Ayisha Malik - Author

Featured books by Ayisha Malik

Sofia Khan and the Baby Blues

Sofia Khan and the Baby Blues

Author: Ayisha Malik Format: Paperback Release Date: 14/02/2022

Sofia Khan is going about everything the wrong way. At least, that's what her mother, Mehnaz, thinks. Sofia is twice-divorced, homeless and - worst of all - refusing to give up on a fostered baby girl. Sofia's just not behaving like a normal woman should. Sofia doesn't see it like that. She's planning to adopt Millie, and she's sure it'll be worth it. (Even if it means she and Millie have to stay at Mehnaz's place for a while.) And as Sofia finally begins to live the life she's chosen, she finds both romance and happiness start to blossom. But then someone comes back from the past - and not even Sofia's own past. Suddenly, she's faced with a choice. To do what's best for those she loves, Sofia might have to break her own heart. And she might find herself needing the last person she expected...

Other books by Ayisha Malik

The Movement

The Movement

Author: Ayisha Malik Format: Hardback Release Date: 21/07/2022

'Powerful and profound' Daisy Buchanan 'Breathtakingly original... a searing examination of the modern world and its sensibilities' Imran Mahmood __ With words come power. But do you speak out or shut up? Everywhere Sara Javed goes - online or outside - everyone is shouting about something. Couldn't they all just shut up? One day she takes her own advice. At first people don't understand her silence and are politely confused at best. But the last thing Sara could anticipate is becoming the figurehead of a global movement that splits society in two. The Silent Movement sparks outrage in its opposers. Global structures start to shift. And the lives of those closest to Sara - as well as strangers inspired by her act - begin to unravel. It's time for the world to reconsider what it means to have a voice. A sharply observed novel, charged with compassion and dark wit, that will spark important conversations about how we live, relate and communicate now. __ 'Malik makes us care with wry humour and bite' Helen Lederer 'A book for, and of, the now' Vaseem Khan

Seven Sisters

Seven Sisters

Author: Ayisha Malik Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/08/2021

High up in the trees seven sisters swing, swoop and swirl - each totally different and brilliant in their own way. The treetops are full of music, colour and life! Until one day the ground trembles and the trees shake. Something is changing... An enchanting story celebrating difference and creativity by Ayisha Malik, with stunning illustrations from Erika Meza.

This Green and Pleasant Land

This Green and Pleasant Land

Author: Ayisha Malik Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/10/2020

SHORTLISTED FOR THE DIVERSE BOOK AWARDS 'Tender, challenging and as warm as it was razor-sharp' Beth O'Leary 'If you've read Joanna Cannon I think you'll love this' Simon Savidge 'A sublimely witty and touching story' Jonathan Coe The standout new novel by acclaimed author Ayisha Malik - perfect for fans of David Nicholls and Candice Carty-Williams. In the sleepy village of Babel's End, trouble is brewing. Bilal Hasham is having a mid-life crisis. His mother has just died, and he finds peace lying in a grave he's dug in the garden. His elderly Auntie Rukhsana has come to live with him, and forged an unlikely friendship with village busybody, Shelley Hawking. His wife Mariam is distant and distracted, and his stepson Haaris is spending more time with his real father. Bilal's mother's dying wish was to build a mosque in Babel's End, but when Shelley gets wind of this scheme, she unleashes the forces of hell. Will Bilal's mosque project bring his family and his beloved village together again, or drive them apart? Warm, wise and laugh-out-loud funny, This Green and Pleasant Land is a life-affirming look at love, faith and the meaning of home.

Sofia Khan is not Obliged

Sofia Khan is not Obliged

Author: Ayisha Malik Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/03/2019

Sofia Khan is not Obliged by Ayisha Malik

The Other Half of Happiness

The Other Half of Happiness

Author: Ayisha Malik Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/04/2017

Sofia Khan is just married. But no-one told her life was going to be this way . . . Her living situation is in dire straits, her husband Conall is distant, and his annoyingly attractive colleague is ringing all sorts of alarm bells. When her mother forces them into a belated wedding ceremony (elopement: you can run, but you can't hide), Sofia wonders if it might be a chance to bring them together. But when it forces Conall to confess his darkest secret, it might just tear them apart. A book to make you smile, laugh and cry, this is the story of a mixed-race marriage and a mixed-up family, for anyone who's ever struggled to balance their pride with their principles, or stuck around to try to mend a broken heart. PRAISE FOR AYISHA MALIK 'Snort-diet-Coke-out-of-your-nostrils funny . . . will resonate with any woman who's looking for love' Red 'Funny and sparky . . . huge fun.' Jenny Colgan 'The feminist romantic comedy you've been waiting for' Elle 'Fun, fresh and funny' Mhairi McFarlane 'The perfect blend of comedy and romance' Independent

Sofia Khan is Not Obliged

Sofia Khan is Not Obliged

Author: Ayisha Malik Format: Paperback Release Date: 14/01/2016

The Muslim Bridget Jones - the hilarious romantic comedy from the writer behind Nadiya Hussain's bestselling The Secret Lives of the Amir Sisters. Sofia Khan is single once more, after her sort-of-boyfriend proves just a little too close to his parents. And she'd be happy that way too, if her boss hadn't asked her to write a book about the weird and wonderful world of Muslim dating. Of course, even though she definitely isn't looking for love, to write the book she does need to do a little research . . . 'Snort-Diet-Coke-out-of-your-nostrils funny . . . will resonate with any woman who's looking for love' Sarra Manning, author of It Felt Like a Kiss 'Funny and sparky . . . a smart and acerbic romcom . . . Read Ayisha Malik's book: it's huge fun.' Jenny Colgan

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more