Andrea Carter - Author

About the Author

Andrea Carter graduated in Law from Trinity College, Dublin. She qualified as a solicitor and moved to the Inishowen peninsula where she lived and worked for a number of years. In 2005 she transferred to the Bar and moved to Dublin to practise as a barrister. She grew up in Ballyfin, Co Laois. Death at Whitewater Church is her first novel.

Featured books by Andrea Carter

Death at Whitewater Church An Inishowen Mystery

Death at Whitewater Church An Inishowen Mystery

Author: Andrea Carter Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/05/2016

When a skeleton is discovered, wrapped in a blanket, in the hidden crypt of a deconsecrated church, everyone is convinced the bones must be those of Conor Devitt, a local man who went missing on his wedding day six years previously. But the post mortem reveals otherwise. Solicitor Benedicta 'Ben' O'Keeffe is acting for the owners of the church, and although an unwelcome face from her past makes her reluctant to get involved initially, when Conor's brother dies in strange circumstances shortly after coming to see her, she finds herself drawn in to the mystery. Whose is the skeleton in the crypt and how did it get there? Is Conor Devitt still alive, and if so is there a link? What happened on the morning of his wedding to make him disappear?

Other books by Andrea Carter

Murder at Greysbridge

Murder at Greysbridge

Author: Andrea Carter Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/10/2018

'Haunting, atmospheric and gripping' John Connolly, New York Times best-selling author 'A beguiling heroine - clever, sympathetic and bearing a weight of guilt' The Times Accident or murder? A perfect day hides the perfect crime . . . Summer has arrived in Inishowen and solicitor Ben O'Keeffe is greatly tempted by a job offer she's received from a law firm in America. Yet before making any life-changing decisions there is her friend Leah's wedding to attend at the newly restored Greysbridge Hotel, with its private beach and beautiful pier. It's the perfect location, everyone agrees, but the festivities are brutally cut short when a young American, a visitor also staying at the hotel, drowns in full view of the wedding guests. And when a second death is discovered the same evening, Ben finds herself embroiled in a real country house murder mystery, where all the guests are suspects . . . Praise for Andrea Carter 'I adored this traditional crime novel; it's modern day Agatha Christie with Ben as Miss Marple' Irish Examiner 'Atmospheric and vivid' Irish Times 'The colourful cast of characters may be fictional, but the landscapes, towns and villages are instantly recognisable' Irish Daily Mail '. . . filled with well-drawn and engaging characters, lyrical descriptions of the stunning scenery, and intriguing mysteries to be unravelled . . . hugely enjoyable . . .' Irish Independent 'A modern day Agatha Christie . . . it builds to a crescendo in a dramatic and highly satisfying close' Books Ireland Magazine 'A proper old-fashioned crime novel in the best sense of the word' Jane Casey

Death at Whitewater Church

Death at Whitewater Church

Author: Andrea Carter Format: eBook Release Date: 04/09/2018

Perfect for fans of Louise Penny, P. D. James, and Donna LeonWhen a skeleton is discovered in the hidden crypt of a deconsecrated church, everyone is convinced the bones must be those of Conor Devitt, a local man who went missing on his wedding day six years previously. But the postmortem reveals otherwise.Solicitor Benedicta "e;Ben"e; O'Keeffe is acting for the owners of the church, and although an unwelcome face from her past makes her reluctant to get involved, when Conor's brother dies in strange circumstances shortly after coming to see her, she finds herself drawn in to the mystery. Whose is the skeleton in the crypt and how did it get there? Is Conor Devitt still alive, and if so, is there a link? What happened on the morning of his wedding to make him disappear?Negotiating between the official investigation-headed up by the handsome but surly Sergeant Tom Molloy-and obstructive locals with secrets of their own, Ben unravels layers of personal and political history to get to the truth of what happened six years before.Death at Whitewater Church is the first in a series of Ben O'Keeffe mysteries set on the Inishowen Peninsula in County Donegal, Ireland.

The Well of Ice

The Well of Ice

Author: Andrea Carter Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/04/2018

'Haunting, atmospheric and gripping' John Connolly, New York Times best-selling author 'A beguiling heroine - clever, sympathetic and bearing a weight of guilt' The Times December in Glendara, Inishowen, and solicitor Benedicta 'Ben' O'Keeffe is working flat out before the holidays. But on a trip to Dublin to visit her parents, she runs into Luke Kirby - the man who killed her sister - freshly released from jail. On the surface he appears remorseful, conciliatory even, but his comment as she walks away makes her realise he is as foul as ever. Back in Glendara, there is chaos. The Oak pub has burned down and Carole Kearney, the Oak's barmaid, has gone missing. And then, while walking the dog up Sliabh Sneacht, Ben and her partner, Sergeant Tom Molloy, make a gruesome discovery: a body lying face down in the snow. Who is behind this vicious attack on Glendara and its residents? Ben tries to find answers, but is she the one in danger? Praise for Andrea Carter 'I adored this traditional crime novel; it's modern day Agatha Christie with Ben as Miss Marple' Irish Examiner 'Atmospheric and vivid' Irish Times 'The colourful cast of characters may be fictional, but the landscapes, towns and villages are instantly recognisable' Irish Daily Mail '. . . filled with well-drawn and engaging characters, lyrical descriptions of the stunning scenery, and intriguing mysteries to be unravelled . . . hugely enjoyable . . .' Irish Independent 'A modern day Agatha Christie . . . it builds to a crescendo in a dramatic and highly satisfying close' Books Ireland Magazine 'A proper old-fashioned crime novel in the best sense of the word' Jane Casey

The Well of Ice

The Well of Ice

Author: Andrea Carter Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/10/2017

December in Glendara, Inishowen, and solicitor Benedicta 'Ben' O'Keeffe is working flat-out before the holidays; the one bright spot on her horizon is spending her first Christmas with Sergeant Tom Molloy. But on a trip to Dublin to visit her parents, she bumps into Luke Kirby - the man who killed her sister - freshly released from jail. He apologises to her; remorseful, conciliatory ... but as she walks away, he whispers something that chills her to the bone. Back in Glendara, there is chaos. The Oak pub has burned down and Carole Kearney, the Oak's barmaid, has gone missing. And then on Christmas morning, while walking up Sliabh Sneacht, Ben and Molloy make a gruesome discovery: a body lying face-down in the snow ... Soon it becomes clear that these events are part of a plan for revenge that will have devastating consequences for Glendara's residents.

Treacherous Strand

Treacherous Strand

Author: Andrea Carter Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/04/2017

'Haunting, atmospheric and gripping' John Connolly, New York Times best-selling author 'A beguiling heroine - clever, sympathetic and bearing a weight of guilt' The Times A woman's body washes up on a remote beach on the Inishowen peninsula. Partially-clothed, with a strange tattoo on her thigh, she is identified as Marguerite Etienne, a French woman who has been living in the area. Solicitor Benedicta 'Ben' O'Keeffe is consumed by guilt; Marguerite was her client, and for the second time in her life Ben has failed someone who needed her, with tragic consequences. So when local Sergeant Tom Molloy dismisses Marguerite's death as the suicide of a disturbed and lonely woman, Ben cannot let it lie. Ben uncovers Marguerite's strange past as a member of a French doomsday cult, which she escaped twenty years previously but not without leaving her baby daughter behind. Disturbed by what appears to be chilling local indifference to Marguerite's death, Ben pieces together the last few weeks of the French woman's life in Inishowen. What she discovers causes her to question the fragile nature of her own position in the area, and she soon finds herself crossing boundaries both personal and professional to unearth local secrets long buried. Praise for Andrea Carter 'I adored this traditional crime novel; it's modern day Agatha Christie with Ben as Miss Marple' Irish Examiner 'Atmospheric and vivid' Irish Times 'The colourful cast of characters may be fictional, but the landscapes, towns and villages are instantly recognisable' Irish Daily Mail '. . . filled with well-drawn and engaging characters, lyrical descriptions of the stunning scenery, and intriguing mysteries to be unravelled . . . hugely enjoyable . . .' Irish Independent 'It's like a modern day Agatha Christie set in a small community with all the alliances, secrets and rivalry such a place can engender. There are enough twists to hold the interest throughout and it builds to a crescendo in a dramatic and highly satisfying close' Books Ireland Magazine

Death at Whitewater Church An Inishowen Mystery

Death at Whitewater Church An Inishowen Mystery

Author: Andrea Carter Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/05/2016

When a skeleton is discovered, wrapped in a blanket, in the hidden crypt of a deconsecrated church, everyone is convinced the bones must be those of Conor Devitt, a local man who went missing on his wedding day six years previously. But the post mortem reveals otherwise. Solicitor Benedicta 'Ben' O'Keeffe is acting for the owners of the church, and although an unwelcome face from her past makes her reluctant to get involved initially, when Conor's brother dies in strange circumstances shortly after coming to see her, she finds herself drawn in to the mystery. Whose is the skeleton in the crypt and how did it get there? Is Conor Devitt still alive, and if so is there a link? What happened on the morning of his wedding to make him disappear?

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more