Ted Kosmatka - Author

About the Author

Ted Kosmatka studied biology at Indiana University. He has worked as a zookeeper, steel mill worker, lab technician, and videogame writer for the extremely successful studio, Valve, publisher of mega-hits such as the Half-Life series and Portal. His work has been nominated for both the Nebula and Hugo awards and won the 2010 Asimov's Reader's Choice Award. He lives in the American Pacific North-west.

Featured books by Ted Kosmatka

The Prophet of Bones

The Prophet of Bones

Author: Ted Kosmatka Format: Paperback Release Date: 25/04/2013

If Carlsson discovers the truth too many powerful interests have far too much to lose. But not every prophet is without honour. And Carlsson, alone and on the run, is determined to reveal the discovery to a world in which the church and science have conspired to hide it. A world which, it's been proven, is only 5,800 years old...The Prophet of Bones is Ted Kosmata's enthralling second novel. The Games showcased Kosmata's imaginative genius and The Prophet of Bones is no different. Fans of Robert Harris, Michael Crichton and Sam Bourne will be hooked.

Other books by Ted Kosmatka

The Flicker Men

The Flicker Men

Author: Ted Kosmatka Format: Paperback Release Date: 21/04/2016

The Man Eric Argus, a washed-out quantum physicist given one last shot at redemption The Experiment An investigation into the mysterious composition of light and matter The Discovery Unexpected and unprecedented evidence for the existence of the human soul The Consequences A staggering revelation about the hidden structure of the universe. And an unimaginable reality that should never have been uncovered . . .

The Flicker Men

The Flicker Men

Author: Ted Kosmatka Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/11/2015

What if science proved the existence of the human soul? 'If Stephen Hawking and Stephen King wrote a novel together, you'd get The Flicker Men. Brilliant, disturbing, and beautifully told' Hugh Howey, New York Times bestselling author of the Wool series *** The Man Eric Argus, a washed-out quantum physicist given one last shot at redemption The Experiment An investigation into the mysterious composition of light and matter The Discovery Unexpected and unprecedented evidence for the existence of the human soul The Consequences A staggering revelation about the hidden structure of the universe. And an unimaginable reality that should never have been uncovered ...*** Praise for Ted Kosmatka: 'A well-written, utterly convincing thriller that left my mind reeling for days. It latched on after the first chapter and didn't let go until the last word ...as thoughtful as it is thrilling. It kept me up way, way past my bedtime.' Daniel H. Wilson, author of Robopocalypse 'Prophet of Bones contains some incredibly tantalizing glimpses of hard science in a world constrained by theological received truth, and the detailed discussions of scientific methodology just add to the fascination' i09.com 'A masterwork of intrigue and menace ...I was enthralled ...An eye-opening and page-turning read without parallel' Clive Cussler

The Flicker Men

The Flicker Men

Author: Ted Kosmatka Format: Hardback Release Date: 18/11/2015

What if science proved the existence of the human soul? 'If Stephen Hawking and Stephen King wrote a novel together, you'd get The Flicker Men. Brilliant, disturbing, and beautifully told' Hugh Howey, New York Times bestselling author of the Wool series *** The Man Eric Argus, a washed-out quantum physicist given one last shot at redemption The Experiment An investigation into the mysterious composition of light and matter The Discovery Unexpected and unprecedented evidence for the existence of the human soul The Consequences A staggering revelation about the hidden structure of the universe. And an unimaginable reality that should never have been uncovered . . . *** Praise for Ted Kosmatka: 'A well-written, utterly convincing thriller that left my mind reeling for days. It latched on after the first chapter and didn't let go until the last word ... as thoughtful as it is thrilling. It kept me up way, way past my bedtime.' Daniel H. Wilson, author of Robopocalypse 'Prophet of Bones contains some incredibly tantalizing glimpses of hard science in a world constrained by theological received truth, and the detailed discussions of scientific methodology just add to the fascination' i09.com 'A masterwork of intrigue and menace ... I was enthralled ... An eye-opening and page-turning read without parallel' Clive Cussler

The Prophet of Bones

The Prophet of Bones

Author: Ted Kosmatka Format: Paperback Release Date: 25/04/2013

If Carlsson discovers the truth too many powerful interests have far too much to lose. But not every prophet is without honour. And Carlsson, alone and on the run, is determined to reveal the discovery to a world in which the church and science have conspired to hide it. A world which, it's been proven, is only 5,800 years old...The Prophet of Bones is Ted Kosmata's enthralling second novel. The Games showcased Kosmata's imaginative genius and The Prophet of Bones is no different. Fans of Robert Harris, Michael Crichton and Sam Bourne will be hooked.

Games

Games

Author: Ted Kosmatka Format: Paperback Release Date: 22/06/2012

Dr. Silas Williams is the brilliant geneticist in charge of preparing the U.S. entry into the Olympic Gladiator competition, an internationally sanctioned bloodsport with only one rule: no human DNA is permitted in the design of the entrants. But when his creation demonstrates monstrous strength, speed, and - most disquietingly - intelligence, Silas' scientific curiosity gives way to sheer terror.

Games

Games

Author: Ted Kosmatka Format: eBook Release Date: 13/03/2012

Jurassic Park meets The Hunger Games in this stunning new high-energy, high-concept tale from first-time novelist Ted Kosmatka, a Nebula Award and Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award finalist. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY PUBLISHERS WEEKLYSet in an amoral future where genetically engineered monstrosities fight each other to the death in an Olympic event, The Games envisions a harrowing world that may arrive sooner than you think. Silas Williams is the brilliant geneticist in charge of preparing the U.S. entry into the Olympic Gladiator competition, an internationally sanctioned bloodsport with only one rule: no human DNA is permitted in the design of the entrants. Silas lives and breathes genetics; his designs have led the United States to the gold in every previous event. But the other countries are catching up. Now, desperate for an edge in the upcoming Games, Silas's boss engages an experimental supercomputer to design the genetic code for a gladiator that cannot be beaten. The result is a highly specialized killing machine, its genome never before seen on earth. Not even Silas, with all his genius and experience, can understand the horror he had a hand in making. And no one, he fears, can anticipate the consequences of entrusting the act of creation to a computer's cold logic. Now Silas races to understand what the computer has wrought, aided by a beautiful xenobiologist, Vidonia Joo. Yet as the fast-growing gladiator demonstrates preternatural strength, speed, andmost disquietinglyintelligence, Silas and Vidonia find their scientific curiosity giving way to a most unexpected emotion: sheer terror.Praise for The Games ';Blends the best of Crichton and Koontz.'Publishers Weekly (starred review) ';Outstanding . . . very like something Michael Crichton might have written . . . [a] bold mix of horror and SF . . . Expect big things from [Ted] Kosmatka.'Booklist (starred review) ';Kosmatka successfully captures the thrill of groundbreaking technology. . . . The pleasure of his polished, action-packed storytelling is deepened by strong character development. This near-future SF thriller . . . seems destined for the big screen.'Library Journal (starred review)From the Hardcover edition.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.tedkosmatka.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Ted Kosmatka on Facebook