Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Ilka Tampke - Author

About the Author

Ilka Tampke was awarded a Glenfern Fellowship in 2012. Her short stories and articles have been published in several anthologies. She lives in Woodend, Australia. Skin is her first novel.

Click here to read an exclusive 'Ask the Author' interview by Vikki Patis.

 

Author photo © Anna Street

 

 

Featured books by Ilka Tampke

Other books by Ilka Tampke

Songwoman: a stunning historical novel from the acclaimed author of 'Skin'

Songwoman: a stunning historical novel from the acclaimed author of 'Skin'

Author: Ilka Tampke Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/10/2018

A thrilling historical novel and the sequel to the critically acclaimed Skin, perfect for fans of Outlander and Game of Thrones. One woman's quest to defend her culture. Haunted by the Roman attack that destroyed her home, Ailia flees to the remote Welsh mountains in search of the charismatic war king, Caradog, who is leading a guerrilla campaign against the encroaching army. Ailia proves herself an indispensable advisor to the war king, but as the bond between them deepens, she realises the terrible role she must play to save the soul of her country. Set in Iron-Age Britain, Songwoman is a powerful exploration of the ties between people and their land and what happens when they are broken.

Skin: a gripping historical page-turner perfect for fans of Game of Thrones

Skin: a gripping historical page-turner perfect for fans of Game of Thrones

Author: Ilka Tampke Format: eBook Release Date: 25/02/2015

Imagine a world where everyone is born with a 'skin' name. Without skin you cannot learn, you are not permitted to marry, and you grow up an outsider amongst your own people. This is no future dystopia. This is Celtic Britain. It is AD 43. For the Caer Cad, 'skin' name determines lineage and identity. Ailia does not have skin; despite this, she is a remarkable young woman, intelligent, curious and brave. As a dark threat grows on the horizon - the aggressive expansion of the Roman Empire - Ailia must embark on an unsanctioned journey to attain the knowledge that will protect her people, and their pagan way of life, from the most terrifying invaders they have ever faced... and it is this unskinned girl who will come to hold the fate of her people in her hands. SKIN is a standout, full-blooded debut which invokes the mesmerizing, genre-transcending magic of novels such as Jean M. Auel's Clan of the Cavebear; it combines epic storytelling with a strikingly unique plot set during a fascinating period of Britain's history.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://ilkatampke.com.au/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more