Katherine Clements - Author

About the Author

Katherine Clements has a passion for history and a degree in the subject. Until recently she worked for a national examination board, where she led the development and launch of the UK's first A level in Creative Writing. She has enjoyed success with her short stories and won a Historical Short Story Competition sponsored by Jerwood in 2012. The Crimson Ribbon is her debut novel.

 

Author photo © Nicola Light Photography

Featured books by Katherine Clements

Other books by Katherine Clements

The Coffin Path 'The perfect ghost story'

The Coffin Path 'The perfect ghost story'

Author: Katherine Clements Format: Paperback Release Date: 18/10/2018

An eerie and compelling ghost story set on the dark wilds of the Yorkshire moors. For fans of The Witchfinder's Sister, The Silent Companions and Susan Hill, this gothic tale will weave its way into your imagination and chill you to the bone. 'Spine-tingling... the scariest ghost story I have read in a long time' Barbara Erskine 'Reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier and as good as Sarah Waters' Historical Novel Society 'Like something from Emily Bronte's nightmares' Andrew Taylor, author of The Ashes of London Maybe you've heard tales about Scarcross Hall, the house on the old coffin path that winds from village to moor top. They say there's something up here, something evil. Mercy Booth isn't afraid. The moors and Scarcross are her home and lifeblood. But, beneath her certainty, small things are beginning to trouble her. Three ancient coins missing from her father's study, the shadowy figure out by the gatepost, an unshakeable sense that someone is watching. When a stranger appears seeking work, Mercy reluctantly takes him in. As their stories entwine, this man will change everything. She just can't see it yet. What readers are saying about The Coffin Path: 'A fantastic eerie ghost story to settle down with on a winters night' 'Compelling and chilling, the slow build-up of tension had me completely on edge' 'I couldn't put it down. I felt I was there on the moors, being watched by the unseen'

The Coffin Path 'The perfect ghost story'

The Coffin Path 'The perfect ghost story'

Author: Katherine Clements Format: Hardback Release Date: 08/02/2018

An eerie and compelling ghost story set on the dark wilds of the Yorkshire moors. For fans of The Witchfinder's Sister, The Silent Companions and Susan Hill, this gothic tale will weave its way into your imagination and chill you to the bone. 'Spine-tingling... the scariest ghost story I have read in a long time' Barbara Erskine 'Reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier and as good as Sarah Waters' Historical Novel Society 'Like something from Emily Bronte's nightmares' Andrew Taylor, author of The Ashes of London Maybe you've heard tales about Scarcross Hall, the house on the old coffin path that winds from village to moor top. They say there's something up here, something evil. Mercy Booth isn't afraid. The moors and Scarcross are her home and lifeblood. But, beneath her certainty, small things are beginning to trouble her. Three ancient coins missing from her father's study, the shadowy figure out by the gatepost, an unshakeable sense that someone is watching. When a stranger appears seeking work, Mercy reluctantly takes him in. As their stories entwine, this man will change everything. She just can't see it yet. What readers are saying about The Coffin Path: 'A fantastic eerie ghost story to settle down with on a winters night' 'Compelling and chilling, the slow build-up of tension had me completely on edge' 'I couldn't put it down. I felt I was there on the moors, being watched by the unseen'

The Silvered Heart

The Silvered Heart

Author: Katherine Clements Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/02/2016

1648: Civil war is devastating England. The privileged world of Katherine Ferrers is crumbling under Cromwell's army and, as an orphaned heiress, she has no choice but to marry for the sake of family. But as her marriage turns into a prison and her fortune is forfeit, Katherine becomes increasingly desperate. So when she meets a man who shows her a way out, she seizes the chance. It is dangerous and brutal, and she knows if they're caught, there's only one way it can end... The mystery of Lady Katherine Ferrers, legendary highwaywoman, has captured the collective imagination of generations. Now, based on the real woman, the original 'Wicked Lady' is brought gloriously to life in this tale of infatuation, betrayal and survival.

Painted Chamber (Short Stories from the author of The Crimson Ribbon)

Painted Chamber (Short Stories from the author of The Crimson Ribbon)

Author: Katherine Clements Format: eBook Release Date: 28/08/2014

'The vibrant new voice of historical fiction' Suzannah DunnTHE PAINTED CHAMBER is a lyrical tale of love and longing, and HOW TO ROAST A PIG WITH THE HAIR ON, winner of the Jerwood Historical Short Story Competition 2012, a darkly vivid story of wifely revenge. Also included is an exclusive sample from Katherine Clements' highly acclaimed debut THE CRIMSON RIBBON.

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more