LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Audiobooks by Jane Thynne

Browse audiobooks by Jane Thynne, listen to samples and when you're ready head over to Audiobooks.com where you can get 3 FREE audiobooks on us

LoveReading Top 10

  1. The Therapist Audiobook The Therapist
    1
  2. The Dream Weavers Audiobook The Dream Weavers
    2
  3. Working Hard, Hardly Working: How to achieve more, stress less and feel fulfilled Audiobook Working Hard, Hardly Working: How to achieve more, stress less and feel fulfilled
    3
  4. The Summer Job: The most feel-good romcom of 2021 soon to be a TV series Audiobook The Summer Job: The most feel-good romcom of 2021 soon to be a TV series
    4
  5. Dreamland Audiobook Dreamland
    5
  6. The Wolf Den Audiobook The Wolf Den
    6
  7. Transcendent Kingdom Audiobook Transcendent Kingdom
    7
  8. The Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse Audiobook The Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse
    8
  9. One Two Three Four: The Beatles in Time Audiobook One Two Three Four: The Beatles in Time
    9
  10. Outlander 'International Edition' Audiobook Outlander 'International Edition'
    10
Filter
The Words I Never Wrote Audiobook

The Words I Never Wrote

Author: Jane Thynne Narrator: Nathalie Buscombe, Tara Ward Release Date: February 2020

A chance discovery inside a vintage typewriter case reveals the gripping story of two sisters on opposite sides of World War II in this captivating novel for readers of Lilac Girls and The Women in the Castle. New York, present day: On a whim, Juno Lambert buys a 1931 Underwood typewriter that once belonged to celebrated journalist Cordelia Capel. Within its case she discovers an unfinished novel, igniting a transatlantic journey to fill the gaps in the story of Cordelia and her sister and the secret that lies between them. Europe, 1936: Cordelia's socialite sister Irene marries a German industrialist who whisks her away to Berlin. Cordelia, feistier and more intellectual than Irene, gets a job at a newspaper in Paris, pursuing the journalism career she cherishes. As politics begin to boil in Europe, the sisters exchange letters and Cordelia discovers that Irene's husband is a Nazi sympathizer. With increasing desperation, Cordelia writes to her beloved sister, but as life in Nazi Germany darkens, Irene no longer dares admit what her existence is truly like. Knowing that their letters cannot tell the whole story, Cordelia decides to fill in the blanks by sitting down with her Underwood and writing the truth. When Juno reads the unfinished novel, she resolves to uncover the secret that continued to divide the sisters amid the turmoil of love, espionage, and war. In this vivid portrait of Nazi Berlin, from its high society to its devastating fall, Jane Thynne examines the truths we sometimes dare not tell ourselves.

Show more
Solitaire Audiobook

Solitaire

Author: Jane Thynne Narrator: Julie Teal Release Date: June 2017

June 1940: Berlin is being bombed. Clara Vine is an Anglo-German woman in a country that hates England. The Propaganda minister, Joseph Goebbels, decides that Clara should adopt a new role as his spy, and so Clara must go to Paris. Clara realises this might be the chance to escape to England. But Goebbels has other ideas and soon Clara is drawn into a web that threatens to destroy her.

Show more
Black Roses Audiobook

Black Roses

Author: Jane Thynne Narrator: Julie Teal Release Date: September 2016

Berlin, 1933. Warning bells ring across Europe as Hitler comes to power. Clara Vine, an attractive young Anglo-German actress, arrives in Berlin to find work at the famous Ufa studios. Through a chance meeting, she is unwillingly drawn into a circle of Nazi wives, among them Magda Goebbels, Anneliese von Ribbentrop and Goering's girlfriend Emmy Sonnemann. As part of his plan to create a new pure German race, Hitler wants to make sweeping changes to the lives of women, starting with the formation of a Reich Fashion Bureau, instructing women on what to wear and how to behave. Clara is invited to model the dowdy, unflattering clothes. Then she meets Leo Quinn who is working for British intelligence and who sees in Clara the perfect recruit to spy on her new elite friends, using her acting skills to win their confidence. But when Magda Goebbels reveals to Clara a dramatic secret and entrusts her with an extraordinary mission, Clara feels threatened, compromised, desperately caught between her duty towards - and growing affection for - Leo, and the impossibly dangerous task Magda has forced upon her.

Show more
Woman in the Shadows Audiobook

Woman in the Shadows

Author: Jane Thynne Narrator: Julie Teal Release Date: September 2016

Berlin, 1937. The city radiates glamour and ambition. But danger lurks in every shadow. Anna Hansen, a bride-to-be, is a pupil at one of Hitler's notorious Nazi Bride Schools, where young women are schooled on the art of being an SS officer's wife. Then, one night, she is brutally murdered and left in the gardens of the school. Her death will be hushed up and her life forgotten. Clara Vine is an actress at Berlin's famous Ufa studios by day and an undercover British Intelligence agent by night. She knew Anna and is disturbed by news of her death. She cannot understand why someone would want to cover it up, but she soon discovers that Anna's murder is linked to a far more ominous secret. With the newly abdicated Edward VIII and his wife Wallis set to arrive in Berlin, and the Mitford sisters dazzling on the social scene, Clara must work in the darkness to find the truth and send it back to London. It is a dangerous path she treads, and it will take everything she has to survive.

Show more
The Pursuit of Pearls Audiobook

The Pursuit of Pearls

Author: Jane Thynne Narrator: Julie Teal Release Date: May 2016

In the enthralling sequel to The Scent of Secrets, British actress/spy Clara Vine returns, moving gracefully through the treacherous upper echelons of Nazi high society. Rife with political intrigue and authentic period details, this novel is perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Eva Stachniak. Clara Vine, a half-Jewish Anglo-German, uses her unique access to the wealthy elite of pre-war Nazi society to spy for her native Britain. In this second installment of her story, Clara, an ambitious young actress, insinuates herself into the lives of the Nazi wives through her association with the famous Ufa Studios. Her close friendship with Magda Goebbels makes her an attractive asset to the British intelligence service. Richly weaving the historical record with lush fictional details and a tantalizing love story, a cast of real Nazis and their British admirers--such as the Mitford sisters and the Duke and Duchess of Windsor--comes to life in this series.

Show more
Faith and Beauty Audiobook

Faith and Beauty

Author: Jane Thynne Narrator: Julie Teal Release Date: November 2015

Berlin, on the eve of war. Clara Vine, Anglo-German actress and spy, has been recalled to London by British Intelligence to probe reports that the Nazis and the Soviet Union are planning to make a pact. When Clara investigates the death of a young woman from the 'Faith and Beauty Society' - the elite finishing school for Nazi girls, what she uncovers is something of infinite value to the Nazi regime - and now she herself is in danger.

Show more
The Scent of Secrets Audiobook

The Scent of Secrets

Author: Jane Thynne Narrator: Julie Teal Release Date: September 2015

Set in Europe, in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge. The colorful, lively streets of Paris come as a welcome relief to Clara Vine after the dour countenance of Berlin, where bunkers and bomb shelters are being dug, soldiers march the streets in their high boots, and Jewish residents rush to make it home before curfew. Though Clara is in Paris to make a film, her true work is never far from her mind. Approached by a British intelligence officer, Clara is initially confounded by his request: Get close to Eva Braun and glean as much as she can about the FUhrer's plans and intentions. Clara has already established friendships with several high-ranking Nazi wives, but Eva Braun is another matter altogether. Hitler keeps his "secret" girlfriend obsessively hidden, fiercely guarding their relationship as well as Eva's delicate psychological state. From the gilded halls of the decadent City of Light to the cobbled, quaint streets of Munich, and even to the chilling, rarefied air of the Berghof, Hitler's private mountaintop retreat, Clara flirts with discovery at every turn-and a dangerous, devious plot unfolds.

Show more
A War of Flowers Audiobook

A War of Flowers

Author: Jane Thynne Narrator: Julie Teal Release Date: January 2015

August, 1938. British actress, Clara Vine, is in Paris to film her latest movie, mingling with society and passing snippets of information to her contacts in the British embassy. When Clara is approached by an undercover British operative who asks her to befriend Eva Braun, Hitler's girlfriend, she knows that she is putting herself in danger. But Clara will do everything in her power to protect her country.

Show more
The Winter Garden Audiobook

The Winter Garden

Author: Jane Thynne Narrator: Julie Teal Release Date: May 2014

Berlin in 1937 radiates glamour and ambition. Anna Hansen, a bride-to-be, is at one of Hitler's notorious Nazi Bride Schools. When she is brutally murdered Clara Vine, an undercover British Intelligence agent and Anna's friend, is disturbed by news of her death. Clara must work to find the truth and send it back to London. It is a dangerous path she treads, and it will take everything she has to survive...

Show more
Black Roses Audiobook

Black Roses

Author: Jane Thynne Narrator: Julie Teal Release Date: October 2013

Berlin, 1933. Aspiring actress Clara Vine arrives in Berlin to find work at the famous Ufa studios. Through a chance meeting, she is unwillingly drawn into a circle of Nazi wives, led by Magda Goebbels. British Intelligence officer Leo Quinn sees Clara as the perfect recruit to spy on her new elite friends. But then Magda reveals to Clara a dramatic secret and entrusts her with an extraordinary mission.

Show more