Edgar Cantero - Author

About the Author

Edgar Cantero is a writer and cartoonist from Barcelona. The rich and highly cultured Catalan literary tradition soon lost influence on him in favour of Hollywood blockbusters, videogames and English-language genre fiction. In 2007 he joined the often-trialled satirical magazine El Jueves and published his debut novel, Dormir amb Winona Ryder ( Sleeping with Winona Ryder ). His material, ranging from short stories to screenplays, often features butt-kicking female characters, colourful violence, sunsets, thunderstorms, and ill-timed jokes. The Supernatural Enhancements will be his first English book.

Featured books by Edgar Cantero

The Supernatural Enhancements

The Supernatural Enhancements

Author: Edgar Cantero Format: Hardback Release Date: 14/08/2014

Two months after the last of the Wells jumped out of his bedroom window (incidentally forgetting to open it first), a strange couple of Europeans arrive at Point Bless, Virginia, to take possession of the mysterious Axton House. A. is the 23-year-old scion no one knew about; Niamh is the mute underage punk girl whom he refers to as his associate or his bodyguard. Both share a Hollywood-distorted view of their new continent and an unbecoming excitement about their new, reportedly haunted home. Through diaries, letters and state-of-the-art digital sources, A. and Niamh will be seen delving into Ambrose Wells' dubious suicide, the secret society he founded and its mysterious Game - a 'bourgeois pastime' of global proportions. All while coping with maddening nightmares, hunting a death-presaging ghost, and taking a minute every now and then to appreciate how cool their new life is. Join them.

Other books by Edgar Cantero

Meddling Kids

Meddling Kids

Author: Edgar Cantero Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/04/2018

A nostalgic and subversive trip rife with sly nods to H. P. Lovecraft and pop culture, in the vein of It and Stranger Things. An exuberant and wickedly entertaining celebration of horror, love, friendship, and many-tentacled, interdimensional demon spawn. SUMMER 1977. The Blyton Summer Detective Club (of Blyton Hills, a small mining town in Oregon's Zoinx River Valley) solved their final mystery and unmasked the elusive Sleepy Lake monster-another low-life fortune hunter trying to get his dirty hands on the legendary riches hidden in Deboen Mansion. And he would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for those meddling kids. 1990. The former detectives have grown up and apart, each haunted by disturbing memories of their final night in the old haunted house. There are too many strange, half-remembered encounters and events that cannot be dismissed or explained away by a guy in a mask. And Andy, the once intrepid tomboy now wanted in two states, is tired of running from her demons. She needs answers. To find them she will need Kerri, the one-time kid genius and budding biologist, now drinking her ghosts away in New York with Tim, an excitable Weimaraner descended from the original canine member of the club. They will also have to get Nate, the horror nerd currently residing in an asylum in Arkham, Massachusetts. Luckily Nate has not lost contact with Peter, the handsome jock turned movie star who was once their team leader... which is remarkable, considering Peter has been dead for years. The time has come to get the team back together, face their fears, and find out what actually happened all those years ago at Sleepy Lake. It's their only chance to end the nightmares and, perhaps, save the world.

Meddling Kids

Meddling Kids

Author: Edgar Cantero Format: eBook Release Date: 11/07/2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"e;Freaky pleasure...it scratches a nostalgic itch for those who grew up on Saturday morningScooby-Doocartoons and sugar-bombed breakfast cereal"e;--USA Today"e;Deliriously wild, funny and imaginative. Cantero is an original voice."e;--Charles Yu, author of How to Live in a Science Fictional UniverseWith raucous humor and brilliantly orchestrated mayhem, Meddling Kids subverts teen detective archetypes like the Hardy Boys, the Famous Five, and Scooby-Doo, and delivers an exuberant and wickedly entertaining celebration of horror, love, friendship, and many-tentacled, interdimensional demon spawn.SUMMER 1977. The Blyton Summer Detective Club (of Blyton Hills, a small mining town in Oregon's Zoinx River Valley) solved their final mystery and unmasked the elusive Sleepy Lake monsteranother low-life fortune hunter trying to get his dirty hands on the legendary riches hidden in Debon Mansion. And he would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for those meddling kids.1990. The former detectives have grown up and apart, each haunted by disturbing memories of their final night in the old haunted house. There are too many strange, half-remembered encounters and events that cannot be dismissed or explained away by a guy in a mask. And Andy, the once intrepid tomboy now wanted in two states, is tired of running from her demons. She needs answers. To find them she will need Kerri, the one-time kid genius and budding biologist, now drinking her ghosts away in New York with Tim, an excitable Weimaraner descended from the original canine member of the club. They will also have to get Nate, the horror nerd currently residing in an asylum in Arkham, Massachusetts. Luckily Nate has not lost contact with Peter, the handsome jock turned movie star who was once their team leader . . . which is remarkable, considering Peter has been dead for years.The time has come to get the team back together, face their fears, and find out what actually happened all those years ago at Sleepy Lake. It's their only chance to end the nightmares and, perhaps, save the world. A nostalgic and subversive trip rife with sly nods to H. P. Lovecraft and pop culture, Edgar Cantero's Meddling Kids is a strikingly original and dazzling reminder of the fun and adventure we can discover at the heart of our favorite stories, no matter how old we get.

The Supernatural Enhancements

The Supernatural Enhancements

Author: Edgar Cantero Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/07/2015

EVERYBODY LOVES A CONSPIRACY. DON'T THEY? When Ambrose Wells dies jumping out of his bedroom window in Axton House, forgetting to open it first, a distant relative with an unusual companion takes possession of the gothic estate at Point Bless, Virginia. But as they settle into their new surroundings, excited by rumours of ghosts, suicides and secret societies, they find themselves not just part of a mysterious `Game', but determined to win it.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more