Eagles of Rome Ben Kane off the page Dear Amy paypal flawed cecelia ahern
Vouchers


The Poacher's Son by Paul Doiron
  

The Poacher's Son

Paul Doiron

Crime / Mystery   Debuts of the Month   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   

Price £15.19

RRP £18.99 saving £3.80 (20%)

Currently not available. See 'Other Formats' for alternatives including eBooks or click 'Compare Book Price' to see if it is stocked by another bookshop.
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

January 2013 Debut of the Month.

Set in the wilds of Maine this is a cleverly written, action-packed debut. A cop is killed and game warden Mike Bowditch must track down his abusive, hard-drinking father, the prime suspect, to prove his innocence. Brilliant characterisation teamed with stunning descriptions of the area and a plot as winding and convoluted as an old forest trail make for a very satisfying read.

Win an exclusive Lovereading Canvas bag worth £9.99

This month we have 3 of our sturdy, exclusive and simply gorgeous Lovereading Canvas book bags. To have a chance of winning this wonderful prize, click the button below.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Draw closes on 31 May 2016. The winner will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 14 June 2016.

lovereading canvas bags

Our canvas bags are also available for sale with an RRP of £9.99. However, if you spend more than £25.00 on books, through Lovereading, you can claim one totally FREE OF CHARGE! Or spend over £15.00 on books, through Lovereading, and you can buy one for the special price of just £4.99. Click here to find out more.

Here's what one of our members thinks of her bag
A big thank you for the two Lovereading bags I ordered, which have arrived safely. I love mine and will use it with pride. The bags are lovely quality, sturdy and support a good cause in the Rewrap initiative; I think they make the perfect accessory for any book lover. The second bag was a gift for my sister and she says she will take it to her next book group meeting to help spread the Lovereading word. Once again, many thanks. Emily Wright

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/05/2016

Synopsis

The Poacher's Son by Paul Doiron

Game warden Mike Bowditch returns home one evening to find an alarming voice from the past on his answering machine: his father Jack, a hard-drinking womanizer who makes his living from poaching illegal game. An even more frightening call comes the next morning from the police: they are searching for a cop-killer - and Mike's father is their prime suspect. Now, alienated from the woman he loves and shunned by colleagues who have no sympathy for the suspected cop killer, Mike must come to terms with his haunted past. He knows firsthand of his father's brutality, but is he capable of murder? Desperate and alone, the only way for Mike to save his father is to find the real killer - which could mean putting everyone he loves into the line of fire...

Reviews

An excellent debut - filled with murder, betrayal and a terrific sense of place C J Box A stunning debut...At its heart this is a tale of bitter betrayal, lost hopes and broken dreams. The book has a tautness that is impossible to forget and which left me close to tears. It is also the first in a series. Its successor, Trespasser, also featuring Bowditch, is on the way. Grab him now. Daily Mail Stunning vistas...eye popping scenes The New York Times Book Review This is a compelling, moving and utterly impressive debut Andre Dubus III, author of House of Sand and Fog The Poacher's Son is a haunting tale, and Paul Doiron is a powerful and evocative writer. -- Tess Gerritsen Doiron takes a provocative look at the ties between fathers and sons, unconditional love, and Maine's changing landscape in his outstanding debut... Fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr will appreciate the vivid wilderness scenes. Publishers Weekly (starred review) One of the best-written debut novels I've read in years. This story has it all-a great plot, a wonderful Maine woods setting, and a truly remarkable and believable cast of characters. -- Nelson Demille this is a cleverly written, action-packed debut... Brilliant characterization teamed with stunning descriptions of the area and a plot as winding and convoluted as an old forest trail make for a very satisfying read. lovereading.com


About the Author

Paul Doiron

A native of Maine, Paul Doiron is a registered Maine Guide and lives by a trout stream with his wife, Kristen Lindquist.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

17th January 2013

Author

Paul Doiron

More books by Paul Doiron
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.pauldoiron.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Robinson Publishing an imprint of Constable and Robinson

Format

Hardback
336 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Debuts of the Month
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781780338156

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools