LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Audiobooks Narrated by Vivienne Acheampong

Browse audiobooks narrated by Vivienne Acheampong, listen to samples and when you're ready head over to Audiobooks.com where you can get 3 FREE audiobooks on us

LoveReading Top 10

  1. Unsettled Ground Audiobook Unsettled Ground
    1
  2. King of Rabbits Audiobook King of Rabbits
    2
  3. Find You First Audiobook Find You First
    3
  4. Just Work: Get it Done, Fast and Fair Audiobook Just Work: Get it Done, Fast and Fair
    4
  5. The World at My Feet Audiobook The World at My Feet
    5
  6. Tap to Tidy: Organising, Crafting & Creating Happiness in a Messy World Audiobook Tap to Tidy: Organising, Crafting & Creating Happiness in a Messy World
    6
  7. Many Different Kinds of Love: A story of life, death and the NHS Audiobook Many Different Kinds of Love: A story of life, death and the NHS
    7
  8. Evolve Your Brain: The Science of Changing Your Mind Audiobook Evolve Your Brain: The Science of Changing Your Mind
    8
  9. A Touch of Ruin Audiobook A Touch of Ruin
    9
  10. A History of What Comes Next: The captivating speculative fiction for fans of The Man in the High Ca Audiobook A History of What Comes Next: The captivating speculative fiction for fans of The Man in the High Ca
    10
Filter
Soul Tourists: From the Booker prize-winning author of Girl, Woman, Other Audiobook

Soul Tourists: From the Booker prize-winning author of Girl, Woman, Other

Author: Bernardine Evaristo Narrator: Bernardine Evaristo, Kayi Ushe, Vivienne Acheampong Release Date: December 2020

Brought to you by Penguin. Stanley Williams, angst-ridden banker and boffin, wonders whether there's more to life than his daily nine-to-five grind. One night he's dragged to a disco at Piccadilly Circus and there he meets Jessie: artiste, motormouth, ducker and diver. She swoops Stanley out of his soulless life and off on a rollercoaster road trip across Europe, bringing him face to face with a host of forgotten luminaries from the rich mix of black European history and literature. © Bernardine Evaristo 2006 (P) Penguin Audio 2020

Show more
500 Words: A collection of short stories that reflect on the Black Lives Matter movement Audiobook

500 Words: A collection of short stories that reflect on the Black Lives Matter movement

Hot on the heels of the 500 Words: Black Lives Matter competition hosted by Virgin Radio in July, this audiobook contains a selection of inspiring, moving and poignant short stories from 500 Words: Black Lives Matter submitted by children from across the country and read by David Tennant, Amanda Abbington, Stephen Graham, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Vivienne Acheampong, Jude Owusu, Angellica Bell, Michael Underwood, Nicole Kidman, Jim Broadbent, Sanjeev Bhaskar, Shobna Gulati, Rebecca Gethings and James Hepher; familiar voices who have kindly donated their time and talent to make this special project possible. Almost 6,000 children, aged between 5-13, submitted stories expressing their personal experiences, tales of empathy, learning and respect, building on the international conversation around Black Lives Matter. Originally devised by Chris Evans, the 500 Words competition has a rich 10-year heritage, giving children of all ethnicities and backgrounds a platform to express their imaginations and creativity through storytelling. Eight finalists and a further 92 stories were selected to be included in this important and timely collection, With writing tips from head judges Malorie Blackman, Frank Cottrell-Boyce, Charlie Higson and Francesca Simon. Profits from the sale of the book are being donated to the children's literacy charity Coram Beanstalk in order to further their mission - building readers for life. 'What follows is an amazing and profound collection of some of our favourites. Be prepared to laugh, sigh and cry.' - Chris Evans 'Being part of 500 Words: Black Lives Matter was incredibly important to allow our younger generation an outlet for them to vocalise their thoughts and stories on this global issue of racism using the power of words.' - Angellica Bell

Show more
The Mermaid of Black Conch Audiobook

The Mermaid of Black Conch

Author: Monique Roffey Narrator: Ben Onwukwe, Vivienne Acheampong Release Date: July 2020

March 1976: St Constance, a tiny Caribbean village on the island of Black Conch, at the start of the rainy season. A fisherman sings to himself in his pirogue, waiting for a catch - but attracts a sea-dweller he doesn't expect. Aycayia, a beautiful young woman cursed by jealous wives to live as a mermaid, has been swimming the Caribbean Sea for centuries. And she is entranced by this man David and his song. But her fascination is her undoing. She hears his boat's engine again and follows it, and finds herself at the mercy of American tourists, landed on the island for the annual fishing competition. After a fearsome battle, she is pulled out of the sea and strung up on the dock as a trophy. It is David who rescues her, and gently wins her trust - as slowly, painfully, she starts to transform into a woman again. But transformations are not always permanent, and jealousy, like love, can have the force of a hurricane, and last much longer The novel's characters are an unlikely mix: a mermaid, a fisherman, a deaf boy, a Caribbean artist and sweetman and a benevolent white landowner. Miss Arcadia Rain's own love story is interwoven with Aycayia and David's and the rivalries and affections in both family and community are brought brilliantly to life. Themes of unconditional love, friendship, family and loss, are examined without sentimentality. Roffey manages to write convincingly about a mermaid, a 'legend drawn from the sea', returned to land, to survive, heal and live again, as a real woman in modern times.

Show more
Supporting Cast Audiobook

Supporting Cast

Brought to you by Penguin. As she walks out of her marriage, a woman remembers the day her husband rescued a boy from drowning. A blind man on his wedding day celebrates the pursuit of love. And a young man leaves prison with only one desire - to see his son again. Kit de Waal's characters light up the page in vivid stories of thwarted desire, love and loss. With power and precision, humanity and insight, Supporting Cast captures the extraordinary moments in our ordinary lives, and the darkness and the joy of the everyday. © Kit de Waal 2020 (P) Penguin Audio 2020

Show more
Crossfire Audiobook

Crossfire

Author: Malorie Blackman Narrator: Josh Dylan, Nathan Stewart-Jarrett, Rebecca Lee, Vivienne Acheampong Release Date: August 2019

Brought to you by Penguin. Crossfire is the long-awaited new novel in legendary author Malorie Blackman's ground-breaking Noughts & Crosses series - perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Power. Thirty-four years have passed since Sephy Hadley - a Cross - first met Callum McGregor - a nought. Their love was forbidden, powerful - and deadly. Life is seemingly very different now for noughts and Crosses - including for Sephy and Callum's families. But old wounds from the past are hard to heal, and when you're playing a game as dangerous as they are, it won't be long before someone gets caught in the crossfire. Praise for Noughts & Crosses: 'The Noughts & Crosses series are still my favourite books of all time and showed me just how amazing story-telling could be' - Stormzy 'The most original book I've ever read' Benjamin Zephaniah 'Blackman 'gets' people . . . she 'gets' humanity as a whole, too' Guardian 'Powerful' Sunday Times Crossfire is the long-awaited new novel in legendary author Malorie Blackman's ground-breaking Noughts & Crosses series - perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Power. Thirty-four years have passed since Sephy Hadley - a Cross - first met Callum McGregor - a nought. Their love was forbidden, powerful - and deadly. Life is seemingly very different now for noughts and Crosses - including for Sephy and Callum's families. But old wounds from the past are hard to heal, and when you're playing a game as dangerous as they are, it won't be long before someone gets caught in the crossfire. Praise for Noughts & Crosses: 'The Noughts & Crosses series are still my favourite books of all time and showed me just how amazing story-telling could be' - Stormzy 'The most original book I've ever read' Benjamin Zephaniah 'Blackman 'gets' people . . . she 'gets' humanity as a whole, too' Guardian 'Powerful' Sunday Times

Show more
The Brighton Mermaid Audiobook

The Brighton Mermaid

Author: Dorothy Koomson Narrator: Pippa Bennett-Warner, Vivienne Acheampong Release Date: May 2018

Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Brighton Mermaid by Dorothy Koomson, read by Pippa Bennett-Warner and Vivienne Acheampong. Brighton Beach, 1993 Teenagers Nell and Jude find the body of a young woman and when no one comes to claim her, she becomes known as the Brighton Mermaid. Nell is still struggling to move on when, three weeks later, Jude disappears. Twenty-five years on, Nell is forced to quit her job to find out who the Brighton Mermaid really was - and what happened to her best friend that summer. But as Nell edges closer to the truth, dangerous things start to happen. Someone seems to be watching her every move, and soon she starts to wonder who in her life she can actually trust... Fast-paced and thrilling, The Brighton Mermaid explores the deadly secrets of those closest to you.

Show more