must marry well. A man of trade falls far from her father's uncompromising standards. As the sweltering heat of 1914 builds to a storm, Elizabeth faces a choice between family loyalty and an uncertain future with the man she loves. One thing is definite: this summer will change everything.

Secret of Summerhayes

Secret of Summerhayes

Author: Merryn Allingham Format: eBook Release Date: 27/07/2017

A war-torn summerA house fallen into ruinA family broken apart by scandal...Summer 1944: Bombed out by the blitz, Bethany Merston takes up a post as companion to elderly Alice Summer, last remaining inhabitant of the dilapidated and crumbling Summerhayes estate. Now a shadow of its former glory; most of the rooms have been shut up, the garden is overgrown and the whole place feels as unwelcoming as the family themselves.Struggling with the realities of war, Alice is plagued by anonymous letters and haunting visions of her old household. At first, Beth tries to convince her it's all in her mind but soon starts to unravel the mysteries surrounding the aristocratic family's past.An evocative and captivating tale, The Secret of Summerhayes tells of dark secrets, almost-forgotten scandals and a household teetering on the edge of ruin.

Buttonmaker's Daughter

Buttonmaker's Daughter

Author: Merryn Allingham Format: eBook Release Date: 12/01/2017

May, 1914. Nestled in Sussex, the Summerhayes mansion seems the perfect country idyll. But with a long-running feud in the Summers family and tensions in Europe deepening, Summerhayes' peaceful days are numbered.For Elizabeth Summer, the lazy quiet of her home has become stifling. A chance meeting with Aiden Kellaway, an architect's assistant, offers the secret promise of escape. But to secure her family's future, Elizabeth must marry well. A man of trade falls far from her father's uncompromising standards.As the sweltering heat of 1914 builds to a storm, Elizabeth faces a choice between family loyalty and an uncertain future with the man she loves.One thing is definite: this summer will change everything.

Daisy's Long Road Home

Daisy's Long Road Home

Author: Merryn Allingham Format: Paperback Release Date: 27/08/2015

All she's ever wanted is a place to call home 1948: Daisy Driscoll is working as a qualified Sister in Brighton. The war may be over, but Daisy's heart is in turmoil. Abandoned in childhood and haunted by the experience of her first marriage, Daisy no longer trusts anyone. Convinced the roots of her identity lie in India, and desperate to find the truth, Daisy leaps at the chance to leave her lonely life behind when her friend Grayson Harte travels to the East on business. As she uncovers long-hidden secrets about the family she never knew, will she be able to put the past behind her and find happiness after all? The heart-warming final book in the bestselling Daisy's War series - perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Kitty Neale and Nadine Dorries. The Daisy's War trilogy: The Girl from Cobb Street - Book 1 The Nurse's War - Book 2 Daisy's Long Road Home - Book 3 Each story in the Daisy's War series can be read and enjoyed as a standalone story - or as part of this compelling trilogy charting the fortunes of Daisy Driscoll.

The Nurse's War

The Nurse's War

Author: Merryn Allingham Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/05/2015

Working round the clock for her country 1941: As a nurse in the rubble-strewn East end of London, Daisy Driscoll is a first-hand witness to the trauma of the Second World War. All she can do during the Blitz is to protect herself - and do her best to help others survive. The cacophony of guns and bombs assailing the dark empty streets of London are now the soundtrack to her life. Yet this isn't the only war Daisy is fighting - there's a battlefield in her heart as she deals with her husband's cruel betrayal. As Daisy tries to forge a new life without him, she is determined not to become dependent on another man - but first she must face her very deepest fears... The Nurse's War is the unforgettable sequel to The Girl from Cobb Street by Merryn Allingham. A heart-warming story for fans of Katie Flynn, Kitty Neale and Nadine Dorries. The Daisy's War trilogy: The Girl from Cobb Street - Book 1 The Nurse's War - Book 2 Daisy's Long Road Home - Book 3 Each story in the Daisy's War series can be read and enjoyed as a standalone story - or as part of this compelling trilogy charting the fortunes of Daisy Driscoll.

The Girl From Cobb Street

The Girl From Cobb Street

Author: Merryn Allingham Format: Paperback Release Date: 29/01/2015

She longed for a family of her own... Growing up in an orphanage on East London's Cobb Street, Daisy Driscoll never felt the warm heart of home. Forging her own way in the world, determined Daisy struggles to make ends meet as the country finds itself on the brink of the Second World War. Her fortunes change when she finds solace in the arms of Gerald Mortimer, a handsome cavalry subaltern in the Indian army. Finally, Daisy has found someone to love of her very own. But soon she discovers she's pregnant and fate was never going to give her an easy ride. Gerald is not all he claims to be and, as he leads her along a path of danger and scandal, Daisy must find the strength within herself to get through her darkest hour. For fans of Nadine Dorries, Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee. The Daisy's War trilogy: The Girl from Cobb Street - Book 1 The Nurse's War - Book 2 Daisy's Long Road Home - Book 3 Each story in the Daisy's War series can be read and enjoyed as a standalone story - or as part of this compelling trilogy charting the fortunes of Daisy Driscoll.

Crystal Cage

Crystal Cage

Author: Merryn Allingham Format: eBook Release Date: 01/08/2014

Captivated...or captured?Appearances don't always reveal the truth. Grace Latimer knows this better than most. Illusions of commitment and comfort have her trapped-until bohemian adventurer Nick Heysham charms his way into her world. Commissioned to recover a Great Exhibition architect's missing designs, he persuades her to assist in his research. The mystery of the Crystal Palace seduces Grace, and once she discovers clues about a forbidden Victorian love affair, she's lured into the deep secrets of the past...secrets that resemble her own.As Grace and Nick dig into the elusive architect's illicit, long-untold story, the ghosts of guilt and forbidden passion slip free. And history is bound to repeat itself, unless Grace finds the courage to break free and find a new definition of love....

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more