Matthew Plampin - Author

About the Author

Matthew Plampin was born in 1975 and grew up in Essex. He read English and History of Art at the University of Birmingham and then completed a PhD at the Courtauld Institute of Art, London. He now lectures on nineteenth-century art and architecture.

 

Author photo © Karolina Webb

Featured books by Matthew Plampin

Other books by Matthew Plampin

Mrs Whistler

Mrs Whistler

Author: Matthew Plampin Format: eBook Release Date: 10/05/2018

Chelsea 1876: Jimmy Whistler stands on the cusp of fame, ready to astound the London art world with his radical paintings. At his side is Maud Franklin, his muse, lover and occasional pupil, sharing his house, his dazzling social life and his grand hopes for the future. But Jimmy's rebelliousness comes at a heavy price for them both as he battles a furious patron, challenges an influential and viciously hostile critic and struggles with a dire lack of cash. Before long a fight for survival is being waged through the galleries, the drawing rooms and even the courts - and Maud, Jimmy's Madame and closest ally, is expected to do her part. The Madame has problems of her own, however. Maud has fallen pregnant, and must now face the reality of what life with Jimmy entails. As the situation starts to unravel, as loyalties are sorely tested and bankruptcy looms, she has to decide what she wants. Who she is. What she is prepared to endure. Stunning and suspenseful, this a story of one woman's progress through a world of beauty and sacrifice, art and ambition; a story which asks what we will withstand for love, and what it means to reach for greatness. Gold title -Perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent, Tulip Fever, and Tracy Chevalier's Girl with a Pearl Earring -Mrs Whistler is beautifully written and packed with the scandal, the sex and creative vision of the art world and the unforgettable characters that inhabited it -It centres on Whistler's mistress and muse, Maud Franklin and their fraught and touching relationship and the libel trial that almost destroyed it -Plampin is an art historian and the historical accuracy is impeccable but so lightly worn

Mrs Whistler

Mrs Whistler

Author: Matthew Plampin Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/05/2018

`A captivating tale ...This novel is a delight' THE TIMES `A terrific novel ... It springs off the page' DEBORAH MOGGACH 'Vividly engaging' SUNDAY TIMES `Maud could tell the whole story, but she will not' Chelsea 1876: Jimmy Whistler stands on the cusp of fame, ready to astound the London art world with his radical paintings. At his side is Maud Franklin, his muse, lover and occasional pupil, sharing his house, his dazzling social life and his grand hopes for the future. But Jimmy's rebelliousness comes at a heavy price for them both as he battles a furious patron, challenges an influential and viciously hostile critic and struggles with a dire lack of cash. Before long a fight for survival is being waged through the galleries, the drawing rooms and even the courts - and Maud, Jimmy's Madame and closest ally, is expected to do her part. The Madame has problems of her own, however. Maud has fallen pregnant, and must now face the reality of what life with Jimmy entails. As the situation starts to unravel, as loyalties are sorely tested and bankruptcy looms, she has to decide what she wants. Who she is. What she is prepared to endure. Stunning and suspenseful, this a story of one woman's progress through a world of beauty and sacrifice, art and ambition; a story which asks what we will withstand for love, and what it means to reach for greatness.

Mrs Whistler

Mrs Whistler

Author: Matthew Plampin Format: Hardback Release Date: 23/04/2018

`A captivating tale ...This novel is a delight' THE TIMES `A terrific novel ... It springs off the page' DEBORAH MOGGACH 'Vividly engaging' SUNDAY TIMES `Maud could tell the whole story, but she will not' Chelsea 1876: Jimmy Whistler stands on the cusp of fame, ready to astound the London art world with his radical paintings. At his side is Maud Franklin, his muse, lover and occasional pupil, sharing his house, his dazzling social life and his grand hopes for the future. But Jimmy's rebelliousness comes at a heavy price for them both as he battles a furious patron, challenges an influential and viciously hostile critic and struggles with a dire lack of cash. Before long a fight for survival is being waged through the galleries, the drawing rooms and even the courts - and Maud, Jimmy's Madame and closest ally, is expected to do her part. The Madame has problems of her own, however. Maud has fallen pregnant, and must now face the reality of what life with Jimmy entails. As the situation starts to unravel, as loyalties are sorely tested and bankruptcy looms, she has to decide what she wants. Who she is. What she is prepared to endure. Stunning and suspenseful, this a story of one woman's progress through a world of beauty and sacrifice, art and ambition; a story which asks what we will withstand for love, and what it means to reach for greatness.

Will & Tom

Will & Tom

Author: Matthew Plampin Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/08/2015

Will & Tom is a glimpse into the life of the infamous artist JMW Turner as a young man during a week spent at Harewood House fighting for a commission against his childhood friend and rival Tom Girtin. 1797, West Yorkshire. When rising artist Will Turner arrives at Harewood House in high summer, his intention is to sketch the house and grounds, receive his commission and return to London, where he has started attracting serious attention at the Royal Academy. But things at the grand house are not quite as he expects. The atmosphere is strange, both above and below stairs, and Will's treatment by his hosts is surprisingly offhand. Most perplexing of all, however, is the appearance of another painter - his childhood friend and now rival, Tom Girtin. While Tom is welcomed into the aristocratic circle, Will finds few allies. As it becomes harder to ignore the whispers of scandal , Will witnesses something that will threaten both his commission and his friendship. Alive with intrigue, artistic rivalry, Will & Tom offers a glimpse into the early life of Britain's greatest painter, J M W Turner, through the story of a complicated, vibrant friendship, and how it is tested by the dark dynamic of art and power.

Will & Tom

Will & Tom

Author: Matthew Plampin Format: eBook Release Date: 12/03/2015

Will & Tom is a glimpse into the life of the infamous artist JMW Turner as a young man during a week spent at Harewood House fighting for a commission against his childhood friend and rival Tom Girtin.1797, West Yorkshire.When rising artist Will Turner arrives at Harewood House in high summer, his intention is to sketch the house and grounds, receive his commission and return to London, where he has started attracting serious attention at the Royal Academy.But things at the grand house are not quite as he expects. The atmosphere is strange, both above and below stairs, and Will's treatment by his hosts is surprisingly offhand. Most perplexing of all, however, is the appearance of another painter - his childhood friend and now rival, Tom Girtin. While Tom is welcomed into the aristocratic circle, Will finds few allies. As it becomes harder to ignore the whispers of scandal , Will witnesses something that will threaten both his commission and his friendship.Alive with intrigue, artistic rivalry, Will & Tom offers a glimpse into the early life of Britain's greatest painter, J M W Turner, through the story of a complicated, vibrant friendship, and how it is tested by the dark dynamic of art and power.

DEVIL'S ACRE

DEVIL'S ACRE

Author: Matthew Plampin Format: eBook Release Date: 18/02/2010

A novel of intrigue, violence and conflicted loyalties from the author of The Street Philosopher. Spring, 1853. After a triumphant display at the Great Exhibition in London, the legendary American entrepreneur and inventor Colonel Samuel Colt expands his gun-making business into England. He acquires a riverside warehouse in Pimlico and sets about converting it into a pistol works capable of mass producing his patented revolvers on an unprecedented scale - aware that the prospect of war with Russia means huge profits. The young, ambitious Edward Lowry is hired by Colt to act as his London secretary. Although initially impressed by the Colonel's dynamic approach to his trade, Edward comes to suspect that the American's intentions in the Metropolis are not all they appear. Meanwhile, the secretary becomes romantically involved with Caroline Knox, a headstrong woman from the machine floor - who he discovers is caught up in a plot to steal revolvers from the factory's stores. Among the workforce Colt has gathered from the seething mass of London's poor are a gang of desperate Irish immigrants, embittered refugees from the potato famine, who intend to use these stolen six-shooters for a political assassination in the name of revenge. As pistols start to go missing, divided loyalties and hidden agendas make the gun-maker's factory the setting for a tense story of intrigue, betrayal and murder.

The Street Philosopher

The Street Philosopher

Author: Matthew Plampin Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/09/2009

An elegant, powerful novel, set in Victorian England, a time not so different from our own... perfect for fans of THE INTERPRETATION OF MURDER and THE SHADOW OF THE WINDAmbitious young journalist Thomas Kitson arrives at the battlefields of the Crimea as the London Courier's man on the ground. It is a dangerous place, full of the worst horrors of war but Kitson is determined to make his mark. Under the tutelage of his hard-bitten Irish boss Cracknell, and assisted by artist Robert Styles, he sets about exposing the incompetence of the army generals.Two years later, as Sebastopol burns, Thomas returns to England under mysterious circumstances. Desperate to forget the atrocities of the Crimea, he takes a job as a `street philosopher', a society writer reporting on the gossip of the day. But on the eve of the great Art Treasures Exhibition, as Manchester prepares to welcome Queen Victoria, Thomas's past returns to haunt him in the most horrifying way...

Author Info

Author's Facebook

Find Matthew Plampin on Facebook