Virginia Macgregor - Author

About the Author

Virginia Macgregor is currently Head of Creative Writing at Wellington College. Her debut novel What Milo Saw was published by Sphere in hardback in July 2014 to rave reviews. Sphere have just signed a deal for two further adult novels from Virginia, to be published in 2017 and 2018. Wishbones is her first novel for young adults. 

Featured books by Virginia Macgregor

What Milo Saw

What Milo Saw

Author: Virginia Macgregor Format: Paperback Release Date: 13/08/2015

A BIG story about a small boy who sees the world a little differently Milo curled his thumb and forefinger together to make a small hole and held his fingers up to Al's eyes. 'Look through here. That's what I see. Kind of, only worse.' 'Wow, that must be amazing.' Milo shrugged. 'Not really.' 'I mean, it makes you focus, doesn't it? I bet you see all kinds of stuff that other people miss.' Nine-year-old Milo Moon has retinitis pigmentosa: his eyes are slowly failing and he will eventually go blind. But for now he sees the world through a pin hole and notices things other people don't. When Milo's beloved gran succumbs to dementia and moves into a nursing home, Milo soon realises there's something wrong at the home. So with just Tripi, the nursing home's cook, and Hamlet, his pet pig, to help, Milo sets out on a mission to expose the nursing home and the sinister Nurse Thornhill. Insightful, wise and surprising, What Milo Saw is filled with big ideas and simple truths. Milo sees the world in a very special way and it will be impossible for you not to fall in love with him and then share his story with everyone you know.

What Milo Saw

What Milo Saw

Author: Virginia Macgregor Format: Hardback Release Date: 31/07/2014

A BIG story about a small boy who sees the world a little differently Nine-year-old Milo Moon has retinitis pigmentosa: his eyes are slowly failing and he will eventually go blind. But for now he sees the world through a pin hole and notices things other people don't. When Milo's beloved gran succumbs to dementia and moves into a nursing home, Milo soon realises there's something very wrong at the home. The grown-ups won't listen to him so with just Tripi, the nursing home's cook, and Hamlet, his pet pig, to help, Milo sets out on a mission to expose the nursing home and the sinister Nurse Thornhill. Insightful, wise and surprising, What Milo Saw is a novel filled with big ideas, simple truths and an emotional message that will resonate with everyone.

Other books by Virginia Macgregor

You Found Me

You Found Me

Author: Virginia Macgregor Format: Hardback Release Date: 09/08/2018

A promise made in haste. A search for lost memories. Three lives changed forever. Early one morning, Isabel and her eleven-year-old daughter River are walking across Regents Park when they come across a distraught-looking man sitting on a bench. They ask him if he's OK, but he doesn't know the answer. In fact he doesn't know the answer to any of their questions - he doesn't even know his name. Urged on by her daughter, Isabel takes the man to hospital and hopes that will be the end of it. But when the tests show there's nothing physically wrong with him, and yet he still can't remember who he is, she realises she can't walk away. With no ID on him, she will have to call the authorities but there's a look of fear in the man's eyes and she knows that's the last thing he wants. Isabel begins to worry about what he might be hiding about his past but she also made a promise to River that they would help this man. Can they trust him? And how far is she prepared to go to keep her word to her only child?

You Found Me

You Found Me

Author: Virginia Macgregor Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/08/2018

A promise made in haste. A search for lost memories. Three lives changed forever. Early one morning, Isabel and her eleven-year-old daughter River are walking across Regents Park when they come across a distraught-looking man sitting on a bench. They ask him if he's OK, but he doesn't know the answer. In fact he doesn't know the answer to any of their questions - he doesn't even know his name. Urged on by her daughter, Isabel takes the man to hospital and hopes that will be the end of it. But when the tests show there's nothing physically wrong with him, and yet he still can't remember who he is, she realises she can't walk away. With no ID on him, she will have to call the authorities but there's a look of fear in the man's eyes and she knows that's the last thing he wants. Isabel begins to worry about what he might be hiding about his past but she also made a promise to River that they would help this man. Can they trust him? And how far is she prepared to go to keep her word to her only child?

Before I Was Yours An emotional novel of love and family that will take your breath away

Before I Was Yours An emotional novel of love and family that will take your breath away

Author: Virginia Macgregor Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/08/2017

An emotional family drama that asks the question: how far would you go for a child who isn't yours? What readers are saying about Before I Was Yours: 'A very moving book which deals sympathetically with the subject matter' 'Another cracking book from an author who is now firmly cemented on my watch list' 'Towards the final few chapters I was in tears . . . such a wonderful story' 'One of the best books I have read in a long time' Sam and Rosie Keep have always wanted children of their own but life hasn't worked out that way for them. The only option available to them now is adoption: they'll do anything to have a child to love. Seven-year-old Jonah is far away from home and his mama promised he'd be looked after in England. But the man who's meant to be taking care of him has disappeared and now Jonah's all alone. When Sam and Rosie meet Jonah, they're certain they've found their son, and open their home and their hearts to him. Finally, their family is complete. And then the unthinkable happens and life changes for all three members of the Keep family. Suddenly Sam and Rosie must answer an impossible question: how far are they willing to go for a child who isn't really theirs? More praise for Virginia Macgregor 'A future classic' Clare Mackintosh, author of I See You 'Insightful and compelling' Woman & Home 'Deeply satisfying' Red 'A touching look at the meaning of motherhood' Good Housekeeping

Wishbones

Wishbones

Author: Virginia Macgregor Format: eBook Release Date: 18/05/2017

Feather Tucker has two wishes:1)To get her mum healthy again2) To win the Junior UK swimming championshipsWhen Feather comes home on New Year's Eve to find her mother - one of Britain's most obese women- in a diabetic coma, she realises something has to be done to save her mum's life. But when her Mum refuses to co-operate Feather realises that the problems run deeper than just her mum's unhealthy appetite. Over time, Feather's mission to help her Mum becomes an investigation. With the help of friends old and new, and the hindrance of runaway pet goat Houdini, Feather's starting to uncover when her mum's life began to spiral out of control and why. But can Feather fix it in time for her mum to watch her swim to victory? And can she save her family for good?

The Return of Norah Wells

The Return of Norah Wells

Author: Virginia Macgregor Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/10/2016

'A future classic' Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go, on What Milo Saw One family. Two mothers. Which one will they choose? A moving family drama perfect for fans of Dorothy Koomson, Harriet Evans and Lisa Jewell. One ordinary morning, Norah Wells walked out of her house on Willoughby Street and never looked back. Six years later, she returns to the home she left only to find another woman in her place. Fay held Norah's family together after she disappeared, she shares a bed with Norah's husband and Norah's youngest daughter calls Fay 'Mummy'. Now that Norah has returned, everyone has questions. Where has she been? Why did she leave? And why is she back? As each member of the family tries to find the answers they need, they must also face up to the most pressing question of all - what happens to The Mother Who Stayed when The Mother Who Left comes back? Powerful, emotional and perceptive, The Return of Norah Wells is a novel about what it takes to hold a family together and what you're willing to sacrifice for the ones you love. *Originally published with the title The Astonishing Return of Norah Wells*

The Astonishing Return of Norah Wells

The Astonishing Return of Norah Wells

Author: Virginia Macgregor Format: Paperback Release Date: 12/01/2016

One ordinary morning, Norah walked out of her house on Willoughby Street and never looked back. Six years later, she returns to the home she walked away from only to find another woman in her place. Fay held Norah's family together after she disappeared, she shares a bed with Norah's husband and Norah's youngest daughter calls Fay 'Mummy'. Now that Norah has returned, everyone has questions. Where has she been? Why did she leave? And why is she back? As each member of the family tries to find the answers they each need, they must also face up to the most pressing question of all - what happens to The Mother Who Stayed when The Mother Who Left comes back? From the author of What Milo Saw, comes this powerful, emotional and perceptive novel about what it takes to hold a family together and what you're willing to sacrifice for the ones you love.

What Milo Saw

What Milo Saw

Author: Virginia Macgregor Format: Paperback Release Date: 13/08/2015

A BIG story about a small boy who sees the world a little differently Milo curled his thumb and forefinger together to make a small hole and held his fingers up to Al's eyes. 'Look through here. That's what I see. Kind of, only worse.' 'Wow, that must be amazing.' Milo shrugged. 'Not really.' 'I mean, it makes you focus, doesn't it? I bet you see all kinds of stuff that other people miss.' Nine-year-old Milo Moon has retinitis pigmentosa: his eyes are slowly failing and he will eventually go blind. But for now he sees the world through a pin hole and notices things other people don't. When Milo's beloved gran succumbs to dementia and moves into a nursing home, Milo soon realises there's something wrong at the home. So with just Tripi, the nursing home's cook, and Hamlet, his pet pig, to help, Milo sets out on a mission to expose the nursing home and the sinister Nurse Thornhill. Insightful, wise and surprising, What Milo Saw is filled with big ideas and simple truths. Milo sees the world in a very special way and it will be impossible for you not to fall in love with him and then share his story with everyone you know.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://virginiamacgregor.com/about/

Author's Facebook

Find Virginia Macgregor on Facebook