Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Niamh Boyce - Author

About the Author

Niamh Boyce trained as a painter and started writing just four years ago. Since then she has been shortlisted for a number of literary awards and was the 2012 Hennessy XO New Irish Writer of the Year. The Herbalist is her first novel. She lives in the Irish south midlands with her family.

Featured books by Niamh Boyce

The Herbalist

The Herbalist

Author: Niamh Boyce Format: Paperback Release Date: 26/09/2013

Winner of the Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2013. The Herbalist is the electrifying first novel from Niamh Boyce, winner of the 2012 Hennesssy XO Award for New Irish Writing. This is a beautiful and gripping story from 1930s rural Ireland, a time when women paid a terrible price for unmarried pregnancy, The Herbalist will appeal to fans of The Midwife's Daughter and The Outcast. An elegant morality tale about the inescapable strictures of women's lives in post-independence Ireland. Her publisher describes her as a dazzling new voice . I cannot disagree. (Sunday Times). Out of nowhere the herbalist appears and sets up his stall in the market square. The stranger is exotic and glamourous and teenager Emily is spellbound - here is a man of the world who won't care that she's not respectable. However, Emily has competition for the herbalist's attentions. The women of the town - the women from the big houses and their maids, the shopkeepers and their serving girls, those of easy virtue and their pious neighbours - are also mesmerized by the visitor who, they say, can perform miracles. But when Emily discovers the miracle - worker's dark side, her world turns upside down. She may be naive, but she has a fierce sense of right and wrong. So, with his fate lying in her hands, Emily must make the biggest decision of her young life. To make the herbalist pay for his sins against the women of the town? Or let him escape to cast his spell on another place? Comparisons to Edna O'Brien and Pat McCabe are more than justified. That said, Boyce has a unique voice and sensibility, one that's entirely her own. (Image). A story that is sharply rendered, and full of dark humour . (Irish Times). Builds to a thematically satisfying, even exciting, conclusion...Emily's innate sense of right and wrong, in particular, shines out against the suffocating hypocrisy of the times . (Irish Independent). In addition to winning the 2012 Hennessy New Writing Award, Niamh Boyce has been shortlisted for the 2011 Francis McManus Short Story competition, the 2010 Hennessy Literary Award and the 2010 Molly Keane Award. The Herbalist is a deeply moving and viscerally powerful novel - a dazzling and unforgettable story of love, shame, hypocrisy and courage.

Other books by Niamh Boyce

Her Kind

Her Kind

Author: Niamh Boyce Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/04/2019

The eagerly awaited new novel from the award-winning author of No 1 bestseller, The Herbalist ('The most entertaining yet substantial historical novel since Joseph O'Connor's Star of the Sea' Irish Times) 1324, Kilkennie A woman seeks refuge for herself and her daughter in the household of a childhood friend. The friend, Alice Kytler, gives her former companion a new name, Petronelle, a job as a servant, and warns her to hide their old connection. Before long Petronelle comes to understand that in the city pride, greed and envy are as dangerous as the wolves that prowl the savage countryside. And she realizes that Alice's household is no place of safety. Once again, Petronelle decides to flee. But this time she confronts forces greater than she could ever have imagined and she finds herself fighting for more than her freedom ... Tense, moving and atmospheric, Her Kind is a vivid re-imagining of the events leading up to the Kilkenny Witch Trial. 'Shines a light on women who have been silenced. This tightly paced novel confirms Boyce as an important voice in Irish literature' Louise O'Neill 'The plot is pacey and menacing, and the writing is clear, sharp and studded with glistening phrases ... a wonderful shout through time' Nuala O'Connor 'Pulls us into a world both seductively alien, yet uneasily, all-too-humanly, familiar' Mia Gallagher 'Niamh Boyce has taken a bleak and dismal period and sent a bolt of beautiful and revealing light into the darkness' John MacKenna Praise for The Herbalist: 'An elegant morality tale about the inescapable strictures of women's lives ... Her publisher describes her as a dazzling new voice . I cannot disagree' Sunday Times 'Hugely impressive and wonderfully assured' Irish Times 'A serious new literary talent' TV3 'Comparisons to Edna O'Brien and Pat McCabe are more than justified. That said, Boyce has a unique voice and sensibility, one that's entirely her own' Image Magazine

The Hennessy Book of Irish Fiction 2005-2015

The Hennessy Book of Irish Fiction 2005-2015

Author: Niamh Boyce, Oona Frawley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2015

The Herbalist

The Herbalist

Author: Niamh Boyce Format: Paperback Release Date: 26/09/2013

Winner of the Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2013. The Herbalist is the electrifying first novel from Niamh Boyce, winner of the 2012 Hennesssy XO Award for New Irish Writing. This is a beautiful and gripping story from 1930s rural Ireland, a time when women paid a terrible price for unmarried pregnancy, The Herbalist will appeal to fans of The Midwife's Daughter and The Outcast. An elegant morality tale about the inescapable strictures of women's lives in post-independence Ireland. Her publisher describes her as a dazzling new voice . I cannot disagree. (Sunday Times). Out of nowhere the herbalist appears and sets up his stall in the market square. The stranger is exotic and glamourous and teenager Emily is spellbound - here is a man of the world who won't care that she's not respectable. However, Emily has competition for the herbalist's attentions. The women of the town - the women from the big houses and their maids, the shopkeepers and their serving girls, those of easy virtue and their pious neighbours - are also mesmerized by the visitor who, they say, can perform miracles. But when Emily discovers the miracle - worker's dark side, her world turns upside down. She may be naive, but she has a fierce sense of right and wrong. So, with his fate lying in her hands, Emily must make the biggest decision of her young life. To make the herbalist pay for his sins against the women of the town? Or let him escape to cast his spell on another place? Comparisons to Edna O'Brien and Pat McCabe are more than justified. That said, Boyce has a unique voice and sensibility, one that's entirely her own. (Image). A story that is sharply rendered, and full of dark humour . (Irish Times). Builds to a thematically satisfying, even exciting, conclusion...Emily's innate sense of right and wrong, in particular, shines out against the suffocating hypocrisy of the times . (Irish Independent). In addition to winning the 2012 Hennessy New Writing Award, Niamh Boyce has been shortlisted for the 2011 Francis McManus Short Story competition, the 2010 Hennessy Literary Award and the 2010 Molly Keane Award. The Herbalist is a deeply moving and viscerally powerful novel - a dazzling and unforgettable story of love, shame, hypocrisy and courage.