LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Audiobooks by Anthony Pagden

Browse audiobooks by Anthony Pagden, listen to samples and when you're ready head over to Audiobooks.com where you can get 3 FREE audiobooks on us

LoveReading Top 10

  1. Too Much and Never Enough: How My Family Created the World's Most Dangerous Man Audiobook Too Much and Never Enough: How My Family Created the World's Most Dangerous Man
    1
  2. The Sin Eater Audiobook The Sin Eater
    2
  3. Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You: A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped from the Be Audiobook Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You: A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped from the Be
    3
  4. Near Dark: A Thriller Audiobook Near Dark: A Thriller
    4
  5. Coming Home to Island House Audiobook Coming Home to Island House
    5
  6. Outsider: A Novel of Suspense Audiobook Outsider: A Novel of Suspense
    6
  7. What You Wish For: A Novel Audiobook What You Wish For: A Novel
    7
  8. The Alchemist Audiobook The Alchemist
    8
  9. Relationship Goals: How to Win at Dating, Marriage, and Sex Audiobook Relationship Goals: How to Win at Dating, Marriage, and Sex
    9
  10. Tempt Me Audiobook Tempt Me
    10
Filter
Worlds at War: The 2,500-Year Struggle Between East and West Audiobook

Worlds at War: The 2,500-Year Struggle Between East and West

Author: Anthony Pagden Narrator: John Lee Release Date: March 2008

In the tradition of Jared Diamond and Jacques Barzun, prize-winning historian Anthony Pagden presents a sweeping history of the long struggle between East and West, from the Greeks to the present day. The relationship between East and West has always been one of turmoil. In this historical tour de force, a renowned historian leads us from the world of classical antiquity, through the Dark Ages, to the Crusades, Europe's resurgence, and the dominance of the Ottoman Empire, which almost shattered Europe entirely. Pagden travels from Napoleon in Egypt to Europe's carving up of the finally moribund Ottomans—creating the modern Middle East along the way—and on to the present struggles in Iraq. Throughout we learn a tremendous amount about what "East" and "West" were and are, and how it has always been competing worldviews and psychologies, more than religion or power grabs, that have fed the mistrust and violence between East and West. In Pagden's dark but provocative view, this struggle cannot help but go on.

Show more
Peoples and Empires: A Short History of European Migration, Exploration, and Conquest, from Greece t Audiobook

Peoples and Empires: A Short History of European Migration, Exploration, and Conquest, from Greece t

Author: Anthony Pagden Narrator: Robert O'keefe Release Date: March 2008

Cambridge professor and renowned historian Anthony Pagden covers a vast subject in a compact package with Peoples and Empires. This wide-ranging and intellectually stimulating work examines the origins and history of the West with terse, efficient prose. With a captivating narration by Robert O'Keefe, listeners will find this work enjoyable and utterly absorbing.

Show more