This Green and Pleasant Land

Paperback edition released 01/10/2020

by Ayisha Malik

This Green and Pleasant Land Synopsis

SHORTLISTED FOR THE DIVERSE BOOK AWARDS 'Tender, challenging and as warm as it was razor-sharp' Beth O'Leary 'If you've read Joanna Cannon I think you'll love this' Simon Savidge 'A sublimely witty and touching story' Jonathan Coe The standout new novel by acclaimed author Ayisha Malik - perfect for fans of David Nicholls and Candice Carty-Williams. In the sleepy village of Babel's End, trouble is brewing. Bilal Hasham is having a mid-life crisis. His mother has just died, and he finds peace lying in a grave he's dug in the garden. His elderly Auntie Rukhsana has come to live with him, and forged an unlikely friendship with village busybody, Shelley Hawking. His wife Mariam is distant and distracted, and his stepson Haaris is spending more time with his real father. Bilal's mother's dying wish was to build a mosque in Babel's End, but when Shelley gets wind of this scheme, she unleashes the forces of hell. Will Bilal's mosque project bring his family and his beloved village together again, or drive them apart? Warm, wise and laugh-out-loud funny, This Green and Pleasant Land is a life-affirming look at love, faith and the meaning of home.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781785764509
Publication date: 1st October 2020
Author: Ayisha Malik
Publisher: Zaffre
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 464 pages
Primary Genre Modern and Contemporary Fiction

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781785764509
Publication date: 01/10/2020
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781785767548
Publication date: 13/06/2019
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9781785767524
Publication date: 13/06/2019
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Ayisha Malik

Ayisha Malik is a writer and editor, living in South London. She holds a BA in English Literature and a First Class MA in Creative Writing. Her novels Sofia Khan is Not Obliged and The Other Half of Happiness, starring 'the Muslim Bridget Jones', were met with great critical acclaim, and Sofia Khan is Not Obliged was chosen as 2019's Cityread book. Ayisha was a WHSmith Fresh Talent Pick, shortlisted for the Asian Women of Achievement Award and Marie Claire's Future Shapers Awards. Ayisha is also the ghost writer for The Great British Bake Off winner, Nadiya Hussain.

More About Ayisha Malik

More Books By Ayisha Malik

This Green and Pleasant Land
This Green and Pleasant Land
This Green and Pleasant Land
View All Books By Ayisha Malik

Share this book