Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

The Street Philosopher

by Matthew Plampin

The Street Philosopher Synopsis

An elegant, powerful novel, set in Victorian England, a time not so different from our own... perfect for fans of THE INTERPRETATION OF MURDER and THE SHADOW OF THE WIND Ambitious young journalist Thomas Kitson arrives at the battlefields of the Crimea as the London Courier's man on the ground. It is a dangerous place, full of the worst horrors of war but Kitson is determined to make his mark. Under the tutelage of his hard-bitten Irish boss Cracknell, and assisted by artist Robert Styles, he sets about exposing the incompetence of the army generals. Two years later, as Sebastopol burns, Thomas returns to England under mysterious circumstances. Desperate to forget the atrocities of the Crimea, he takes a job as a `street philosopher', a society writer reporting on the gossip of the day. But on the eve of the great Art Treasures Exhibition, as Manchester prepares to welcome Queen Victoria, Thomas's past returns to haunt him in the most horrifying way...

The Street Philosopher Press Reviews

Praise for THE STREET PHILOSOPHER: `A galloping good story' The Times `Lust, avarice, envy, revenge all play their part in this brilliantly told, well-paced story, which also begs the question, so relevant today, of just how close to action journalists and recorders of war should be allowed' Daily Mail `Plampin's historical research is impressive, as is his command of detail....his true gift of descriptive power' Independent on Sunday

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007272440
Publication date: 3rd September 2009
Author: Matthew Plampin
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 496 pages
Categories: Political / legal thriller, Historical fiction,

About Matthew Plampin

Matthew Plampin was born in 1975 and grew up in Essex. He read English and History of Art at the University of Birmingham and then completed a PhD at the Courtauld Institute of Art, London. He now lectures on nineteenth-century art and architecture. This is his first novel.

More About Matthew Plampin

More Books By Matthew Plampin

Cover for The Devil's Acre by Matthew Plampin
View All Books By Matthew Plampin

Share this book