Angela Slatter - Author

About the Author

Angela Slatter is the award-winning author of the collections The Girl with No Hands and Other Tales, Sourdough and Other Stories, The Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings and Black-Winged Angels, as well as Midnight and Moonshine and The Female Factory (both co-written with Lisa L. Hannett). She has been shortlisted for numerous prestigious prizes, including the Norma K. Hemming Award, and has won the World Fantasy Award, the British Fantasy Award and five Aurealis Awards. Her short stories have appeared widely, including in annual British, Australian and North American Best Of anthologies. Vigil is her first solo novel. Angela lives in Brisbane, Australia with her husband David.

Featured books by Angela Slatter

Other books by Angela Slatter

Restoration Verity Fassbinder Book 3

Restoration Verity Fassbinder Book 3

Author: Angela Slatter Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/08/2018

Walking between the worlds has always been dangerous - but this time V's facing the loss of all she holds dear. Verity Fassbinder thought no boss could be worse than her perfectionist ex-boyfriend - until she grudgingly agreed to work for a psychotic fallen angel. And dealing with a career change not entirely of her own choosing is doing nothing to improve V's already fractious temper. The angel is a jealous - and violent - employer, so she's quit working for the Weyrd Council and sent her family away, for their own safety. Instead of indulging in domestic bliss, she's got to play BFFs with the angel's little spy, Joyce the kitsune assassin . . . and Joyce comes with her own murderous problems. The angel has tasked V with finding two lost treasures, which would be hard enough even without a vengeful Dusana Nadasy on her heels. And Inspector McIntyre won't stop calling: the bodies of Normal women who disappeared decades before are turning up, apparently subjected to Weyrd magics. Angelic demands or not, this isn't something she can walk away from. And the angel is getting impatient for results . . . 'Slatter [has] gone from strength to strength, armed with first-class imagination and first-class storytelling skills' Jeff Vandermeer, bestselling author of the Southern Reach trilogy

Corpselight Verity Fassbinder Book 2

Corpselight Verity Fassbinder Book 2

Author: Angela Slatter Format: Paperback Release Date: 17/05/2018

Watch out, Harry Dresden, Kinsey Milhone and Mercy Thompson: there's a new kick-ass guardian in town and Verity Fassbinder's taking no nonsense from anyone, not even the fox-spirit assassins who are invading Brisbane in this fast-paced sequel to VIGIL. Life in Brisbane is never simple for those who walk between the worlds. Verity's all about protecting her city, but right now that's mostly running surveillance and handling the less exciting cases for the Weyrd Council - after all, it's hard to chase the bad guys through the streets of Brisbane when you're really, really pregnant. 'Verity is the best thing about the book . . . she's a surly, straight-talking, Doc Marten-wearing punchbag who investigates Weyrd-related crime on behalf of the beleaguered normal police' (SFX) An insurance investigation sounds pretty harmless, even if it is for 'Unusual Happenstance'. That's not usually a clause Normals use - it covers all-purpose hauntings, angry genii loci, ectoplasmic home invasion, demonic possession, that sort of thing - but Susan Beckett's claimed three times in three months. Her house keeps getting inundated with mud, but she's still insisting she doesn't need or want help . . . until the dry-land drownings begin. V's first lead in takes her to Chinatown, where she is confronted by kitsune assassins. But when she suddenly goes into labour, it's clear the fox spirits are not going to be helpful. Corpselight, the sequel to Vigil, is the second book in the Verity Fassbinder series by award-winning author Angela Slatter. 'Simply put: Slatter can write! She forces us to recognise the monsters that are ourselves' Jack Dann, award-winning author.

Corpselight Verity Fassbinder Book 2

Corpselight Verity Fassbinder Book 2

Author: Angela Slatter Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/07/2017

Watch out, Harry Dresden, Kinsey Milhone and Mercy Thompson: there's a new kick-ass guardian in town and Verity Fassbinder's taking no nonsense from anyone, not even the fox-spirit assassins who are invading Brisbane in this fast-paced sequel to VIGIL. Life in Brisbane is never simple for those who walk between the worlds. Verity's all about protecting her city, but right now that's mostly running surveillance and handling the less exciting cases for the Weyrd Council - after all, it's hard to chase the bad guys through the streets of Brisbane when you're really, really pregnant. 'Verity is the best thing about the book . . . she's a surly, straight-talking, Doc Marten-wearing punchbag who investigates Weyrd-related crime on behalf of the beleaguered normal police' (SFX) An insurance investigation sounds pretty harmless, even if it is for 'Unusual Happenstance'. That's not usually a clause Normals use - it covers all-purpose hauntings, angry genii loci, ectoplasmic home invasion, demonic possession, that sort of thing - but Susan Beckett's claimed three times in three months. Her house keeps getting inundated with mud, but she's still insisting she doesn't need or want help . . . until the dry-land drownings begin. V's first lead in takes her to Chinatown, where she is confronted by kitsune assassins. But when she suddenly goes into labour, it's clear the fox spirits are not going to be helpful. Corpselight, the sequel to Vigil, is the second book in the Verity Fassbinder series by award-winning author Angela Slatter. 'Simply put: Slatter can write! She forces us to recognise the monsters that are ourselves' Jack Dann, award-winning author.

Vigil Verity Fassbinder Book 1

Vigil Verity Fassbinder Book 1

Author: Angela Slatter Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/07/2017

A rich and exciting new urban fantasy, perfect for fans of Harry Dresden and Peter Grant. Verity Fassbinder has her feet in two worlds. The daughter of one human and one Weyrd parent, she has very little power herself, but does claim unusual strength and the ability to walk between one world and the other as a couple of her talents. A rarity, she is charged with keeping the peace, and ensuring the Weyrd remain hidden. But now Sirens are dying, illegal wine made from the tears of human children is for sale - and in the hands of those who hold to old, dangerous ways - and someone has released an unknown and terrifyingly destructive force on the streets of Brisbane. Verity must investigate, or risk ancient forces carving the world apart. Vigil is the first book in award-winning author Angela Slatter's Verity Fassbinder series. 'Slatter's work is excellent, and eminently readable . . . It's easy to see how she's managed to make such an impact on the genre' - British Fantasy Society

Winter Children

Winter Children

Author: Angela Slatter Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/11/2016

A Feast of Sorrows Stories

A Feast of Sorrows Stories

Author: Angela Slatter Format: Paperback Release Date: 27/09/2016

Angela Slatter's first U.S. collection features twelve of the award-winning Australian author's finest, darkest fairy tales, and adds two new stories to her marvelous cauldron of fiction. Stories peopled by women and girls-fearless, frightened, brave, bold, frail, and fantastical-who take the paths less travelled, accept (and offer) poisoned apples, and embrace transformation in all its forms. Reminiscent of Angela Carter at her best, Slatter's work is both timeless and fresh: fascinating new reflections from the enchanted mirrors of fairy tales and forklore. Includes an introduction by Theodora Goss, author of _The Thorn and the Blossom_.

At the Edge

At the Edge

Author: Angela Slatter Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/05/2016

Finnegan's Field

Finnegan's Field

Author: Angela Slatter Format: eBook Release Date: 13/01/2016

Finnegan's Field by Angela Slatter is a dark fantasy novelette about a six year old child who mysteriously disappears for three years, only to return home just as mysteriously--but not quite the same. At least, not to her mother.At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Mammoth Books presents A Ghostly Gathering

Mammoth Books presents A Ghostly Gathering

Author: Angela Slatter, Mark Morris, Ramsey Campbell, Thana Niveau Format: eBook Release Date: 26/07/2012

The Pier - Thana Niveau"e;The pier exists,"e; explains Thana Niveau, "e;and yes, it is decorated with strange plaques and cryptic memorials, although none are quite as morbid as I've invented."e;It's mostly Clevedon Pier, which is where the story was born. I was reading the plaques one day and a couple of the quirkier ones made me wonder. What if they weren't written by the living to remember the dead at all, but were instead a channel for voices from somewhere else?"e;Somerset is the original Wicker Man country, after all. It's a place rich in pagan tradition and many of its strange rituals are lost to time. Or are they?"e;Fallen Boys - Mark Morris"e;Porthellion Quay, which features in this story, is a real place - only the name is different,"e; says Morris. "e;My family and I spent a lovely, sunny day there one summer a few years ago during a Cornish holiday."e;I love Cornwall not only because it's breathtakingly beautiful, but also because it is wild and rugged and desolate, and because past echoes and ancient legends seem to seep out of the very rock. It's a landscape which lends itself perfectly to the kinds of ghost stories I love, of which it seems there are far too few these days - stories which are not cosy and comforting and familiar, but which are dark and insidious, and evoke a crawling sense of dread."e;Lavender and Lychgates - Angela Slatter"e;'Lavender and Lychgates' is the second last story in Sourdough and Other Stories,"e; recalls Slatter. "e;I had ideas I wanted to continue to explore - consequences of actions in an earlier story in the collection - and I had a picture in my head of a young girl in a graveyard."e;Many years ago, a friend had told me a garbled tale of lilacs and lychgates, the details of which I cannot remember. I managed to garble it even more, and I couldn't get the words 'lavender and lychgates' out of my head, nor the image of shadows swirling in the apex of a lychgate roof above the heads of people passing out underneath. I also wondered what happens when you hang onto a memory too tightly."e;With the Angels - Ramsey Campbell"e;My fellow clansman Paul Campbell will remember the birth of this tale,"e; he reveals. "e;At the Dead Dog party after the 2010 World Horror Convention in Brighton, someone was throwing a delighted toddler into the air. I was ambushed by an idea and had to apologise to Paul for rushing away to my room to scribble notes. The result is here."e;

The Girl With No Hands (and Other Tales)

The Girl With No Hands (and Other Tales)

Author: Angela Slatter Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/08/2010

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.angelaslatter.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more