Lovereading.co.uk

Search
  • Follow us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
Register


Vouchers


Search our site
Read the opening extract of the brand new Susan Lanigan book before its publication on 01/09/2014











     
The Poacher's Son by Paul Doiron


The Poacher's Son

Paul Doiron


Crime / Mystery   Debuts of the Month   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   
This title is in stock
Price £14.24
RRP: £18.99
Saving £4.75 (25%)
Download an extract and try before you buy Add this book to your wishlist Share this book page Compare Book Price at Amazon and many other online stores Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group

---------------------------------------------------------------

Lovereading view...

January 2013 Debut of the Month.

Set in the wilds of Maine this is a cleverly written, action-packed debut. A cop is killed and game warden Mike Bowditch must track down his abusive, hard-drinking father, the prime suspect, to prove his innocence. Brilliant characterisation teamed with stunning descriptions of the area and a plot as winding and convoluted as an old forest trail make for a very satisfying read.



Synopsis

The Poacher's Son by Paul Doiron

Game warden Mike Bowditch returns home one evening to find an alarming voice from the past on his answering machine: his father Jack, a hard-drinking womanizer who makes his living from poaching illegal game. An even more frightening call comes the next morning from the police: they are searching for a cop-killer - and Mike's father is their prime suspect. Now, alienated from the woman he loves and shunned by colleagues who have no sympathy for the suspected cop killer, Mike must come to terms with his haunted past. He knows firsthand of his father's brutality, but is he capable of murder? Desperate and alone, the only way for Mike to save his father is to find the real killer - which could mean putting everyone he loves into the line of fire...


Reviews

An excellent debut - filled with murder, betrayal and a terrific sense of place C J Box A stunning debut...At its heart this is a tale of bitter betrayal, lost hopes and broken dreams. The book has a tautness that is impossible to forget and which left me close to tears. It is also the first in a series. Its successor, Trespasser, also featuring Bowditch, is on the way. Grab him now. Daily Mail Stunning vistas...eye popping scenes The New York Times Book Review This is a compelling, moving and utterly impressive debut Andre Dubus III, author of House of Sand and Fog The Poacher's Son is a haunting tale, and Paul Doiron is a powerful and evocative writer. -- Tess Gerritsen Doiron takes a provocative look at the ties between fathers and sons, unconditional love, and Maine's changing landscape in his outstanding debut... Fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr will appreciate the vivid wilderness scenes. Publishers Weekly (starred review) One of the best-written debut novels I've read in years. This story has it all-a great plot, a wonderful Maine woods setting, and a truly remarkable and believable cast of characters. -- Nelson Demille this is a cleverly written, action-packed debut... Brilliant characterization teamed with stunning descriptions of the area and a plot as winding and convoluted as an old forest trail make for a very satisfying read. lovereading.com



About the Author

Paul Doiron

A native of Maine, Paul Doiron is a registered Maine Guide and lives by a trout stream with his wife, Kristen Lindquist.


More books by this author

Author 'Like for Like' recommendation

Book info
Loading other formats...
Format
Hardback
336 pages

Author
Paul Doiron

More books by Paul Doiron


Author's Website
www.pauldoiron.com/

Author's Facebook Latest
Loading facebook updates...

TwitterAuthor's Tweets

Publisher
Robinson Publishing an imprint of Constable and Robinson

Publication date
17th January 2013

Categories
Crime / Mystery
Debuts of the Month
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites


ISBN
9781780338156
 


loading...

















Share or bookmark this book

Share this book on Facebook and Twitter.


Tell a friend about this book on Lovereading.co.uk.

We respect your privacy. The names and e-mail addresses you enter are used only for sending this message. Please read our Privacy Policy.
Your Friend's Name
Your Friend's Email
Your Name
Your E-mail
Your Message
(max. 1024 characters)
 

Notify me when an extract becomes available

Notify me by email when an extract from this book becomes available for download.


Your Name
Your Email
 

We respect your privacy. E-mail addresses you enter here are used only for sending extract availability notifications only. Please read our Privacy Policy.


 
LovereadingLovereading4kids - Love Reading for KidsLIST ALL FEATURED AUTHORS