Tom Toner - Author

About the Author

Thomas N. Toner was born in the English countryside to two parents employed by the BBC (his mother was a set designer for Doctor Who). He studied fine art and painting in Loughborough before moving to Australia to write. He collects giant fossilized shark teeth, and recently returned to London, where he lives with his girlfriend. He is 27 and this is his first novel.

Featured books by Tom Toner

Other books by Tom Toner

The Tropic of Eternity

The Tropic of Eternity

Author: Tom Toner Format: Paperback Release Date: 26/07/2018

'Marvellous . . . a space opera of surpassing gracefulness, depth, complexity, and well, all-round weirdness' Locus Perfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Peter F. Hamilton. It is the 147th century. The mighty era of Homo Sapiens is at an end. In the Westerly Provinces of the Old World, the hunt is on for the young queen Arabis, and the beast that holds her captive. In the brutal hominid Investiture, revolution has come. The warlord Cunctus, having seized the Vulgar worlds, invites every Prism to pick a side. In the Firmament, once the kingdom of the Immortal Amaranthine, all ships converge on the foundry of Gliese. The grandest battle in the history of mammalian kind has begun. Perception, ancient machine spirit, must take back its mortal remains in a contest for the Firmament itself. Ghaldezuel, now the Grand Marshal of Cunctus' new empire, must travel to the deepest lagoon in the Investiture, a place where monsters dwell. Captain Maril, lost amongst the Hedron Stars, finds himself caught between colossal powers the likes of which he'd never dreamt. And for Aaron the Long-Life, he who has waited so very, very long for his revenge, things are only getting started . . . 'Among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years. Granted, you've got to give it your all, but give it that and you'll get all that and more besides back' TOR.COM [The Promise of the Child]

Tropic of Eternity

Tropic of Eternity

Author: Tom Toner Format: eBook Release Date: 24/07/2018

The sequel to the critically acclaimed and ambitious literary space opera debut The Promise of the Child. It is the 147th century. The mighty era of Homo Sapiens is at an end. In the Westerly Provinces of the Old World, the hunt is on for the young queen Arabis, and the vile creature that holds her captive. In the brutal hominid Investiture, revolution has come. The warlord Cunctus, having seized the Vulgar worlds, invites every Prism to pick a side. In the Firmament, once the kingdom of the Immortal Amaranthine, all ships converge on the foundry of Gliese. The grandest battle in the history of mammalian kind has begun. Perception, ancient machine spirit, must take back its mortal remains in a contest for the Firmament itself. Ghaldezuel, now the Grand Marshal of Cunctus' new empire, must travel to the deepest lagoon in the Investiture, a place where monsters dwell. Captain Maril, lost amongst the Hedron Stars, finds himself caught between colossal powers the likes of which hed never dreamt. But for Aaron the Long-Life, he who has waited so very, very long for his revenge, things are only getting started . . .

The Weight of the World

The Weight of the World

Author: Tom Toner Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/11/2017

The sequel to what Tor.com called 'among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years' The universe is in disarray. Rebellions against the immortal Amaranthine are spreading, worlds and moons have fallen, and the Emperor is missing. An ancient being has reawoken and claimed the throne. And the most important invention in the history of time itself has been stolen. And amidst this chaos, lives continue. A pair of sisters and one small child flee across a world they know nothing of. An outcast, hunted by his tormentors, is caught up in the machinations of a petty warlord. An imprisoned AI creates empires of its own in the building to which it is confined, and seeks an escape. Mind-bending Science Fiction from a remarkable new voice 'Toner's richly layered sequel to 2015's The Promise of the Child is a sprawling space opera likely to remind readers of complex works such as Gene Wolfe's Book of the New Sun. It's the 147th century, and numerous varieties of mutant humans, evolved dinosaurs, and alien species vie for control of dozens of planets, moons, and Vaulted Lands (hollowed-out planets with artificial interior suns) spread out over the 23 Solar Satrapies of the Amaranthine Firmament . . . Readers who enjoy a challenge will appreciate both the book's complexities and its beautiful language' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

Weight of the World

Weight of the World

Author: Tom Toner Format: eBook Release Date: 24/01/2017

It is the 147th century; the turning of the Amaranthine new year. In the provinces of the Old World, the giant Elatines war of liberation has come to an impasse, leaving the wicked monarchy of the First in possession of the throne. In the Vaulted Lands of the Firmament, acolytes have risen up to execute their immortal masters. The opportunistic races of the Prism, intoxicated with greed, have arrived inside every Solar Satrapy to scavenge what's left. In the wild Investiture, on a forgotten water moon, a crew of shipwrecked Privateers come face to face with their greatest terror, and with it the most valuable treasure in all the galaxy. Jatropha, legendary Immortal, must escort his precious charge through the exotic Westerly Provinces, knowing all the world would steal her if they could. Sotiris, his mind fading fast, must set out to find his dear, drowned sister in a land previously unglimpsed by anyone but the dead. Lycaste, now far from home, must journey in strange company to the edge of a tempestuous sea, to the lair of someone so dangerous that even the legendary Amaranthine fear his name.

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more