Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Kate Horsley - Author

About the Author

After years spent unravelling the mysteries of Medieval manuscripts during her PhD at Harvard, Kate Horsley adandoned truth for fiction, returning to the UK to take an MA in creative writing at Lancaster.  Since then, her poems and short stories have been published in several magazines and anthologies and her work has won awards. Kate now teaches at the University of Chester, where she's a Writing Fellow. She lives in Manchester with her artist partner, a ghost called Ron and a growing museum of curiosities.

 

Author photo © Steve Horsley

 

 

Featured books by Kate Horsley

Other books by Kate Horsley

The American Girl A Disturbing and Twisty Psychological Thriller

The American Girl A Disturbing and Twisty Psychological Thriller

Author: Kate Horsley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/11/2016

From a bright new talent comes a twisting psychological thriller with a shocking conclusion, perfect for fans of Ruth Ware, B.A. Paris and Helen Fields. A MISSING FAMILY Barefoot, bloodied, with no memory of what has happened to her - Quinn Perkins stumbles out of the woods in France and discovers that her exchange family have mysteriously disappeared. A SMALL TOWN SEEKING REVENGE Journalist Molly Swift is drawn to the mystery and prepared to do anything to learn the truth, including lying to get close to Quinn. But when a shocking discovery sparks fury in the town, Quinn is arrested for murder. DARK SECRETS DRAGGED INTO THE LIGHT As a trial by media ensues, Molly is left to unravel the town's disturbing past and clear Quinn's name - but is she really innocent? Or is she a cunning killer intent on getting away with murder?

American Girl: A disturbing and twisty psychological thriller

American Girl: A disturbing and twisty psychological thriller

Author: Kate Horsley Format: eBook Release Date: 30/09/2016

From a bright new talent comes a twisting psychological thriller with a shocking conclusion, perfect for fans of Ruth Ware, B.A. Paris and Helen Fields.A MISSING FAMILYBarefoot, bloodied, with no memory of what has happened to her - Quinn Perkins stumbles out of the woods in France and discovers that her exchange family have mysteriously disappeared.A SMALL TOWN SEEKING REVENGEJournalist Molly Swift is drawn to the mystery and prepared to do anything to learn the truth, including lying to get close to Quinn. But when a shocking discovery sparks fury in the town, Quinn is arrested for murder.DARK SECRETS DRAGGED INTO THE LIGHTAs a trial by media ensues, Molly is left to unravel the town's disturbing past and clear Quinn's name - but is she really innocent? Or is she a cunning killer intent on getting away with murder?

Monster's Wife

Monster's Wife

Author: Kate Horsley Format: eBook Release Date: 21/08/2014

A great Frankenstein sequel, shortlisted for the Saltire Literary Society's SCOTTISH FIRST BOOK OF THE YEAR. Lovereading says: 'This gripping gothic thriller manages to put an imaginative new spin on the Frankenstein story. The doomed and mournful scientist is on Orkney seeking to fulfill his pact with the monster and make him a wife. The terrible tale unfolds through the eyes of poor Oona, his housemaid and now accomplice. Horsley combines a deft literary touch and an ease with the intricacies of the weird, with a powerful feminist angle, in this retelling of a much-told story with striking originality. More than yet another attempt at a sequel to a classic, this is a fiercely accomplished fever dream.' We Love This Book says: 'The Monster's Wife is an absolute must read for any gothic fans and especially for lovers of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein.'

Confessions Of A Pagan Nun

Confessions Of A Pagan Nun

Author: Kate Horsley Format: Paperback Release Date: 10/09/2002