Seth Hunter - Author

About the Author

Seth Hunter is the pseudonym of the author of a number of highly acclaimed and prize-winning adult and children's novels. He has written and directed many historical dramas for television, radio and the theatre. Seth Hunter lives in London.

Featured books by Seth Hunter

The Spoils of Conquest

The Spoils of Conquest

Author: Seth Hunter Format: Paperback Release Date: 16/01/2014

The Mouth of the Nile, 9th August, 1798: Admiral Nelson has sent Captain Nathan Peake on a desperate journey across the Middle East to convey a grim warning to British India. Bonaparte's army is poised to deliver a fatal blow to the source of Britain's wealth and power by marching overland to India. Arriving in Bombay, Nathan takes command of the East India Company's naval wing - the Bombay Marine - an under-armed and poorly crewed flotilla of sloops and gunboats. With these meagre resources he must stop the flow of French supplies to their Indian ally and protect the Company's trade from the pirates and privateers swarming in the Bay of Bengal. But when Nathan discovers the truth behind the East India Company's honourable facade he confronts some tough personal choices - and a crisis of conscience even more threatening than the enemy.

The Winds of Folly

The Winds of Folly

Author: Seth Hunter Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/02/2012

1796: Nathan Peake, captain of the frigate Unicorn is sent with a small squadron into the Adriatic to help bring Venice into an Italian alliance against the French. He establishes a British naval presence, harrying the French corsairs that swarm out of Ancona in Italy. While Nathan confronts the politics of 'intrigue, poison and the stiletto' in Venice, his mission is further complicated by the arrival of Napoleon Bonaparte's aide de camp, Junot. Recognising Nathan as the 'American' who saved Bonaparte's life in Paris, Junot invites him to army headquarters where he unwillingly joins the French in a victorious battle against the Austrians. Meanwhile, in Venice, French troops move into the city and a new revolutionary government takes power. Nathan learns that Bonaparte is negotiating a peace deal with the Austrians - Britain's only remaining ally. Worse, the Spanish are about to ally with the French. Nathan returns to the Unicorn and rejoins Nelson for the decisive Battle of St Vincent against the entire Spanish fleet.

Other books by Seth Hunter

The Spoils of Conquest

The Spoils of Conquest

Author: Seth Hunter Format: Paperback Release Date: 16/01/2014

The Mouth of the Nile, 9th August, 1798: Admiral Nelson has sent Captain Nathan Peake on a desperate journey across the Middle East to convey a grim warning to British India. Bonaparte's army is poised to deliver a fatal blow to the source of Britain's wealth and power by marching overland to India. Arriving in Bombay, Nathan takes command of the East India Company's naval wing - the Bombay Marine - an under-armed and poorly crewed flotilla of sloops and gunboats. With these meagre resources he must stop the flow of French supplies to their Indian ally and protect the Company's trade from the pirates and privateers swarming in the Bay of Bengal. But when Nathan discovers the truth behind the East India Company's honourable facade he confronts some tough personal choices - and a crisis of conscience even more threatening than the enemy.

The Flag of Freedom A thrilling nautical adventure of battle and bravery

The Flag of Freedom A thrilling nautical adventure of battle and bravery

Author: Seth Hunter Format: Paperback Release Date: 14/02/2013

'A compelling read, imaginative, knowledgeable, fast-moving . . . full of twists and turns' Naval Review 1797: Britain stands alone against the forces of Revolutionary France. A victorious French Army, led by the youthful Napoleon Bonaparte, is poised to invade Britain. And in his country's darkest hour, Captain Nathan Peake finds himself imprisoned by his own side on the Rock of Gibraltar - charged with treason. To prove his innocence Nathan must uncover the great deception that masks the French war aims. Is the great armada being assembled in Toulon bound for the shores of Great Britain - or Egypt? His secret mission to discover the truth about Napoleon's invasion plans will hurl him into two of the greatest battles of the 18th century. What readers are saying about THE FLAG OF FREEDOM: 'A seafaring yarn mixing great historical action, politics, spies and beautiful women. You can't wait to turn the page' 'Seth Hunter on top form. Nathaniel Peake is one of the best characters I've read in a long time' 'A gripping novel based upon historical fact which paints a graphic picture of life and times in Europe combined with the reality of naval life'

The Winds of Folly

The Winds of Folly

Author: Seth Hunter Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/02/2012

1796: Nathan Peake, captain of the frigate Unicorn is sent with a small squadron into the Adriatic to help bring Venice into an Italian alliance against the French. He establishes a British naval presence, harrying the French corsairs that swarm out of Ancona in Italy. While Nathan confronts the politics of 'intrigue, poison and the stiletto' in Venice, his mission is further complicated by the arrival of Napoleon Bonaparte's aide de camp, Junot. Recognising Nathan as the 'American' who saved Bonaparte's life in Paris, Junot invites him to army headquarters where he unwillingly joins the French in a victorious battle against the Austrians. Meanwhile, in Venice, French troops move into the city and a new revolutionary government takes power. Nathan learns that Bonaparte is negotiating a peace deal with the Austrians - Britain's only remaining ally. Worse, the Spanish are about to ally with the French. Nathan returns to the Unicorn and rejoins Nelson for the decisive Battle of St Vincent against the entire Spanish fleet.

The Price of Glory A compelling high seas adventure set in the lead up to the Napoleonic wars

The Price of Glory A compelling high seas adventure set in the lead up to the Napoleonic wars

Author: Seth Hunter Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/02/2011

1795: Young warriors Nelson and Napoleon learn the art of war and the cost of fame . . . The third novel in this epic, thrilling series of war and villainy on the high seas, featuring Captain Nathan Peake. Seth Hunter's brilliant series will enthral fans of Dudley Pope and Patrick O'Brian. 'Another slick nautical adventure in the Patrick O'Brian tradition . . . rousing naval battles, twisty plot, and muscular prose' Publishers Weekly on THE TIDE OF WAR Nathan Peake charts a perilous course through the treacherous seas off Brittany and into the even more dangerous waters of post-Revolutionary Paris. There he encounters two of the most beautiful and scandalous courtesans in history - and their little toy soldier, laughingly dubbed Captain Cannon, who is about to win enduring fame as Napoleon Bonaparte. Returned to the command of the frigate Unicorn, Nathan is sent to join another young glory-seeker, Captain Horatio Nelson, in a bid to wreck Bonaparte's plans for the invasion of Italy. But Nathan has his own private agenda - to find his lost love amid the chaos of war - and as the fighting spreads from the mountains to the sea, he discovers that glory comes at a higher price than all the gold in the vaults of Genoa. What readers are saying about THE PRICE OF GLORY: 'Seth Hunter is a natural storyteller and a master of description, whether it be wild seas, ship to ship battles, dangerous political intrigue or the natural beauty of the countryside when Nathan Peake is ashore. Totally absorbing' 'A really fantastic read and immaculately researched' '[Seth Hunter's] is a natural storyteller and his prose is beautifully elegant. There's wit, adventure, big seas, monumental battles, and even a moving love story. A delight'

The Tide of War A fast-paced naval adventure of bloodshed and betrayal at sea

The Tide of War A fast-paced naval adventure of bloodshed and betrayal at sea

Author: Seth Hunter Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/02/2010

1794: Murder, mutiny and betrayal as war rips through the Caribbean . . . The second brilliant novel in Seth Hunter's naval adventure series, featuring Captain Nathan Peake. The perfect series for fans of HORNBLOWER and Iain Gale. 'This book has it all; naval battles, mutiny, pirates, spies - even a witch queen! Will be welcomed by lovers of naval historical fiction' Daily Mail Newly-promoted Captain Nathan Peake is despatched to the Caribbean to take command of the British navy's latest frigate, the 32-gun Unicorn. But the Unicorn already has a tragic history of mutiny - and murder. Meanwhile the Revolutionary authorities in Paris have sent the best frigate in the French fleet, the 44-gun Virginie, on a secret mission to spread mayhem from the shores of Cuba to the swamps of the Mississippi Delta. While the Unicorn embarks on her epic duel with the Virginie, Nathan confronts the seductive charms of Sabine Delatour, witch queen of the Army of Lucumi, the intrigues of the American agent Gilbert Imlay... What readers are saying about THE TIDE OF WAR: '[Seth Hunter is] a worthy challenger to the nautical stories of Patrick O'Brien and Dudley Pope. The pacing is relentless and totally absorbing' 'The research and description of the time is excellent. A first-class read' 'Seth Hunter's passion for history leaves the reader with a vivid sense of place and time'

The Time of Terror An action-packed maritime adventure of battle and bloodshed during the French Revolution

The Time of Terror An action-packed maritime adventure of battle and bloodshed during the French Revolution

Author: Seth Hunter Format: Paperback Release Date: 08/01/2009

Friends turn against friends, patriots are betrayed, and lovers must pay the ultimate price . . . The first gripping naval thriller in Seth Hunter's historical adventure series is sure to enthral fans of Julian Stockwin and Patrick O'Brian's Aubrey-Maturin novels. 'Rousing . . . a complex plot, written with wit, suspense, intrigue, and action' Publishers Weekly 1793: The French have killed their king and are about to embark on the violent period of bloodletting known as the Terror. Brig-sloop Commander Nathan Peake is on smuggler patrol off the Sussex coast and desperate for some real action. As revolutionary France declares war on England, he seizes his chance. Peake is given a vital mission; to destroy the French economy by smuggling millions of French banknotes across the Channel and into the heart of Paris. His operation leads him from perilous seas to the Empire of the Dead - a labyrinth of catacombs under the French capital where bodies are buried, secrets hidden and plots hatched. But as opposition to the Terror mounts, Peake is forced to leave Paris and join the storm-tossed British squadrons in the Atlantic in the first thunderous battle between the rival navies. What readers are saying about THE TIME OF TERROR: 'Flowing prose, matching action-packed adventures both on land and at sea' 'A must-read for fans of naval historical fiction. Well researched and plotted with characters who really come alive' 'Full of humour and history and lust. A gripping tale, masterfully written'

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.paulbryers.com

Author's Facebook

Find Seth Hunter on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more