LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Audiobooks by Andrew Maraniss

Browse audiobooks by Andrew Maraniss, listen to samples and when you're ready head over to Audiobooks.com where you can get 3 FREE audiobooks on us

LoveReading Top 10

  1. Everything You Really Need to Know About Politics: My Life as an MP Audiobook Everything You Really Need to Know About Politics: My Life as an MP
    1
  2. The Night She Disappeared Audiobook The Night She Disappeared
    2
  3. A Different Kind of Happy: The powerful fiction debut from the Sunday Times bestselling author Audiobook A Different Kind of Happy: The powerful fiction debut from the Sunday Times bestselling author
    3
  4. Relentless: Secrets of the Sporting Elite Audiobook Relentless: Secrets of the Sporting Elite
    4
  5. The White Ship: Conquest, Anarchy and the Wrecking of Henry I’s Dream Audiobook The White Ship: Conquest, Anarchy and the Wrecking of Henry I’s Dream
    5
  6. Healing Is the New High: A Guide to Overcoming Emotional Turmoil and Finding Freedom Audiobook Healing Is the New High: A Guide to Overcoming Emotional Turmoil and Finding Freedom
    6
  7. Yours Cheerfully Audiobook Yours Cheerfully
    7
  8. She Who Became the Sun Audiobook She Who Became the Sun
    8
  9. Nine Lives Audiobook Nine Lives
    9
  10. Erotica For Women: Exciting Erotic Sexy Stories of Pure pleasure, forbidden lust, Dirty Talk and Muc Audiobook Erotica For Women: Exciting Erotic Sexy Stories of Pure pleasure, forbidden lust, Dirty Talk and Muc
    10
Filter
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke Audiobook

Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke

Author: Andrew Maraniss Narrator: Kevin R. Free Release Date: March 2021

*'[An] excellent exercise in narrative nonfiction.' --Booklist (starred review) From New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss comes the remarkable true story of Glenn Burke, a 'hidden figure' in the history of sports: the inventor of the high five and the first openly gay MLB player. Perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown. On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los Angeles Dodgers, made history without even swinging a bat. When his teammate Dusty Baker hit a historic home run, Glenn enthusiastically congratulated him with the first ever high five. But Glenn also made history in another way--he was the first openly gay MLB player. While he did not come out publicly until after his playing days were over, Glenn's sexuality was known to his teammates, family, and friends. His MLB career would be cut short after only three years, but his legacy and impact on the athletic and LGBTQIA+ community would resonate for years to come. New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss tells the story of Glenn Burke: from his childhood growing up in Oakland, his journey to the MLB and the World Series, the joy in discovering who he really was, to more difficult times: facing injury, addiction, and the AIDS epidemic. Thoroughly researched and packed with never-before-seen details about Glenn's life, Singled Out is the fascinating story of a trailblazer in sports--and the history and culture that shaped the world around him.

Show more
Games of Deception: The True Story of the First U.S. Olympic Basketball Team at the 1936 Olympics in Audiobook

Games of Deception: The True Story of the First U.S. Olympic Basketball Team at the 1936 Olympics in

Author: Andrew Maraniss Narrator: Angelo Di Loreto Release Date: November 2019

*'Rivaling the nonfiction works of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown's The Boys in the Boat....Even readers who don't appreciate sports will find this story a page-turner.' --School Library Connection (starred review) 'An insightful, gripping account of basketball and bias.' --Kirkus Reviews From the New York Times bestselling author of Strong Inside comes the remarkable true story of the birth of Olympic basketball at the 1936 Summer Games in Hitler's Germany. Perfect for fans of The Boys in the Boat and Unbroken. On a scorching hot day in July 1936, thousands of people cheered as the U.S. Olympic teams boarded the S.S. Manhattan, bound for Berlin. Among the athletes were the 14 players representing the first-ever U.S. Olympic basketball team. As thousands of supporters waved American flags on the docks, it was easy to miss the one courageous man holding a BOYCOTT NAZI GERMANY sign. But it was too late for a boycott now; the ship had already left the harbor. 1936 was a turbulent time in world history. Adolf Hitler had gained power in Germany three years earlier. Jewish people and political opponents of the Nazis were the targets of vicious mistreatment, yet were unaware of the horrors that awaited them in the coming years. But the Olympians on board the S.S. Manhattan and other international visitors wouldn't see any signs of trouble in Berlin. Streets were swept, storefronts were painted, and every German citizen greeted them with a smile. Like a movie set, it was all just a facade, meant to distract from the terrible things happening behind the scenes. This is the incredible true story of basketball, from its invention by James Naismith in Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1891, to the sport's Olympic debut in Berlin and the eclectic mix of people, events and propaganda on both sides of the Atlantic that made it all possible. Praise for Games of Deception: 'Maraniss does a great job of blending basketball action with the horror of Hitler's Berlin to bring this fascinating, frightening, you-can't-make-this-stuff-up moment in history to life.' -Steve Sheinkin, New York Times bestselling author of Bomb and Undefeated 'I was blown away by Games of Deception....It's a fascinating, fast-paced, well-reasoned, and well-written account of the hidden-in-plain-sight horrors and atrocities that underpinned sports, politics, and propaganda in the United States and Germany. This is an important read.' -Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Newbery Honor winning author of Hitler Youth 'A richly reported and stylishly told reminder how, when you scratch at a sports story, the real world often lurks just beneath.' --Alexander Wolff, New York Times bestselling author of The Audacity of Hoop: Basketball and the Age of Obama

Show more