Laurie Frankel - Author

About the Author

Laurie Frankel lives in Seattle with her husband, son and boarder collie. Before becoming a full-time writer, she taught literature, writing and gender studies at a US university. She is the author of one previous novel, The Atlas of Love. Goodbye For Now is her second.

Featured books by Laurie Frankel

Goodbye for Now

Goodbye for Now

Author: Laurie Frankel Format: Paperback Release Date: 25/04/2013

Imagine a world in which you never have to say goodbye. A world in which you can talk to your loved ones after they've gone - About the trivial things you used to share About the things you wish you'd said while you still had the chance About how hard it is to adjust to life without them. When Sam Elling invents a computer programme that enables his girlfriend Meredith to do just this, nothing can prepare them for the success and the complications that follow. For every person who wants to say goodbye, there is someone else who can't let go. And when tragedy strikes, they have to find out whether goodbye has to be for ever. Or whether love can take on a life of its own...

Other books by Laurie Frankel

This Is How It Always Is The warm and uplifting novel about a family keeping a big secret

This Is How It Always Is The warm and uplifting novel about a family keeping a big secret

Author: Laurie Frankel Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/01/2018

'A very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think.' Liane Moriarty, No. 1 bestselling author of BIG LITTLE LIES 'An intelligent, life-affirming, emotionally charged story' Prima Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is the 'fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them... Sparkles with wit and wisdom' (Maria Semple). Perfect for readers of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT. This is how a family keeps a secret...and how that secret ends up keeping them. This is how a family lives happily ever after...until happily ever after becomes complicated. This is how children change...and then change the world. This is Claude. He's five years old, the youngest of five brothers, and loves peanut butter sandwiches. He also loves wearing a dress, and dreams of being a princess. When he grows up, Claude says, he wants to be a girl. Rosie and Penn want Claude to be whoever Claude wants to be. They're just not sure they're ready to share that with the world. Soon the entire family is keeping Claude's secret. Until one day it explodes. Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a novel about revelations, transformations, fairy tales, and family. And it's about the ways this is how it always is: change is always hard and miraculous and hard again, parenting is always a leap into the unknown with crossed fingers and full hearts, children grow but not always according to plan. And families with secrets don't get to keep them forever. What readers are saying about THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS: 'This writing is glorious. A fabulous book. Topical, moving, full of magic' 'One of the most amazing and thought-provoking books I have ever read. It's warm, well observed and funny' 'A beautiful love story of two people who meet, fall hopelessly in love and then create a wonderful unique family of five'

This Is How It Always Is The warm and uplifting novel about a family keeping a big secret

This Is How It Always Is The warm and uplifting novel about a family keeping a big secret

Author: Laurie Frankel Format: Hardback Release Date: 31/01/2017

'A very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think.' Liane Moriarty, No. 1 bestselling author of THE HUSBAND'S SECRET Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS the 'fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them... Sparkles with wit and wisdom' (Maria Semple). Perfect for readers of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY. This is how a family keeps a secret...and how that secret ends up keeping them. This is how a family lives happily ever after...until happily ever after becomes complicated. This is how children change...and then change the world. This is Claude. He's five years old, the youngest of five brothers, and loves peanut butter sandwiches. He also loves wearing a dress, and dreams of being a princess. When he grows up, Claude says, he wants to be a girl. Rosie and Penn want Claude to be whoever Claude wants to be. They're just not sure they're ready to share that with the world. Soon the entire family is keeping Claude's secret. Until one day it explodes. Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a novel about revelations, transformations, fairy tales, and family. And it's about the ways this is how it always is: Change is always hard and miraculous and hard again, parenting is always a leap into the unknown with crossed fingers and full hearts, children grow but not always according to plan. And families with secrets don't get to keep them forever. 'An intelligent, life-affirming, emotionally charged story' Prima

This Is How It Always Is The warm and uplifting novel about a family keeping a big secret

This Is How It Always Is The warm and uplifting novel about a family keeping a big secret

Author: Laurie Frankel Format: Paperback Release Date: 26/01/2017

'A very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think.' Liane Moriarty, No. 1 bestselling author of BIG LITTLE LIES Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS the 'fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them... Sparkles with wit and wisdom' (Maria Semple). Perfect for readers of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY. This is how a family keeps a secret...and how that secret ends up keeping them. This is how a family lives happily ever after...until happily ever after becomes complicated. This is how children change...and then change the world. This is Claude. He's five years old, the youngest of five brothers, and loves peanut butter sandwiches. He also loves wearing a dress, and dreams of being a princess. When he grows up, Claude says, he wants to be a girl. Rosie and Penn want Claude to be whoever Claude wants to be. They're just not sure they're ready to share that with the world. Soon the entire family is keeping Claude's secret. Until one day it explodes. Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a novel about revelations, transformations, fairy tales, and family. And it's about the ways this is how it always is: Change is always hard and miraculous and hard again, parenting is always a leap into the unknown with crossed fingers and full hearts, children grow but not always according to plan. And families with secrets don't get to keep them forever. 'An intelligent, life-affirming, emotionally charged story' Prima

Goodbye for Now

Goodbye for Now

Author: Laurie Frankel Format: Paperback Release Date: 25/04/2013

Imagine a world in which you never have to say goodbye. A world in which you can talk to your loved ones after they've gone - About the trivial things you used to share About the things you wish you'd said while you still had the chance About how hard it is to adjust to life without them. When Sam Elling invents a computer programme that enables his girlfriend Meredith to do just this, nothing can prepare them for the success and the complications that follow. For every person who wants to say goodbye, there is someone else who can't let go. And when tragedy strikes, they have to find out whether goodbye has to be for ever. Or whether love can take on a life of its own...

Goodbye for Now

Goodbye for Now

Author: Laurie Frankel Format: eBook Release Date: 07/08/2012

In the spirit of ONE DAY, comes a fresh and warmhearted love story for the 21st century. Sometimes the end is just the beginning . . . Sam Elling works for an internet dating company, but he still can't get a date. So he creates an algorithm that will match you with your soul mate. Sam meets the love of his life, a coworker named Meredith, but he also gets fired when the company starts losing all their customers to Mr. and Ms. Right.When Meredith's grandmother, Livvie, dies suddenly, Sam uses his ample free time to create a computer program that will allow Meredith to have one last conversation with her grandmother. Mining from all her correspondenceemail, Facebook, Skype, textsSam constructs a computer simulation of Livvie who can respond to email or video chat just as if she were still alive. It's not supernatural, it's computer science.Meredith loves it, and the couple begins to wonder if this is something that could help more people through their grief. And thus, the company RePose is born. The business takes off, but for every person who just wants to say good-bye, there is someone who can't let go. In the meantime, Sam and Meredith's affection for one another deepens into the kind of love that once tasted, you can't live without. But what if one of them suddenly had to? This entertaining novel, delivers a charming and bittersweet romance as well as a lump in the throat exploration of the nature of love, loss, and life (both real and computer simulated). Maybe nothing was meant to last forever, but then again, sometimes love takes on a life of its own.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.lauriefrankel.net/

Author's Facebook

Find Laurie Frankel on Facebook