LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Geraldine O'Neill - Author

About the Author

Geraldine O’Neill grew up in Cleland, a small mining village, in Lanarkshire, Scotland. The second of six children, she was educated in St Mary’s Primary in Cleland then Holy Cross High School in Hamilton.

Whilst working as a teacher in the local primary school in Ireland, Geraldine helped start up a local writers’ group which is still going strong 13 years later.  She is an accomplished public speaker, and was President of Tullamore Toastmasters in 2002.

She started up a Book Circle in Tullamore which is now in its 6th year, and one of their meetings was broadcast live on National Radio from Geraldine’s house in April 2004!

Geraldine O’Neill has been writing since the early 90’s and had gained a number of awards for her short stories before embarking on her first novel. She has also had a number of poems published.


She  has had three novels published in Ireland by Poolbeg to date: Tara Flynn, Tara’s Fortune and Aisling Gayle. Both Tara Flynn and Tara’s Fortune are now published in the UK and Commonwealth by Orion.

Her forthcoming book, The Grace Girls (which is set in 50’s Scotland) is due to be published in the UK and Ireland in Summer 2005.

She is currently working on her fifth novel, which has the working title of Kate Larkin.

Featured books by Geraldine O'Neill

Other books by Geraldine O'Neill

A Liverpool Secret

A Liverpool Secret

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/03/2019

Liverpool, 1925: Can a chance meeting lead to a fresh start? Lillian Taylor dreams of a world beyond the locked gates of the convent orphanage. For ten years she has survived the hard faith of the Mother Superior, but the arrival of a glamorous visitor changes everything. Claiming to be her aunt, Anna Ainsley offers the little orphan girl a home and opportunities she never could have dreamed of. But can Lillian seize her chance of happiness without facing the secrets of her past? A heartwarming Liverpool saga, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Katie Flynn and Maeve Binchy. Praise for Geraldine O'Neill: 'Absolutely brilliant. I couldn't put it down. A real triumph' Lyn Andrews

A Liverpool Secret

A Liverpool Secret

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Hardback Release Date: 13/12/2018

Liverpool, 1932: Can a chance meeting lead to a fresh start? Lillian Taylor dreams of a world beyond the locked gates of the convent orphanage where she grew up. For ten years she has learned to survive without love, facing the cruel whims and hard faith of the Mother Superior. But the arrival of a glamorous visitor changes everything. Claiming to be her aunt, Anna Ainsley offers Lilian a home in one of Liverpool's smartest streets, and a future the lonely teenager never could have imagined. To grasp it, Lilian must open her heart, and learn the rules of a world she's been taught to believe is full of sin and danger. Sophisticated, wealthy and full of ideas about what a young woman can achieve, Anna turns Lilian's world upside down. In return, Lilian will show Anna that birth and wealth can't buy a good heart. But can she seize her chance of happiness without facing the secrets of her past? A gripping and heartwarming family saga that is perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Katie Flynn and Rosie Goodwin.

Music Across the Mersey

Music Across the Mersey

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/04/2018

When a Dublin family is torn apart, can a new start in Liverpool help heal the wounds? 1940s Dublin Handsome widower Johnny Cassidy is out of work, broken-hearted and lost as to how to look after his four children. At his lowest ebb, he's forced to realise that help sometimes comes from the strangest places. With Johnny's family over the sea in Liverpool, it's his wife's spinster cousin Nora who comes to the rescue and has her life turned upside down by this brood of children. With Nora around, Ella Cassidy can be a teenager again rather than trying to raise her younger siblings, while older brother, Sean, finds that music might be his salvation. It seems that each member of the Cassidy family cherishes secret dreams, but will they bring them together or tear them apart? A warm and inviting story of family and friendship, duty and desire, perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Lyn Andrews.

The House on Silver Street

The House on Silver Street

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/03/2017

The House on Silver Street

The House on Silver Street

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2016

A Letter from America

A Letter from America

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2016

Sarah Love

Sarah Love

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/03/2011

Leaving Clare

Leaving Clare

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/03/2010

Tara's Destiny

Tara's Destiny

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/04/2008

A Different Kind of Dream

A Different Kind of Dream

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/02/2007

Aisling Gayle

Aisling Gayle

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/04/2003

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.geraldine-oneill.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Geraldine O'Neill on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more