Laura Kemp - Author

About the Author

Laura Kemp started writing to get out of doing a real job. A journalist for 15 years, she turned freelance after having a baby because she couldn't get out of the house, washed and dressed, until lunchtime at the earliest. A columnist and contributor, she regularly writes for national newspapers and magazines, such as the Daily Mail, and spends too much time on Twitter (@laurajanekemp). Mums Like Us is her first novel, which she hopes will strike a chord with exhausted mums who don't iron either. Married with a son and a neurotic cat, Laura lives in the provinces, where she goes about her business ignorant of what's on-trend until it reaches her town, by which time it's out of fashion. She is currently working on her next novel, Mums On Strike, due out in 2014. To find out more visit her website at www.laura-kemp.com

Featured books by Laura Kemp

Mums on Strike

Mums on Strike

Author: Laura Kemp Format: Paperback Release Date: 16/01/2014

From the author of Mums Like Us comes a fun, witty novel about what it's like when an ordinary mum has had enough. It is perfect for fans of Pedigree Mum and The Mummyfesto. It was just a squashed grape on the kitchen floor. Hardly a reason to get upset, right? But six years of motherhood has left Lisa Stratton feeling like a skivvy. Every morning before she's opened her eyes, she starts her mental inventory of jobs to do. And just like yesterday, the day before and every day since she became a mum, she's woken up knackered. So when her husband deliberately steps over the grape because it's 'her responsibility' to run the house, it tips her over the edge. He wasn't always like this - they used to share everything. Then the kids came along and he saw it as an excuse to sit back. But this time things are going to change. Lisa has made a decision. She's going on strike.

Mums Like Us

Mums Like Us

Author: Laura Kemp Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/02/2013

Attention, all lardies! Are you sick to death of mum-upmanship at the school gates? Have you had your fill of Mother Superiors who lose their baby weight in six weeks while you're still carrying yours years later? Do you crave the company of like-minded mums who will admit motherhood smells not of roses but of dirty nappies? Well, look no further than Mums Like Us , a weekly group where knackered mums can let rip about kids, husbands and work. So join our rejection of perfection, and fight for 'good enough' parenting. And drink. And lots of cake. Stella Smith Mums Like Us Chairwoman.

Other books by Laura Kemp

The Year of Surprising Acts of Kindness

The Year of Surprising Acts of Kindness

Author: Laura Kemp Format: Paperback Release Date: 22/02/2018

Whatever Happened to Vicky Hope's Back Up Man?

Whatever Happened to Vicky Hope's Back Up Man?

Author: Laura Kemp Format: eBook Release Date: 01/01/2017

'Read this book while on holiday - and loved it! I would highly recommend!' RACHEL ABBOTT. A funny, feel-good coming-of-age novel which asks if the past can ever be part of your future. Twenty-one and insecure, Vicky Hope comes up with a plan on the eve of travelling the world with her high-flying friend, Kat Lloyd: if she isn't married by the time she's thirty, she'll marry her geeky best mate Mikey Murphy. Fast-forward eight-and-a-bit years, Vicky, now Vee wakes up on her thirtieth birthday in Brighton, expecting a proposal of marriage from her arty boyfriend Jez. Instead he tells her their relationship is over and she has no choice but to return to her parents' home. Devastated and alone in her childhood bedroom, she decides she has nothing to lose and tracks down her two old mates. With shock, she discovers Mikey, now Murphy, is a successful app designer driven by his tragic upbringing. Kat, or Kate, never made it - but she hides a devastating secret, which threatens the happiness of all three. What people are saying about WHAT HAPPENED TO VICKY HOPE'S BACK UP MAN? 'Gorgeous! Funny, clever, romantic and real, it's brilliant' RACHAEL LUCAS 'A delightful story of lasting friendship & first love' 'I enjoyed every page' 'A read full of love, laughter and tears. The kind of book that lingers in the mind' 'Get a cuppa, get on the sofa, and settle down to a good old entertaining story!'

Late Blossoming of Frankie Green

Late Blossoming of Frankie Green

Author: Laura Kemp Format: eBook Release Date: 01/06/2016

'Witty, warm and wise with the funniest one-liners - totally loved every page. Laura Kemp delivers another winner' MILLY JOHNSON. 'Warm, funny, sweet *and* spicy, what a fab read' LUCY DIAMOND. 'A warm-hearted, laugh-out-loud story of the things we do (or don't do) in pursuit of love. Sexy, witty and wise, with moments that will steal your heart, prepare to fall for Frankie Green!' MIRANDA DICKINSON. A laugh-out-loud, feel good, romantic comedy, which will take you on an enlightening emotional rollercoaster. Perfect for the fans of Sophie Kinsella and Jane Costello. Frankie Green's happy ever after is put on hold when her childhood sweetheart husband complains things are boring in bed. When he asks for some space, she sets out to win him back by getting herself a sex education. Little does she know that her hilarious, tender and embarrassing journey of enlightenment is going to change everything... A story full of humour, heartache and happiness, of friendship, coming of age and overcoming insecurity. What readers are saying about The Late Blossoming of Frankie Green: 'One of the most funniest books I have ever read' 'An easy, light-hearted, perfect summer read that you won't want to put down' 'Grabbed my attention from the start' 'Chick lit at its best ... definitely worth reading' Laura Kemp's latest novel, WHATEVER HAPPENED TO VICKY HOPE'S BACK UP MAN? is out now! Search: 9781784977009.

Mums on Strike

Mums on Strike

Author: Laura Kemp Format: Paperback Release Date: 16/01/2014

From the author of Mums Like Us comes a fun, witty novel about what it's like when an ordinary mum has had enough. It is perfect for fans of Pedigree Mum and The Mummyfesto. It was just a squashed grape on the kitchen floor. Hardly a reason to get upset, right? But six years of motherhood has left Lisa Stratton feeling like a skivvy. Every morning before she's opened her eyes, she starts her mental inventory of jobs to do. And just like yesterday, the day before and every day since she became a mum, she's woken up knackered. So when her husband deliberately steps over the grape because it's 'her responsibility' to run the house, it tips her over the edge. He wasn't always like this - they used to share everything. Then the kids came along and he saw it as an excuse to sit back. But this time things are going to change. Lisa has made a decision. She's going on strike.

Mums Like Us

Mums Like Us

Author: Laura Kemp Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/02/2013

Attention, all lardies! Are you sick to death of mum-upmanship at the school gates? Have you had your fill of Mother Superiors who lose their baby weight in six weeks while you're still carrying yours years later? Do you crave the company of like-minded mums who will admit motherhood smells not of roses but of dirty nappies? Well, look no further than Mums Like Us , a weekly group where knackered mums can let rip about kids, husbands and work. So join our rejection of perfection, and fight for 'good enough' parenting. And drink. And lots of cake. Stella Smith Mums Like Us Chairwoman.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.laura-kemp.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Laura Kemp on Facebook