LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Tom Bradby - Author

About the Author

Tom Bradby has for the last eight years been a political and foreign reporter for ITN, covering Ireland and South East Asia, and is now their royal correspondent. He is the author of three acclaimed novels, Shadow Dancer, The Sleep of the Dead and The Master of Rain and The White Russian. He lives in England with his wife and three children.

Featured books by Tom Bradby

Other books by Tom Bradby

Double Agent From the bestselling author of Secret Service

Double Agent From the bestselling author of Secret Service

Author: Tom Bradby Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/05/2020

'Gripping' Sunday Times 'Enthralling and fast-moving' Daily Mail 'Teems with twists and the denouement is imaginative and unexpected' The Times 'An excellent thriller straight out of today's headlines ... fast and riveting' The Sun

Double Agent From the bestselling author of Secret Service

Double Agent From the bestselling author of Secret Service

Author: Tom Bradby Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/05/2020

It was supposed to be a quiet family weekend away. But for Senior MI6 officer Kate Henderson, nothing is ever that simple... Kidnapped in Venice by a Russian defector, Kate knows she's in trouble. But all is not as it seems. The spy offers her conclusive evidence that the British Prime Minister is a live agent working for Moscow. Kate's holiday quickly becomes the start of her next mission. With proof of the PM involved in a sordid scandal and a financial paper trail that undeniably links him to the Russians, the evidence seems bulletproof. But the motives of the defector are anything but clear. And, more worryingly, it seems that there are key people at the heart of the British Establishment who refuse to acknowledge the reality in front of them. Kate can trust no one, and this mission will push her dangerously close to the edge... but is that the price to pay for the truth?

Secret Service

Secret Service

Author: Tom Bradby Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/05/2019

________________________ The new Sunday Times bestselling novel from Tom Bradby, perfect for fans of Line of Duty, Crisis and Bodyguard. 'A gripping thriller' Sunday Times The world is on the brink of crisis. The Cold War is playing out once more on the global stage. And governments will do whatever it takes to stay at the top . . . ______________________ To those who don't really know her, Kate Henderson's life must seem perfectly ordinary. But she is in fact a senior MI6 officer, who right now is nursing the political equivalent of a nuclear bomb. Kate's most recent mission has yielded the startling intelligence that the British Prime Minister has cancer - and that one of the leading candidates to replace him may be a Russian agent of influence. Up against the clock to uncover the Russian mole, Kate risks everything to get to the truth. But with her reputation to uphold, her family hanging by a thread and a leadership election looming, she is quickly running out of options, and out of time.

Secret Service

Secret Service

Author: Tom Bradby Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/05/2019

To those who don't really know her, Kate Henderson's life must seem exceedingly ordinary. Civil servant, wife, parent of two teenagers, daughter of an Alzheimer's-stricken mother ... But she's also a senior MI6 officer, and right now she is nursing the political equivalent of a nuclear bomb. Kate's mission to bug an oligarch's super-yacht in Istanbul has yielded the startling intelligence that the British Prime Minister has prostate cancer - and that one of the leading candidates to replace him may be a Russian agent of influence. Is this 'intelligence' reliable - or is it an attempt to create chaos within the British hierarchy? Kate's bosses have their doubts. But when the PM suddenly announces his resignation, the hunt for the spy begins in earnest. It's a nightmarish task, made infinitely worse by the revelation that there may be another mole - codename Viper - at the heart of the Establishment. As the tension mounts, an operation that looked as if it might cost Kate her sanity appears poised to do much, much more than that ...

Shadow Dancer

Shadow Dancer

Author: Tom Bradby Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/08/2012

Colette McVeigh: Mother. Widow. Terrorist. For all of her twenty-nine years she has lived the Republican cause. Her husband was killed by the Brits. Her brothers have dedicated their lives to fighting them. Until she is arrested in an aborted bombing raid in London when she has to make a choice: inform and see your children again; or stay silent and watch them grow up from the inside of a prison cell. Her MI5 handler, David Ryan, has never questioned where his loyalties lie. But as he watches Colette put herself in increasing danger to fulfil her side of the bargain, he realises that his certainty and integrity have been fatally and irrevocably compromised...

Blood Money

Blood Money

Author: Tom Bradby Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2010

New York, 1929, a city of speakeasies, swells and hoodlums at the fag end of the roaring twenties. It's a hell of a time and place for a young cop to be trying to make his way in the world. Joe Quinn's first case is one that could put his name up in lights; a banker takes a dive from a tall building onto Wall Street. All the signs point to murder. Pretty soon, the dead man has company; a group of old buddies is being eliminated, in a particularly gruesome manner. For the young detective a case that starts as an opportunity swiftly becomes a nightmare from which he cannot escape. Joe Quinn is about to discover just how tough being an honest cop in a dishonest world can be...

The White Russian

The White Russian

Author: Tom Bradby Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/10/2003

St Petersburg 1917. The capital of the glittering Empire of the Tsars and a city on the brink of revolution where the jackals of the Secret Police intrigue for their own survival as their aristocratic masters indulge in one last, desperate round of hedonism. For Sandro Ruzsky, Chief Investigator of the city police, even this decaying world provides the opportunity for a new beginning. Banished to Siberia for four years for pursuing a case his superiors would rather he'd quietly buried, Ruzsky finds himself investigating the murders of a young couple out on the ice of the frozen river Neva. The dead girl was a nanny at the Imperial Palace, the man an American from Chicago and, if the brutality of their deaths seems an allegory for the times, Ruzsky finds that, at every turn, the investigation leads dangerously close to home. At the heart of the case, lies Maria, the beautiful ballerina Ruzsky once loved and lost. But is she a willing participant in what appears to be a dangerous conspiracy or likely to be it's next, perhaps last, victim? In a city at war with itself, and pitted against a ruthless murderer who relishes taunting him, Ruzsky finds himself at last face to face with his own past as he fights to save everything he cares for, before the world into which he was born goes up in flames.

The Sleep Of The Dead

The Sleep Of The Dead

Author: Tom Bradby Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/01/2002

The brutal murder of Sarah Ford and the disappearance of her six-year-old daughter, Alice, shattered the rural serenity of Julia Havilland's childhood. But these are not the only scars that have resolutely refused to heal. Shortly afterwards, Colonel Mitchell Havilland sacrificed himself on a Falklands hillside in an act of characteristic - but baffling - heroism. When Julia comes home from China fifteen years later, it is to a place of ghosts. Whilst she awaits the outcome of the enquiry that seems destined to end her short but spectacular career in military intelligence, Julia is drawn back across the landscape of the past, to find that it is not just the tortured image of her much-loved father that returns to haunt her. Everything she has ever believed in and lived for has suddenly been called into question, and unless she confronts her demons, she will not survive. For there have been other deaths, and the dead will not sleep... At once a race-against-the-clock thriller and a complex psychological drama where the memories of the past conflict with knowledge of the present, The Sleep of the Dead is a stunning read on any level and more than confirms Tom Bradby as one of this country's foremost thriller writers. Praise for Shadow Dancer: 'Quite exceptional...Tom Bradby succeeds in creating real characters. Far too many novels take refuge in cliche and caricature - Bradby refuses to. The language, the tension, the fear - all are portrayed vividly and correctly...A taut, compelling story of love and torn loyalties' Daily Telegraph 'A remarkable first novel...Bradby handles the tension with skill to produce a gripping tale' The Times 'The best book on the northern conflict since Harry's Game...An excellent read on any level. It scores heavily as a thriller and as an accurate unblinking look at what is happening right now' Irish Independent