LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Alexandra Brown - Author

About the Author

Alexandra Brown grew up in Brighton and left school at sixteen to run away to London with dreams of being a writer. On realising that she needed a proper job too, she went to work in an office. Throughout her twenty year corporate career, she survived many dull meetings by writing a scene or two, until she could bear it no longer and collapsed in a heap and begged her husband to support her while she lounged on a chaise and waited for the muse to arrive. He's now living in hope that she'll become rich and famous so he can retire to sun himself by an infinity pool somewhere exotic. After escaping office life, Alexandra won a competition run by The London Paper to write the weekly City Girl column, an expose of working life in the City of London. She wrote the column for two years before giving it up to concentrate on her first novel. Alexandra lives in a rural village near Brighton with her husband, daughter and two very shiny black Labradors.

 

Author photo © Krysphotos.co.uk

Featured books by Alexandra Brown

The Great Christmas Knit off

The Great Christmas Knit off

Author: Alexandra Brown Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/11/2014

The perfect seasonal tale of how laughter, friends and wacky Christmas jumpers can mend a broken heart. For fans of Trisha Ashley and Jenny Colgan. Heartbroken after being jilted at the altar, Sybil has been saved from despair by her knitting obsession and now her home is filled to bursting with tea cosies, bobble hats, and jumpers. But, after discovering that she may have perpetrated the cock-up of the century at work, Sybil decides to make a hasty exit and, just weeks before Christmas, runs away to the picturesque village of Tindledale. There, Sybil discovers Hettie's House of Haberdashery, an emporium dedicated to the world of knitting and needle craft. But Hettie, the outspoken octogenarian owner, is struggling and now the shop is due for closure. And when Hettie decides that Sybil's wonderfully wacky Christmas jumpers are just the thing to add a bit of excitement to her window display, something miraculous starts to happen...

ebook of the month
Ice Creams at Carrington's

Ice Creams at Carrington's

Author: Alexandra Brown Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/06/2014

The third book in the delightful series set in Carrington's Department Store. Georgie Hart and Carrington's Department Store have got the world at their feet. Since a reality TV series put them both on the map, life has been amazing! Carrington's profits are in the pink, Georgie has carved herself a place in the nation's heart and her romance with Tom, the store's boss, has finally blossomed. Now summertime has come to Mulberry-on -Sea and Georgie is in great demand. The town is holding a big summer festival and she and her mates from Carrington's are planning on making sure that Mulberry puts on the show of its life! But Georgie is about to get the offer of a lifetime - one that is just too good to turn down and something that will test her loyalties to their limits...Will Georgie be able to pull off it off once again, or has her luck finally run out?

ebook of the month

Other books by Alexandra Brown