Elizabeth Lee - Author

About the Author

Elizabeth Lee won the Curtis Brown Creative Marian Keyes Scholarship, and her work has been selected for the Womentoring Project and Penguin’s WriteNow Live. She lives in Warwickshire.

Featured books by Elizabeth Lee

Cunning Women

Cunning Women

Author: Elizabeth Lee Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/03/2022

Abundant in atmosphere, well-rounded characters, and dreadful dilemmas, Cunning Women is a smoothly readable, 1620-set treat for fans of The Essex Serpent, The Leviathan, The Binding and The Familiars.  Though ten years have passed since the infamous Pendle Witch Trials that saw ten women hanged as witches, an atmosphere of paranoia still permeates the region. This is especially so in the Lancashire fishing village where the “cunning women" of the desperately poor Haworth family live as outcasts, offering herbal remedies that are in high demand, but considered the lowest of the low, for the women’s salves and balms are believed to be the work of witches. Sarah Haworth lives a tormented existence. While part of her aches for a normal life, especially when it comes to her younger sister, “the girl with the stormy eyes and sharp tongue” also longs to know the extent of her powers. Amidst this vividly evoked internal maelstrom, Sarah meets Daniel, a farmer’s son who finds himself captivated by her, as she is by him. They see each other for who they really are, not tainted by the prejudice of others. But when a magistrate arrives to investigate a furry of odd deaths, Sarah is in the firing line, and their love is threatened, along with her very life. Part evocative family drama, part historic thriller, Cunning Women tells an emotionally engaging tale of prejudice, superstition, revenge and love. 

Other books by Elizabeth Lee

Yuletide Cheer

Yuletide Cheer

Author: Elizabeth Lee Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/11/2021

Yuletide Cheer by Elizabeth Lee

Cunning Women

Cunning Women

Author: Elizabeth Lee Format: Hardback Release Date: 22/04/2021

__________________ ONE OF GRAZIA'S BEST BOOKS OF 2021 '[A] powerful story of forbidden love ... a tense and atmospheric ride' Daily Mail 'With a painfully unexpected ending, this is a story about loneliness, connection and female rage that fans of intensely atmospheric historical fiction will love.' Stylist 'Witches and the dread they inspired are captured here with chilling deftness.' Woman and Home 'Timely in its depiction of hysteria and persecution, and beautifully evokes a historical period poised between dark ignorance and long-overdue enlightenment.' Observer 'A thrilling read. But, beyond the thrill, is the beauty of the language . . . A pleasure to read - with an undercurrent of genuine fear' Annie Garthwaite, author of Cecily __________________ When it is no longer safe to be a witch, they call themselves cunning. Seventeenth-century Lancashire is a dark and mistrustful place. Ten years after the notorious Pendle witch trials saw ten accused witches hanged, young Sarah Haworth and her family live as outcasts in a ruined hamlet. The inhabitants of the nearby village despise 'cunning folk' like them, but their services - healing balms, herbal remedies - will always be in demand, and they have a way of coming to know all the village's secrets. A chance meeting sees Sarah become acquainted with Daniel, a young man from the village. In him, she sees a clever, caring man; in her, he sees not the strange, dirty outcast he knows he should, but rather the strong young woman coming into her own. As they are drawn closer together, a new magistrate arrives in the area to investigate a spate of strange deaths befalling the villagers. Inevitably, his eye falls on Sarah's family, and his hand carries a burning torch. In the face of persecution, something as fragile as love seems impossible... __________________ 'Wonderfully original . . . devastating . . . and fabulously atmospheric' Elodie Harper, author of The Wolf Den 'A haunting tale with a brutal twist' Emily Brand, author of The Fall of the House of Byron 'An impressive debut . . . beautifully relevant' Kate Mascarenhas 'Beautiful, tense (at points breathless!)' Kate Sawyer, author of The Stranding 'I'm delighted that there's already been a lot of buzz about this debut' Marian Keyes

La Bruyère and Vauvenargues

La Bruyère and Vauvenargues

Author: Elizabeth Lee Format: Paperback Release Date: 10/12/2019

La Bruyère and Vauvenargues by Elizabeth Lee

The English Novel in the Time of Shakespeare

The English Novel in the Time of Shakespeare

Author: Elizabeth Lee Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/05/2017

The English Novel in the Time of Shakespeare by Elizabeth Lee

Class and Campus Life

Class and Campus Life

Author: Elizabeth Lee Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/05/2016

In 2015, the New York Times reported, The bright children of janitors and nail salon workers, bus drivers and fast-food cooks may not have grown up with the edifying vacations, museum excursions, daily doses of NPR and prep schools that groom Ivy applicants, but they are coveted candidates for elite campuses. What happens to academically talented but economically challenged first-gen students when they arrive on campus? Class markers aren't always visible from a distance, but socioeconomic differences permeate campus life-and the inner experiences of students-in real and sometimes unexpected ways. In Class and Campus Life, Elizabeth M. Lee shows how class differences are enacted and negotiated by students, faculty, and administrators at an elite liberal arts college for women located in the Northeast.Using material from two years of fieldwork and more than 140 interviews with students, faculty, administrators, and alumnae at the pseudonymous Linden College, Lee adds depth to our understanding of inequality in higher education. An essential part of her analysis is to illuminate the ways in which the students' and the college's practices interact, rather than evaluating them separately, as seemingly unrelated spheres. She also analyzes underlying moral judgments brought to light through cultural connotations of merit, hard work by individuals, and making it on your own that permeate American higher education. Using students' own descriptions and understandings of their experiences to illustrate the complexity of these issues, Lee shows how the lived experience of socioeconomic difference is often defined in moral, as well as economic, terms, and that tensions, often unspoken, undermine students' senses of belonging.

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more