LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Rebecca Whitney - Author

About the Author

Rebecca Whitney studied Creative Arts at Nottingham Trent University. After working for a record company she switched to film production, moving up from tea girl to producer, and making music videos and documentaries. Since relocating to Brighton, she has completed the Creative Writing Certificate at Sussex University, and now lives and writes by the sea with her husband and two children. Follow Rebecca: @RebeccaJWhitney

Featured books by Rebecca Whitney

The Liar's Chair

The Liar's Chair

Author: Rebecca Whitney Format: Paperback Release Date: 27/08/2015

Who can she trust If she can't trust herself? Rachel Teller and her husband David appear happy, prosperous and fulfilled. The big house, the successful business ...They have everything. However, control, not love, fuels their relationship and David has no idea his wife indulges in drunken indiscretions. When Rachel kills a man in a hit and run, the meticulously maintained veneer over their life begins to crack. Destroying all evidence of the accident, David insists they continue as normal. Rachel though is racked with guilt and as her behaviour becomes increasingly self-destructive she not only inflames David's darker side, but also uncovers her own long-suppressed memories of shame. Can Rachel confront her past and atone for her terrible crime? Not if her husband has anything to do with it ...A startling, dark and audacious novel set in and around the Brighton streets, The Liar's Chair will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final page has been turned. A stunning psychological portrait of a woman in a toxic marriage, Rebecca Whitney's debut will show that sometimes the darkest shadow holds the truth you have been hiding from ...'A twist-filled tour of a marriage made in hell' Peter Swanson *Perfect for fans of Louise Doughty's Apple Tree Yard*

ebook of the month
The Liar's Chair

The Liar's Chair

Author: Rebecca Whitney Format: Hardback Release Date: 15/01/2015

Rachel Teller and her husband David appear happy, prosperous and fulfilled. The big house, the successful business ...They have everything. However, control, not love, fuels their relationship and David has no idea his wife indulges in drunken indiscretions. When Rachel kills a man in a hit and run, the meticulously maintained veneer over their life begins to crack. Destroying all evidence of the accident, David insists they continue as normal. Rachel though is racked with guilt and as her behaviour becomes increasingly self-destructive she not only inflames David's darker side, but also uncovers her own long-suppressed memories of shame. Can Rachel confront her past and atone for her terrible crime? Not if her husband has anything to do with it ...A startling, dark and audacious novel set in and around the Brighton streets, The Liar's Chair will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final page has been turned. A stunning psychological portrait of a woman in a toxic marriage, Rebecca Whitney's debut will show that sometimes the darkest shadow holds the truth you have been hiding from ...*Perfect for fans of Louise Doughty's Apple Tree Yard*

ebook of the month

Other books by Rebecca Whitney

The Hidden Girls

The Hidden Girls

Author: Rebecca Whitney Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/01/2019

How does the saying go? Just because you're paranoid, it doesn't mean they're not out to get you . . . ? For Ruth, a new mother recovering from postpartum psychosis, every day is difficult and, after months spent hearing voices in the walls and trusting no one, she's no longer confident in her own judgement. Neither, it seems, is anyone else. So, when she hears a scream from the local petrol station one night, she initially decides it must be her mind playing tricks again. The police, too, are polite but firm: she must stop calling them every time she thinks she hears something. And her husband is frustrated: he'd hoped Ruth was getting better at last. Ruth can't quite let it go . . . What if there was a scream? What if it was someone in trouble? Someone who needs Ruth's help? Exploring the dark and isolating side of motherhood, the question at the heart of The Hidden Girls is how much you can help someone else when you can't trust anyone - even yourself . . .

The Liar's Chair

The Liar's Chair

Author: Rebecca Whitney Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 01/01/2016

The Liar's Chair

The Liar's Chair

Author: Rebecca Whitney Format: Paperback Release Date: 27/08/2015

Who can she trust If she can't trust herself? Rachel Teller and her husband David appear happy, prosperous and fulfilled. The big house, the successful business ...They have everything. However, control, not love, fuels their relationship and David has no idea his wife indulges in drunken indiscretions. When Rachel kills a man in a hit and run, the meticulously maintained veneer over their life begins to crack. Destroying all evidence of the accident, David insists they continue as normal. Rachel though is racked with guilt and as her behaviour becomes increasingly self-destructive she not only inflames David's darker side, but also uncovers her own long-suppressed memories of shame. Can Rachel confront her past and atone for her terrible crime? Not if her husband has anything to do with it ...A startling, dark and audacious novel set in and around the Brighton streets, The Liar's Chair will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final page has been turned. A stunning psychological portrait of a woman in a toxic marriage, Rebecca Whitney's debut will show that sometimes the darkest shadow holds the truth you have been hiding from ...'A twist-filled tour of a marriage made in hell' Peter Swanson *Perfect for fans of Louise Doughty's Apple Tree Yard*

ebook of the month

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.rebeccawhitney.co.uk/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more